Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

6 shoreline clean-up activities near Montreal

OrganisationBleue_parc-de-Dieppe_jour-de-la-Terre

If there is one simple and concrete action to take in favor of waterways in spring, it is cleaning the banks. And yes: melting ice often leaves waste appearing, a real visual pollution, as much as for bodies of water! 

Although everyone has the opportunity to carry out cleaning chores independently, several organizations and citizen groups organize them in order to capitalize on the strength of numbers. Here are six clean-up activities near Montreal to participate in this spring, in a park near you. 

May 14: Cleaning of the banks in Tétreaultville 

The City of Montreal assured the population that swimming would be possible from the summer of 2022 at the Promenade-Bellerive park. Credit: Olivier Jean/La Presse

The non-profit organization Sea Shepherd, whose mission is to protect marine ecosystems, is organizing a series of shoreline cleaning activities this spring across the four corners of Quebec. Sea Shepherd will hold its next waste collection activity in the Montreal area on the morning of Saturday, May 14 at Promenade-Bellerive Park, in Tétreauville. The ideal is to arrive equipped, otherwise bags, gloves, some pliers and boilers will be available on site. No registration required.

Read more

May 21: Cleaning of the banks in Pointe-aux-Trembles

Bout-de-d’Île Park in Pointe-aux-Trembles. Credit: Denis Tremblay

Join theBlue Organization, L'Idyll Performing arts and the Pointe-aux-Trembles House of Culture Saturday, May 21, from 11 a.m. This spring cleaning chore takes place in the East of Montreal, on the banks of Parc du Bout-de-l'Île overlooking the Rivière des Prairies. Equipment is provided, but be sure to register!

Read more

May 21: Cleaning at the bottom of the river in Verdun

Credit: Nathalie Lasselin

Notice to divers: it's time to take out your diving equipment to respond to the invitation launched by the explorer and filmmaker Nathalie Lasselin from Urban Water Odyssey! Meet at the Verdun marina on the morning of Saturday, May 21 to clean the bottom of the St. Lawrence River. You must have a Quebec scuba diving accreditation card, a rope if possible, neoprene gloves and a mesh bag to collect waste!

Read more

May 28: Cleaning of the banks in Longueuil

Marie-Victorin Park in Longueuil. Credit: Wikipedia/Jean Gagnon

People of the South Shore, here's something to occupy your morning on Saturday, May 28: join Sea Shepherd to clean up the banks of Marie-Victorin Park, in Longueuil. Once again the organization will distribute materials to collect waste, but it is recommended to bring your own. No need to register in advance, be spontaneous! 

Read more

June 11: Cleaning of the Saint-Jacques River in Brossard

Credit: Nathalie Lasselin/La Vigile Verte

Here is another cleaning activity organized by Nathalie Lasselin, and in collaboration with The Green Vigil. On the one hand, divers are invited to do an aquatic cleanup in the Saint-Jacques River. On the other hand, it is possible to explore it in a canoe, kayak or paddle board (SUP), available for rental at Radisson Park and Bassin-de-La Prairie Park. You are also invited to participate in the classic cleaning of the banks along the river. Bring your gear!

Read more

June 18: Cleaning the banks at Parc de Dieppe, near Habitat 67

Dieppe Park in Montreal. Credit: Laurent Bélanger/Wikipedia

Take part in a riverbank cleaning activity in the heart of Montreal, near the iconic Habitat 67 building. On Saturday morning of June 18, join your efforts with those of Sea Shepherd at Parc de Dieppe to give a boost to the Saint River -Laurent. The organization recommends bringing your own waste collection equipment, otherwise it will be loaned. Registrations are not required. Keep your eyes peeled for the river surfers riding the eternal wave nearby!  

Read more

Do you know of other shoreline cleaning initiatives near Montreal that will take place this spring? Contact us!

Cover photo: A bank cleaning was organized at Dieppe Park by the Blue Organization as part of Earth Day. Credit: Blue Organization

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

6 activités de nettoyage des berges près de Montréal

OrganisationBleue_parc-de-Dieppe_jour-de-la-Terre

S’il y a bien une action simple et concrète à poser en faveur des cours d’eau au printemps, c’est bien un nettoyage des berges. Et oui : la fonte des glaces laisse souvent apparaître des déchets, véritable pollution visuelle, autant que pour les plans d’eau! 

Bien que chacun et chacune ait la possibilité de procéder à des corvées de nettoyage de façon autonome, plusieurs organisations et groupes citoyens en organisent afin de miser sur la force du nombre. Voici six activités de nettoyage près de Montréal auxquelles participer ce printemps, dans un parc près de chez vous. 

14 mai : Nettoyage des berges à Tétreaultville 

La Ville de Montréal a assuré à la population que la baignade serait possible dès l’été 2022 au parc de la Promenade-Bellerive. Crédit : Olivier Jean/La Presse

L’organisme à but non lucratif Sea Shepherd, dont la mission consiste à protéger les écosystèmes marins, organise une série d’activités de nettoyage de berges ce printemps aux quatre coins du Québec. Sea Shepherd tiendra sa prochaine activité de collecte de déchets dans les environs de Montréal le matin du samedi 14 mai au parc de la Promenade-Bellerive, à Tétreauville. L’idéal est d’arriver équipés, sans quoi sacs, gants, quelques pinces et chaudières seront disponibles sur place. Aucune inscription requise.

En savoir plus

21 mai : Nettoyage des berges à Pointe-aux-Trembles

Parc du Bout-de-d’Île à Pointe-aux-Trembles. Crédit : Denis Tremblay

Joignez-vous à l’Organisation Bleue, l’Idylle Arts vivants et la Maison de la culture de Pointe-aux-Trembles le samedi 21 mai, dès 11 h. Cette corvée de nettoyage du printemps se déroule dans l’Est de Montréal, sur les berges du Parc du Bout-de-l’Île donnant sur la Rivière des Prairies. L’équipement est fourni, mais assurez-vous de vous inscrire!

En savoir plus

21 mai : Nettoyage au fond du fleuve à Verdun

Crédit : Nathalie Lasselin

Avis aux plongeuses et plongeurs : c’est le temps de sortir votre équipement de plongée pour répondre à l’invitation lancée par l’exploratrice  et cinéaste Nathalie Lasselin de Urban Water Odyssey! Rendez-vous à la marina de Verdun le matin du samedi 21 mai pour faire un nettoyage du fond du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Il faut avoir en sa possession une carte d’accréditation de plongée sous-marine du Québec, une corde si possible, des gants en néoprène et un sac filet pour ramasser les déchets!

En savoir plus

28 mai : Nettoyage des berges à Longueuil

Parc Marie-Victorin à Longueuil. Crédit : Wikipedia/Jean Gagnon

Gens de la Rive-Sud, voici de quoi occuper votre matinée du samedi 28 mai : joignez-vous à Sea Shepherd pour procéder à un nettoyage des berges du parc Marie-Victorin, à Longueuil. Une fois de plus, l’organisation distribuera du matériel pour collecter les déchets, mais il est recommandé d’apporter le vôtre. Nul besoin de s’inscrire à l’avance, soyez spontané.e.s! 

En savoir plus

11 juin : Nettoyage de la rivière Saint-Jacques à Brossard

Crédit : Nathalie Lasselin/La Vigile Verte

Voilà une autre activité de nettoyage organisée par Nathalie Lasselin, et en collaboration avec La Vigile Verte. D’une part, les plongeurs et plongeuses sont invités à faire un nettoyage aquatique dans la rivière Saint-Jacques. D’autre part, il est possible de la sillonner en canot, kayak ou en planche à pagaie (SUP), disponibles en location au parc de Radisson et au parc du bassin-de-La Prairie. Vous êtes également invité.e.s à participer au nettoyage classique des berges le long de la rivière. Apportez votre équipement!

En savoir plus

18 juin : Nettoyage des berges au Parc de Dieppe, près d’Habitat 67

Parc de Dieppe à Montréal. Crédit : Laurent Bélanger/Wikipedia

Participez à une activité de nettoyage des berges au cœur de Montréal, près de l’immeuble iconique Habitat 67. Le samedi matin du 18 juin, joignez vos efforts à ceux de Sea Shepherd au Parc de Dieppe pour donner un coup de pouce au fleuve Saint-Laurent. L’organisation recommande d’apporter votre propre matériel de collecte de déchets, sans quoi elle en prêtera. Les inscriptions ne sont pas requises. Ouvrez l’œil pour ne pas rater les surfeurs et surfeuses de rivière, qui chevauchent la vague éternelle à proximité!  

En savoir plus

Vous connaissez d’autres initiatives de nettoyage des berges à proximité de Montréal qui prendront place ce printemps? Contactez-nous!

Photo couverture : Un nettoyage des berges a été organisé au Parc de Dieppe par l’Organisation bleue dans le cadre du Jour de la Terre. Crédit : Organisation bleue