La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Protected wetlands: the CMM, an example to follow for Saint-Donat

Lac Archambault - Milieux humides

The Metropolitan Community of Montreal (CMM) adopted on April 28, 2022 a regulation aimed at protecting several natural environments on its territory, including wetlands. A stone's throw from the CMM territory, the municipality of Saint-Donat shines with its inconsistency in authorizing the real estate development project Black Mountain Domain, damaging fragile natural environments.

Warning: An update exists here

Domaine de la Montagne Noire in Saint-Donat: a cross on naturalness

North of the CMM, the town of Saint-Donat prides itself on being an “inhabited natural park”. “Natural” took a hit when the municipal council gave its approval to the Domaine de la Montagne Noire resort project, despite the strong opposition of citizens and the petition having collected more than 5,000 signatures. Alerted by theAssociation for the Protection of the Environment of Lake Archambault (APELA), we sent a letter to the municipal council on April 11, in which we also raised our concerns about the impacts of the project on the integrity of the lake's wetlands and water environments.

Credit: Domaine de la Montagne Noire

Erosion, eutrophication and habitat destruction

According to information provided to us by citizens of Saint-Donat, development work on the Domaine de la Montagne Noire has already led to the erosion of fine sediments in the wetlands at the head of Lake Archambault. These sediments will most likely end up in the lake. 

It is also recognized that real estate development near lakes increases the concentration of nutrients contained in sediments and, in general, accelerates theeutrophication, that is to say the accelerated aging of these bodies of water. Based on available information, there is also a marked risk to the health of the lake by continuing construction and development in this sensitive environment. What's more, the Domaine de la Montagne Noire project risks leading to the destruction of a bank swallow nesting site, a protected species.

Legal, but legitimate?

If this type of situation (still) occurs legally, is it legitimate? The MRC of Matawinie, which includes Saint-Donat, has established conservation priorities* projected in terms of wetlands. The municipality has authorized backfilling work to Gestion Zalehan, whose owner is the same as Domaine de la Montagne Noire, on a lot identified as a projected first priority zone.

The MRC thus recognizes the ecological value of the sector concerned, but not the municipality, which instead decides to stick to current regulations. If the future is about preserving wetlands, why is it that Saint-Donat is not keeping pace?

Destruction of wetlands: a bill to bear

As a reminder, wetlands have many benefits. While we compare trees to the lungs of the planet, we could say that wetlands are comparable to kidneys: it is thanks to these filters that lakes and rivers are “purified” of their unwanted nutrients. They also act like sponges and therefore help control runoff flows, recharge watercourses and groundwater, as well as reduce erosion and sedimentation thanks to their vegetation which stabilizes the soil. ground. 

The municipality of Saint-Donat says it recognizes on its website the valuable roles of wetlands. Perhaps we should also remind him of the economic value associated with them, since this element seems so decisive for the council. It is estimated that one hectare of wetland is worth, in terms of goods and services provided, between 6,000 $ and 24,000 $. We therefore understand that sooner or later we will have to pay for the replacement of these services that have disappeared. 

The Montagne Noire in Saint-Donat attracts many visitors. Credit: audeladupaysage.com

A strong decision from the CMM

The Fondation Rivière team also welcomes the conservation measure adopted by the CMM, which is in addition to that already provided for by the Metropolitan Land Use and Development Plan. “Any construction, any work, any work or any activity” will thus be prohibited on almost a quarter (22.3 %) of the CMM territory. The regulation will thereby protect the habitat of the chorus frog, an endangered species. This brake on urban sprawl risks forcing the CMM to review its planning practices, while continuing its ecological transition efforts. This is an example to follow for all municipalities in Quebec. Especially for one of them. 

*Conservation priorities are defined in the Regional Wetland and Water Plans (PRMHH). The PRMHH is a strategic reflection document which aims to integrate the conservation of wet and water environments (MHH) into land use planning, by promoting sustainable and structuring development. The submission of the PRMHH is planned for the summer of 2022. It will be adopted and then applied subsequently.

Warning: An update exists here

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Milieux humides protégés : la CMM, un exemple à suivre pour Saint-Donat

Lac Archambault - Milieux humides

La Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal (CMM) a adopté le 28 avril 2022 un règlement visant à protéger plusieurs milieux naturels de son territoire, incluant des milieux humides. À un jet de pierre du territoire de la CMM, la municipalité de Saint-Donat brille par son incohérence en autorisant le projet de développement immobilier Domaine de la Montagne Noire, portant atteinte à des milieux naturels fragiles.

Attention : Une mise à jour existe ici

Domaine de la Montagne Noire à Saint-Donat : une croix sur le naturel

Au nord de la CMM, la ville de Saint-Donat se targue d’être un « parc naturel habité ». Le « naturel » en a pris un coup lorsque le conseil municipal a donné son aval au projet de villégiature du Domaine de la Montagne Noire et ce, malgré la vive opposition des citoyens et citoyennes et la pétition ayant récolté plus de 5 000 signatures. Alertés par l’Association pour la protection de l’environnement du lac Archambault (APELA), nous avons adressé une lettre au conseil municipal le 11 avril dernier, dans laquelle nous avons aussi soulevé notre inquiétude quant aux impacts du projet pour l’intégrité des milieux humides et hydriques du lac.

Crédit : Domaine de la Montagne Noire

Érosion, eutrophisation et destruction d’habitat

Selon des informations qui nous ont été transmises par des citoyennes et citoyens de Saint-Donat, les travaux d’aménagement du Domaine de la Montagne Noire ont déjà entraîné l’érosion de sédiments fins dans les milieux humides à la tête du lac Archambault. Ces sédiments finiront très probablement par se retrouver dans le lac. 

Il est aussi reconnu que le développement immobilier à proximité des lacs augmente la concentration en éléments nutritifs contenus dans les sédiments et, de manière générale, accélère l’eutrophisation, c’est-à-dire le vieillissement accéléré de ces plans d’eau. Sur la base des informations disponibles, il y a aussi un risque marqué pour la santé du lac en poursuivant la construction et le développement dans ce milieu sensible. Qui plus est, le projet du Domaine de la Montagne Noire risque d’entraîner la destruction d’un site de nidification de l’hirondelle de rivage, une espèce protégée.

Légal, mais légitime?

Si ce genre de situation se produit (encore) en toute légalité, est-elle pour autant légitime? La MRC de Matawinie, parmi laquelle Saint-Donat s’inscrit, a établi des priorités de conservation* projetées en matière de milieux humides. La municipalité a autorisé des travaux de remblaiement à Gestion Zalehan, dont le propriétaire est le même que le Domaine de la Montagne Noire, sur un lot identifié en tant que zone de première priorité projetée.

La MRC reconnaît ainsi la valeur écologique du secteur concerné, mais pas la municipalité, qui décide plutôt de s’en tenir aux règlements actuels. Si l’avenir est à la préservation des milieux humides, comment se fait-il que Saint-Donat ne suive pas la cadence?

Destruction des milieux humides : une facture à assumer

À titre de rappel, les milieux humides ont de nombreux bienfaits. Alors qu’on compare les arbres aux poumons de la planète, on pourrait dire que les milieux humides sont comparables aux reins : c’est grâce à ces filtres que les lacs et rivières se « purifient » de leurs nutriments indésirables. Ils agissent aussi comme des éponges et participent donc au contrôle des débits de ruissellement, à la recharge des cours d’eau et des nappes souterraines, ainsi qu’à la diminution de l’érosion et de la sédimentation grâce à leur végétation qui stabilise le sol. 

La municipalité de Saint-Donat dit reconnaître sur son site Web les précieux rôles des milieux humides. Peut-être faudrait-il lui rappeler aussi la valeur économique qui leur est associée, puisque cet élément semble si déterminant pour le conseil. Il est estimé qu’un hectare de milieu humide vaut, en biens et services rendus, entre 6 000 $ et 24 000 $. On comprend dès lors qu’il faudra payer tôt ou tard le remplacement de ces services ainsi disparus. 

La Montagne Noire à Saint-Donat attire de nombreux visiteurs et visiteuses. Crédit : audeladupaysage.com

Une décision forte de la CMM

L’équipe de Fondation Rivière salue parallèlement la mesure de conservation adoptée par la CMM, qui s’ajoute à celle déjà prévue par le Plan métropolitain d’aménagement et de développement. Sera ainsi interdits « toute construction, tout ouvrage, tous travaux ou toute activité » sur près du quart (22,3 %) du territoire de la CMM. Le règlement permettra par le fait même de protéger l’habitat de la rainette faux-grillon, une espèce menacée. Ce frein à l’étalement urbain risque d’obliger la CMM à revoir ses pratiques en matière d’aménagement, tout en poursuivant ses efforts de transition écologique. Il s’agit là d’un exemple à suivre pour toutes les municipalités du Québec. Surtout pour l’une d’entre elles. 

*Les priorités de conservation sont définies dans les Plans régionaux des milieux humides et hydriques (PRMHH). Le PRMHH est un document de réflexion stratégique qui vise à intégrer la conservation des milieux humides et hydriques (MHH) à la planification de l’aménagement du territoire, en favorisant un développement durable et structurant. Le dépôt du PRMHH est prévu à l’été 2022. Il sera adopté puis appliqué subséquemment.

Attention : Une mise à jour existe ici