La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
AuditEAU - wastewater management software

AuditEAU™

Wastewater management software

AuditEAU™ paves the way for improved management of municipal wastewater in Quebec

AuditEAU™ is a new and powerful application developed by Fondation Rivières. It makes it possible to fully exploit the millions of data collected by the computer system for Monitoring Municipal Wastewater Sanitation Works (SOMAEU) of the Ministry of the Environment (MELCCFP) since 2017.

What problem does AuditEAU™ address?

There are more than 800 wastewater treatment plants and more than 4,600 overflow structures that have operated in Quebec since 2017. Each of these structures accumulates hundreds of public data each year. The MELCCFP makes these data available, but their interpretation is complex and not very user-friendly. AuditEAU™ transforms this raw data into a mine of easily exploitable information for anyone interested in water quality.

Who is AuditEAU™ for?

  • Environmental and consultation organizations (OBV, ZIP, citizen committees, etc.)
  • Public decision-makers (municipalities, MRCs, provincial and federal departments)
  • Consulting engineering, environmental and academic firms
  • Any other organization or individual involved or impacted by municipal wastewater management

 

What is AuditEAU™ used for?

AuditEAU™ allows you to consult, process by category, visualize, compare and easily organize the multitude of operating data from all sanitation works in Quebec. Regardless of your level of expertise and your questions, AuditEAU™ can answer your questions, serve as a decision-making tool and present to you from a new angle information on the performance of the sanitation works that interest you .

AuditEAU™ allows you to: 

What AuditEAU™ can accomplish

1. Detailed historical and dynamic portrait of the behaviour of the facilities

AuditEAU™ is a dynamic tool that allows you to process and aggregate all the information available in the SOMAEU system: design data, performance results such as flow rates, operating parameters, overflows, etc.

In a few clicks, obtain monitoring data at the desired spatial and temporal scale. The selection of elements of interest makes the analysis even more interactive.

historique-detaille-et-dynamique-des-installations - auditeau
AuditEAU™ presents several tables displaying a wealth of monitoring information, both for wastewater treatment plants and for overflow structures. These dynamic tables allow information to be broken down by years, months and days.

2. Observe the evolution of the performance of each overflow structure

We must have a good understanding of the evolution of the performance of municipal sanitation works if we want to ensure good management. In this regard, AuditEAU™ provides exact values that allow you to monitor the effectiveness of your interventions on treatment systems or sewer networks. The graphical representations of AuditEAU™ also make it possible to identify recurring difficulties encountered and to note trends that would be difficult to capture with data limited to columns of figures, thus promoting informed decision-making.

AuditEAU - Observer l’évolution des performances de chaque ouvrage
AuditEAU™ presents several tables displaying a wealth of monitoring information, both for wastewater treatment plants and for overflow structures. These dynamic tables allow information to be broken down by years, months and days.
evolution-des-performances-sous-formes-graphiques-b - AuditEAU
Graph showing the overflow intensity of overflow structures on a sewer system. The intensity is a value that takes into account the overflow times and the capacity of the structures. A notable improvement can be seen in 2020, particularly following the almost complete elimination of overflows at the treatment plant inlet and a reduction in the intensity of overflows at structure D-3. Note that residential gutter disconnections were completed in 2019.

3. View performance by treatment type

Quickly obtain a realistic assessment of the treatment performance that can be expected for both an existing and a new wastewater treatment plant*.

AuditEAU™ allows you to consult, based on the monitoring parameters at the tributary and effluent, the treatment performance per month and year for sets configured according to your specifications. Type of treatment, presence/absence of specific equipment, flow rates and design loads: these are the main adjustable variables.

To know

AuditEAU™ makes it possible to process real sanitation system performance data, in order to identify the most relevant avenues upstream of design activities. AuditEAU does not replace proper design calculations, which must be carried out by a qualified engineer.

performances-de-traitement-attendues-a-partir-de-resultats-reels - auditeau
Distribution of average monthly values of a parameter (here fecal coliform) for a configured set (here 164 aerated ponds with 4 cells, averaged from 2017 to 2020).

4. Compare the performances of structures to similar ones in Quebec

AuditEAU™ makes it possible to visually compare the actual treatment performance of one or more wastewater treatment plants with other similar ones, wherever they are on Quebec territory and according to all relevant treatment variables. The visuals and tables clearly show the performance of a treatment on a historical basis. They make it possible to put the scale of a problem into perspective and to identify possible solutions.

comparer-les-performances-d-ouvrages-aux-autres - auditeau
Biological oxygen demand removal performance for a selected treatment plant (thinner, darker histogram bars) compared to a set, which presents the physical-chemical plants in Quebec (wider, lighter histogram bars). The 25 mg/L discharge standard is represented by the red dotted line.

5. Identify priorities for intervention on a large scale

AuditEAU™ makes it possible to classify the performance of wastewater treatment plants at the scale of watersheds, rivers, MRCs, administrative regions or for all of Quebec. It is then possible to easily identify stations encountering treatment challenges and to prioritize interventions.

Ranking of municipalities according to suspended solids (SS) removal performance for stations located in the Laurentian region

6. Simplify complex information to communicate to stakeholders

Access reports that are tailored to your needs and are freely available for review. You'll have the perfect tool to easily communicate otherwise complex information to stakeholders involved in your wastewater management projects.

For any questions regarding our expertise at Fondation Rivières, please contact our data valorization and water quality advisor, Gabriel Cliche at 514-272-2666, ext. 303

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

AuditEAU – logiciel d’aide à la gestion des eaux usées

AuditEAU

AuditEAU ouvre la voie à une gestion améliorée des eaux usées municipales au Québec

AuditEAU est une nouvelle et puissante application développée par la Fondation Rivières. Elle permet de valoriser pleinement les millions de données collectées par le système informatique de Suivi des ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées (SOMAEU) du ministère de l’Environnement (MELCCFP) depuis 2017.

À quel problème répond AuditEAU?

Il existe plus de 800 stations d’épuration et plus de 4 600 ouvrages de surverse ayant opéré au Québec depuis 2017. Chacun de ces ouvrages cumule des centaines de données de nature publique chaque année. Le MELCCFP rend ces données disponibles, mais leur interprétation est complexe et peu conviviale. AuditEAU transforme ces données brutes en une mine d’information facilement exploitable pour quiconque s’intéresse à la qualité de l’eau.

À qui s’adresse AuditEAU?

  • Organismes environnementaux et de concertation (OBV, ZIP, comités citoyens, etc.)
  • Décideurs publics (municipalités, MRC, ministères provinciaux et fédéraux)
  • Firmes de génie-conseil, en environnement et milieux universitaires
  • Tout autre organisme ou individu impliqué ou impacté par la gestion des eaux usées municipales

 

À quoi sert AuditEAU?

AuditEAU permet de consulter, traiter par catégories, visualiser, comparer et organiser aisément la multitude de données d’exploitation de tous les ouvrages d’assainissement du Québec. Peu importe votre niveau d’expertise et vos interrogations, AuditEAU peut répondre à vos questions, vous servir d’outil d’aide à la décision et vous présenter sous un nouvel angle des informations sur la performance des ouvrages d’assainissement qui vous intéressent.

AuditEAU vous permet de : 

1. Portrait historique détaillé et dynamique du comportement des installations

AuditEAU est un outil dynamique qui permet de traiter et d’agréger toutes les informations disponibles dans le système SOMAEU : données de conception, résultats de performance tels que débits, paramètres d’exploitation, débordements, etc.
En quelques clics, obtenez les données de suivi à l’échelle spatiale et temporelle souhaitée. La sélection d’éléments d’intérêt rend l’analyse encore plus interactive.

historique-detaille-et-dynamique-des-installations - auditeau
AuditEAU présente plusieurs tableaux affichant une foule d’informations de suivi, tant pour les stations d’épuration que pour les ouvrages de surverses. Ces tableaux dynamiques permettent de ventiler l’information par années, mois et jours.

2. Observer l’évolution des performances de chaque ouvrage

Il faut bien connaître l’évolution des performances d’ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement si on veut en assurer une bonne gestion. À cet égard, AuditEAU fournit des valeurs exactes qui permettent de suivre l’efficacité de vos interventions sur des systèmes de traitement ou sur des réseaux d’égout. Les représentations graphiques d’AuditEAU permettent aussi de connaître les difficultés récurrentes rencontrées et de constater des tendances qui seraient difficiles à capter avec des données limitées à des colonnes de chiffres, favorisant ainsi une prise de décision éclairée.

AuditEAU - Observer l’évolution des performances de chaque ouvrage
AuditEAU présente plusieurs tableaux affichant une foule d’informations de suivi, tant pour les stations d’épuration que pour les ouvrages de surverses. Ces tableaux dynamiques permettent de ventiler l’information par années, mois et jours.
evolution-des-performances-sous-formes-graphiques-b - AuditEAU
Graphique présentant l’intensité de débordement des ouvrages de surverses sur un réseau d’égout. L’intensité est une valeur qui tient compte des durées de débordement et de la capacité des ouvrages. Une amélioration notable peut être constatée en 2020, notamment suite à l'élimination quasi complète des débordements à l’entrée de la station d’épuration et une réduction de l’intensité des débordements à l’ouvrage D-3. À noter que des débranchements de gouttières résidentielles ont été réalisés en 2019.

3. Consulter les performances par type de traitement

Obtenez rapidement une appréciation réaliste des performances de traitement pouvant être attendues, tant pour une station d’épuration existante qu’une station à concevoir*.

AuditEAU permet de consulter, à partir des paramètres de suivis à l’affluent et à l’effluent, les performances de traitement par mois et années pour ensembles configurés selon vos spécifications. Type de traitement, présence/absence d’équipements précis, débits et charges de conception : voilà les principales variables modulables.

* À savoir

AuditEAU permet de traiter des données réelles de performances de systèmes d’assainissement, de manière à identifier les avenues les plus pertinentes en amont des activités de conception. AuditEAU ne remplace pas des calculs de conception en bonne et due forme, qui doivent être effectués par un ingénieur qualifié.

performances-de-traitement-attendues-a-partir-de-resultats-reels - auditeau
Distribution des valeurs mensuelles moyennes d’un paramètre (ici coliformes fécaux) pour un ensemble configuré (ici 164 étangs aérés ayant 4 cellules, moyennes de 2017 à 2020).

4. Comparer les performances d’ouvrages aux autres similaires au Québec

AuditEAU permet de comparer visuellement les performances réelles de traitement d’une ou de plusieurs stations d’épuration avec d’autres semblables, où qu’elles soient sur le territoire québécois et selon toutes les variables de traitement pertinentes. Les visuels et tableaux montrent clairement les performances d’un traitement sur une base historique. Ils permettent de relativiser l’ampleur d’un problème et d’identifier des pistes de solution.

comparer-les-performances-d-ouvrages-aux-autres - auditeau
Performances d’enlèvement de la demande biologique en oxygène pour une station d’épuration sélectionnée (barres d’histogramme plus minces et foncées) par rapport à un ensemble, qui présente les stations physico-chimiques du Québec (barres d’histogramme plus larges et pâles). La norme de rejet à 25 mg/L est représentée par la ligne pointillée rouge.

5. Identifier à une grande échelle des priorités d’intervention

AuditEAU permet de classer les performances des stations d’épuration à l’échelle des bassins versants, de rivières, des MRC, des régions administratives ou pour l’ensemble du Québec. Il est alors possible d’identifier aisément les stations rencontrant des enjeux de traitement et de prioriser des interventions.

Classement des municipalités selon les performances d’enlèvement des matières en suspension (MES) pour les stations localisées dans la région des Laurentides

6. Communiquer des informations complexes aux parties prenantes

Accédez à des rapports adaptés à vos besoins et que vous pourrez consulter librement. Vous aurez ainsi l’outil parfait pour communiquer aisément des informations, autrement complexes, aux parties prenantes participant à vos projets touchant la gestion des eaux usées.

Contactez-nous pour savoir comment AuditEAU peut vous aider.

Contactez-nous