La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
The Foundation

The Foundation

Together for the rivers and streams of Quebec

Our mission

For 20 years, the Rivers Foundation has been working to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers. It contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water bodies for the Quebec population, taking into account social, environmental and economic dimensions.

We participate in public debate, we make recommendations, we contribute to science, we innovate.

We support water stakeholders with consulting services to optimize wastewater and stormwater management. We highlight problems throughout Quebec with an interactive map of wastewater outfalls and propose solutions and tools to help solve them.

What are the areas of intervention of the Fondation Rivières?

Water quality

Nearly 53,000: that's the number of times wastewater was discharged into Quebec's rivers in 2020 because it could not be treated by municipal wastewater systems. The Rivers Foundation is at the forefront of this battle to help municipalities solve this problem.

Access to water

Imagine a world where we could all access rivers throughout Quebec... Too many banks are private, inaccessible. With the support of members and the collaboration of citizen committees and our partners, the Fondation Rivières works to protect and develop public access to water.

Preservation of the natural character of rivers

Our rivers are beautiful, natural and wild. Yet they are heavily impacted by the cumulative effects of human activity: bridges, dams, mines, logging, farming and urban development. The Foundation is working to preserve these precious landscapes so that everyone can enjoy this important cultural heritage!

What causes does the Fondation Rivières campaign for?

Unjustified hydroelectric dams

The concreting of rivers destroys falls and modifies ecosystems and landscapes. Hydroelectricity production is falsely presented as a solution to the problem of greenhouse gas emissions when lower impact alternatives exist. To find out more, watch the documentary Chercher le Current, the Avec Énergie campaign as well as the documentary theater play and podcast J'aime Hydro.

Protecting our rivers with riverbanks

The shoreline acts as a filter, retaining material and preventing soil erosion.

Pollution that suffocates rivers and streams

Small streams and land drainage systems feed the rivers. They often constitute open sewers, affected by diffuse pollution and erosion.

The excessive privatization of the banks

Public access to water is a fundamental right which tends to disappear quietly, while lakes and rivers help promote well-being and adapt to heatwaves, which are more frequent and intense due to climate change. Water is a collective resource and access to it should be protected.

Our vision

That there are protected areas where rivers flow freely so that people can fully enjoy them;

That an ecotourism industry, skilfully developed, allows the social character of the rivers to be valued accordingly. Thus, some will benefit from the rivers for their health, others for their personal growth;

That the ecological and environmental character be respected. This way, current and future generations will be able to discover and appreciate them.

Adoptez une rivière - La Fondation Rivières 2002 - Banderole - Mobilisation
The Fondation Rivières during the Adopt a River campaign in 2002.

Our values

Thoroughness

Our positions are based on science and professionalism.

Eco-citizenship

We believe that every Quebecer is an eco-citizen, with rights (such as the right to live in a healthy environment), but also with responsibilities towards the rivers (such as contributing to the protection of the collective natural heritage).

Independence

We stand for rivers and the Quebec public interest. We refuse any influence that could harm our mission.

Solidarity

We are committed to mutual aid, collaboration and exchange. Together, we can protect our rivers.

Discover the rivers for which Fondation Rivières acts positively. Contribute to our actions by adopting the one of your choice. 

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
La Fondation

La Fondation

Ensemble pour les rivières et cours d'eau du Québec

Notre mission

Depuis 20 ans, la Fondation Rivières oeuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières. Elle contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise, en tenant compte des dimensions sociales, environnementales et économiques.

Nous participons au débat public, nous faisons des recommandations, nous contribuons à la science, nous innovons.

Nous soutenons les acteurs de l’eau avec une offre de services-conseils afin d’optimiser la gestion des eaux usées et des eaux pluviales. Nous mettons en lumière les problèmes à l’échelle du Québec avec une carte interactive des déversements des eaux usées et nous proposons des solutions et des outils afin de contribuer à les régler.

Quels sont les domaines d'interventions de la Fondation Rivières?

Qualité de l'eau

Près de 53 000 : c’est le nombre de fois où des eaux usées ont été rejetées dans les rivières du Québec en 2020, faute de pouvoir être traitées par les systèmes d’assainissement municipaux. La Fondation Rivières est au-devant de cette bataille pour aider les municipalités à régler cette problématique.

Accès à l'eau

Imaginez un monde où nous pourrions tous et toutes accéder aux rivières partout au Québec… Trop de berges sont privées, inaccessibles. Avec l’appui de membres et la collaboration des comités de citoyens et de nos partenaires, la Fondation Rivières travaille à protéger et développer des accès publics à l’eau.

Préservation du caractère naturel des rivières

Nos rivières sont belles, naturelles et sauvages. Pourtant, elles sont fortement marquées par les impacts cumulatifs de l’activité humaine : ponts, barrages, mines, coupes forestières, exploitations agricoles ou développements urbains. La Fondation travaille à préserver ces paysages précieux afin que tous puissent jouir de ce patrimoine culturel important!

Pour quelles causes la Fondation Rivières milite-t-elle?

Les barrages hydroélectriques injustifiés

Le bétonnage des rivières détruit les chutes, modifient les écosystèmes et les paysages. La production d’hydroélectricité est faussement présentée comme une solution au problème des émissions de gaz à effet de serre alors que des alternatives à moindre impact existent. Pour en savoir plus, voyez le documentaire Chercher le courant, la campagne Avec Énergie ainsi que la pièce de théâtre documentaire et balado J'aime Hydro.

Les remblais et la détérioration des rives qui protègent les rivières

Les rives agissent comme filtre, retiennent les matières et préviennent l’érosion des sols.

La pollution qui asphyxie les cours d’eau

Les petits cours d’eau et les réseaux de drainage des terres alimentent les rivières. Ils constituent souvent des égouts à ciel ouvert, affectés par la pollution diffuse et l'érosion.

La privatisation excessive des berges

L’accès public à l’eau est un droit fondamental qui tend à disparaître tranquillement, alors que les lacs et rivières permettent de favoriser le bien-être, de s'adapter aux canicules, plus fréquentes et intenses dû aux changements climatiques. L'eau est une ressource collective et son accès devrait être protégé.

Notre vision

Qu’il existe des aires protégées où s’écoulent librement les rivières pour que les gens puissent en jouir pleinement;

Qu’une industrie écotouristique savamment développée permette de valoriser le caractère social des rivières. Ainsi, certains en tireront profit pour leur santé, d’autres pour leur épanouissement personnel;

Que le caractère écologique et environnemental soit respecté. De cette manière, les générations actuelles et futures sauront, elles aussi, les découvrir et les apprécier.

Adoptez une rivière - La Fondation Rivières 2002 - Banderole - Mobilisation
La Fondation Rivières lors de la campagne Adoptez une rivière en 2002.

Nos valeurs

Rigueur

Nos prises de position s’appuient sur la science et le professionnalisme.

Écocitoyenneté

Nous croyons que chaque Québécois.e est un.e éco-citoyen.ne, avec des droits (ex. droit de vivre dans un environnement sain), mais aussi des devoirs envers les rivières (ex. contribuer à protéger le patrimoine naturel collectif).

Indépendance

Nous prenons le parti des rivières et de l’intérêt public québécois. Nous refusons toute influence pouvant nuire à notre mission.

Solidarité

Nous privilégions l’entraide, la collaboration et l’échange. C’est ensemble que nous parviendrons à protéger nos rivières.

Découvrez les rivières pour lesquelles la Fondation Rivières agit positivement. Contribuez à nos actions en adoptant celle de votre choix. 

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec