Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Our history

The origins of the Fondation Rivières

In 2001, the Quebec government announced that 36 sites on 24 rivers in Quebec would be transferred to private companies. The objective: to build small hydroelectric plants, that is to say with a production of less than 50 megawatts (MW).

A vast citizen movement is being organized to recognize that the falls and rapids constitute a unique collective heritage on a global scale, and that small power plants cause significant damage to the environment in return for negligible energy gains. These demands are found in the Plea for free rivers.

The Fondation Rivières, together with partner organizations, is therefore launching the awareness operation Adoptez une rivière. Several artists offer their support by symbolically agreeing to sponsor a threatened river. Among them, the actor Roy Dupuis adopts the Gatineau River.

At the initiative of Roy Dupuis, Michel Gauthier andAlain Saladzius, the Fondation Rivières is officially born in the fall of 2022 as a non-profit organization involved in saving rivers.

Contribute to the preservation of Quebec rivers
In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt and Fondation Rivières member status for one year.

Our history: 20 years protecting Quebec’s rivers

1994
2002
1999-2003
2004
2008
2008
2009
2012
2015
2015
2019
2020
2022
From small hydroelectric projects to the creation of the Fondation Rivières
At the request of the government, Hydro-Québec calls for tenders from private producers for the construction of small hydroelectric power plants (25 MW and less) on the rivers of Quebec. Electricity purchase contracts are awarded without sufficient state control. In 1994, engineer Alain Saladzius, now president of Fondation Rivières, was in close contact with the Sûreté du Québec and the Minister of Energy of the new provincial government to shed light on the situation. The Doyon public inquiry commission delivered a disturbing report in 1997.
Birth of the Fondation Rivières
Hydro-Québec is relaunching an ambitious plan to build 36 small power stations at the instigation of the government. Many artists, public figures, citizens' committees and interest groups are mobilizing. The Adopt a River initiative is taking shape, following which the Fondation Rivières is born. The Foundation is co-founded by Alain Saladzius, Roy Dupuis, still spokesperson, and Michel Gauthier. The organization is driven by the deep conviction that alternatives to hydroelectric production must be developed.
In Defense of the Rupert River
​The Fondation Rivières supports the efforts of Révérence Rupert, a citizen group which opposes Hydro-Québec's Eastmain-1A project which involves the diversion of water from the Rupert River and which will deprive it of more than 80% of its water at the height of the spillway. The peace of the brave, a political and economic agreement between Quebec and the Crees, requires the acceptance of the latter of the permanent alteration of one of the last great virgin rivers. The fate of Rupert was sealed in 2003 by a referendum which tore apart Eeyou Istchee, which opposed traditional and political movements.
Descent of the Magpie River
A private hydroelectric dam project risks affecting the integrity of the Magpie River. The Fondation Rivières is organizing a reconnaissance expedition along the river to promote its ecotourism appeal, in collaboration with the Society for Nature and Parks (SNAP), the Union Québécoise pour la Conservation de la Nature (Nature Québec), Greenpeace and Earth River. Robert F. Kennedy Jr. joins the group to highlight the global interest in this natural gem. The Magpie will obtain legal protection status in 2021, following a joint approach by the MRC, the Innu communities and the SNAP, but Quebec has still not agreed to protect the river against hydroelectric development.
Financial assistance from religious organizations
The Fondation Rivières owes its survival in large part to the support of the Canadian Religious Conference, Quebec Chapter. Since 2008, the Priority Donations Committee has been recommending that its members support the Fondation Rivières in its mission. They choose to become partners of the work for its values of solidarity and mutual aid, and because the Foundation denounces injustice, breaks down the walls of individualism and stimulates generosity.
A memoir on the Romaine River, which becomes the subject of a documentary
In 2008, Fondation Rivières presented a brief to the Office of Public Hearings on the Environment (BAPE) concerning the hydroelectric development project on the Romaine River. The same year, Roy Dupuis and directors Nicolas Boisclair and Alexis de Gheldere made a trip down the Romaine River which they documented, for one last time before it was destroyed. Released in 2010, the film Chercher le cours awakens Quebec society to the environmental impacts of dams and alternative energies.
Campaign With Energy
Eleven artists deliver a message of mobilization for Quebec to make the green energy shift of the 21st century. From the innovations of the 1960s in the field of energy, notably the nationalization of electricity, to biodiversity, this series of videos produced in collaboration with Nature Québec, raises public awareness of the need to rethink our ways of doing things, based on science and on what is being done around the world.
Construction of a small hydroelectric power station on Ouiatchouan Falls
The Fondation Rivières is leading an important fight with citizens against the destruction of Ouiatchouan Falls, in the heart of the historic village of Val-Jalbert. Benefiting from considerable subsidies from Hydro-Québec, the MRC and the Innu Council of Mashteuiatsh see this as a financing opportunity for their activities. Today, the waterfall only flows during the day, in summer, when the site is open to visitors. Although this project was successful, the Fondation Rivières continues to work in the fight against unjustifiable threats to the integrity of rivers.
Water quality: a challenge to defend
The Foundation is undergoing a strategic reorientation. After re-evaluating the issues and objectives, it is understood that it will now focus more on water quality, a sector in which it possesses credible and recognized expertise. The Fondation Rivières is now working with watershed organizations and municipalities to provide them with water quality services.
Montreal's Flushgate
The media attention surrounding Montreal's Flushgate has raised public interest in wastewater overflow issues and allowed the Rivers Foundation to put its expertise on the subject. The Foundation questions the procedure used by the City and the excessive delays, and makes recommendations to Environment Canada and its committee of experts. The Foundation's involvement helps to reduce the time and volume of wastewater discharged without treatment.
Organization of the Big Splash
The Fondation Rivières becomes the main organizer of the annual Grand Splash event, after having co-organized the previous edition at the Old Port of Montreal. This initiative aims to raise awareness among the public and municipal officials of the importance of providing public access to swimming in waterways and ensuring water quality.
A track record of wastewater spills
Every day, large quantities of wastewater are discharged into Quebec's rivers because they cannot be treated by municipal wastewater systems. With the help of students in the journalism program at UQAM, the Fondation Rivières has developed an interactive map indicating, among other things, the intensity of overflows. The Foundation is therefore making public the sad ranking of the 50 municipalities that stand out for their wastewater spills in 2019.
Fondation Rivières becomes a charity
The Fondation Rivières obtained its registered charity status (OBE) 20 years after its creation. In addition to allowing the issuance of tax-deductible donation receipts, this status provides access to new sources of financing.

Discover the rivers for which Fondation Rivières acts positively. Contribute to our actions by adopting the one of your choice. 

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Notre historique

Les origines de la Fondation Rivières

En 2001, le gouvernement du Québec annonçait que 36 sites sur 24 rivières du Québec seraient cédés à des sociétés privées. L’objectif : construire des petites centrales hydroélectriques, c’est-à-dire d’une production inférieure à 50 mégawatts (MW).

Un vaste mouvement citoyen s’organise pour faire reconnaître que les chutes et les rapides constituent un patrimoine collectif unique à l’échelle mondiale, et que les petites centrales causent des dommages importants à l’environnement en contrepartie de gains énergétiques négligeables. Ces revendications se retrouvent dans le Plaidoyer pour des rivières libres.

La Fondation Rivières, de concert avec des organismes partenaires, lance dès lors l’opération de sensibilisation Adoptez une rivière. Plusieurs artistes offrent leur soutien en acceptant symboliquement de parrainer une rivière menacée. Parmi eux, le comédien Roy Dupuis adopte la rivière Gatineau.

À l’initiative de Roy Dupuis, de Michel Gauthier et d’Alain Saladzius, la Fondation Rivières prend officiellement naissance à l’automne 2022 comme organisme à but non lucratif impliqué dans la sauvegarde des rivières.

Contribuez à la préservation des rivières québécoises
En plus de soutenir notre équipe à protéger les rivières, votre don vous donne droit à un reçu de charité pour vos impôts et au statut de membre de la Fondation Rivières pour un an.

Notre historique : 20 ans à protéger les rivières du Québec

1994
2002
1999-2003
2004
2008
2008
2009
2012
2015
2015
2019
2020
2022
Des projets de petites centrales hydroélectriques précurseurs à la création de la Fondation Rivières
Sur demande du gouvernement, Hydro-Québec procède à des appels d’offres auprès de producteurs privés pour la construction de petites centrales hydroélectriques (25 MW et moins) sur les rivières du Québec. Des contrats d’achats d’électricité sont attribués sans un contrôle étatique suffisant. En 1994, l’ingénieur Alain Saladzius, aujourd’hui président de la Fondation Rivières, est en contact étroit avec la Sûreté du Québec et le ministre de l’Énergie du nouveau gouvernement provincial pour faire la lumière sur la situation. La commission d’enquête publique Doyon livre un rapport troublant en 1997.
Naissance de la Fondation Rivières
Hydro-Québec relance un ambitieux plan visant à construire 36 petites centrales à l’instigation du gouvernement. De nombreux artistes, personnalités publiques, comités de citoyens et groupes d’intérêts se mobilisent. L’initiative Adoptez une rivière prend forme, suite à quoi la Fondation Rivières voit le jour. La Fondation est cofondée par Alain Saladzius, Roy Dupuis, toujours porte-parole, et Michel Gauthier. L’organisation est animée par la conviction profonde qu’il faut développer des alternatives à la production hydroélectrique.
À la défense de la rivière Rupert
​La Fondation Rivières soutient les efforts de Révérence Rupert, un groupe citoyen qui s’oppose au projet Eastmain-1A d’Hydro-Québec qui implique la dérivation des eaux de la rivière Rupert et qui la privera de plus de 80% de son eau à la hauteur de l'évacuateur de crues. La paix des braves, une entente politique et économique entre Québec et les Cris, nécessite l'acceptation de ces derniers de l'altération permanente d'une des dernières grandes rivières vierges. Le sort de la Rupert est scellé en 2003 par un référendum qui déchire l'Eeyou Istchee, qui oppose mouvances traditionnelles et politiques.
Descente de la rivière Magpie
Un projet de barrage hydroélectrique privé risque d’affecter l’intégrité de la rivière Magpie. La Fondation Rivières organise une expédition de reconnaissance le long de la rivière pour promouvoir son attrait écotouristique, en collaboration avec la Société pour la Nature et les Parcs (SNAP), l’Union Québécoise pour la Conservation de la Nature (Nature Québec), Greenpeace et Earth River. Robert F. Kennedy Jr. se joint au groupe afin de mettre en évidence l’intérêt mondial de ce joyau naturel. La Magpie obtiendra un statut juridique de protection en 2021, à la suite d’une démarche conjointe de la MRC, des communautés Innus et de la SNAP, mais Québec n’a toujours pas accepté de protéger la rivière contre le développement hydroélectrique.
Aide financière d'organismes religieux
La Fondation Rivières doit en grande partie sa survie au soutien de la Conférence religieuse canadienne, section Québec. Depuis 2008, le comité de priorité dans les dons recommande à ses membres d’appuyer la Fondation Rivières dans sa mission. Ceux-ci choisissent de devenir partenaire du travail pour ses valeurs de solidarité et d’entraide, et du fait que la Fondation dénonce les injustices, brise les murs de l’individualisme et stimule la générosité.
Un mémoire sur la rivière Romaine, qui devient l’objet d’un documentaire
En 2008, la Fondation Rivières présente un mémoire au Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) concernant le projet d’aménagement hydroélectrique sur la rivière Romaine. La même année, Roy Dupuis et les réalisateurs Nicolas Boisclair et Alexis de Gheldere réalisent une descente de la rivière Romaine qu’ils documentent, pour une dernière fois avant qu’elle ne soit détruite. Paru en 2010, le film Chercher le courant éveille la société québécoise aux impacts environnementaux des barrages et aux énergies alternatives.
Campagne Avec Énergie
Onze artistes livrent un message de mobilisation pour que le Québec effectue le virage énergétique vert du 21e siècle. Des innovations des années 1960 dans le domaine de l'énergie, notamment la nationalisation de l'électricité, jusqu’à la biodiversité, cette série de capsules vidéos réalisées en collaboration avec Nature Québec, sensibilise la population à repenser nos façons de faire, basé sur la science et sur ce qui se fait également de par le monde.
Construction d’une petite centrale hydroélectrique sur la chute Ouiatchouan
La Fondation Rivières mène une lutte importante avec des citoyen.ne.s contre la destruction de la chute Ouiatchouan, au cœur du village historique de Val-Jalbert. Bénéficiant de subventions considérables d’Hydro-Québec, la MRC et le Conseil innu de Mashteuiatsh y voient une opportunité de financement pour leurs activités. Aujourd’hui, la chute coule uniquement le jour, en été, alors que le site est ouvert aux visiteurs. Bien que ce projet ait abouti, la Fondation Rivières continue d'œuvrer dans la lutte contre les menaces injustifiables à l’intégrité des rivières.
Qualité de l’eau : un enjeu à défendre
La Fondation procède à une réorientation stratégique. Après réévaluation des enjeux et des objectifs, il est entendu qu’elle misera dorénavant davantage sur la qualité de l’eau, secteur dans lequel elle possède une expertise crédible et reconnue. La Fondation Rivières collabore dès lors avec les organismes de bassins versants (OBV) et les municipalités pour leur offrir des services en matière de qualité de l’eau.
Flushgate de Montréal
L’attention médiatique autour du Flushgate de Montréal éveille l’intérêt du public envers les enjeux de surverses des eaux usées et permet à la Fondation Rivières de mettre à profit son expertise sur le sujet. La Fondation questionne la procédure utilisée par la Ville et les délais indus en plus de formuler des recommandations à Environnement Canada et à son comité d’expert.e.s. Son implication permet somme toute de réduire la durée et donc le volume d’eaux usées déversées sans traitement.
Organisation du Grand Splash
La Fondation Rivières devient l’organisateur principal de l’événement annuel Grand Splash, après avoir co-organisé l’édition précédente au Vieux-Port de Montréal. Cette initiative vise à sensibiliser le public et les élu.e.s municipaux à l’importance d’aménager des accès publics à la baignade sur les cours d’eau et aussi, d’assurer la qualité de l’eau.
Un palmarès des déversements d'eaux usées
Tous les jours, des quantités importantes d’eaux usées sont rejetées dans les rivières du Québec faute de pouvoir être traitées par les systèmes d’assainissement municipaux. Avec l’aide des étudiants du programme de journalisme de l’UQAM, la Fondation Rivières développe une carte interactive indiquant, entre autres, l’indice d’intensité des débordements. La Fondation rend ainsi public le triste palmarès des 50 municipalités qui se démarquent quant aux déversements d’eaux usées en 2019.
La Fondation Rivières devient un organisme de bienfaisance
La Fondation Rivières obtient son statut d'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré (OBE) 20 ans après sa création. En plus de permettre l'émission de reçus de dons déductibles d’impôts, ce statut permet d'accéder à de nouvelles sources de financement.

Découvrez les rivières pour lesquelles la Fondation Rivières agit positivement. Contribuez à nos actions en adoptant celle de votre choix. 

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informé de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec