La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Fondation Rivières releases the sad list of 2020 municipalities

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, October 27, 2021 – For a second year, Fondation Rivières is making public a tool allowing you to discover the list of municipalities that stand out in terms of the intensity of their wastewater spills in 2020. It also updated, on its website, the interactive map of discharges with new data from 2020 which reveals that there were nearly 53,000 wastewater spills last year in Quebec.

The sad 2020 ranking highlights the intensity of spills in nearly 700 municipalities, which makes it possible to distinguish those which have improved since 2019 from those where the situation has deteriorated. This year, we are innovating through the use of powerful software that allows us to compare the performance of municipalities of similar size and also to know their ranking in their respective regions.

Among large cities, Trois-Rivières is just ahead of Longueuil in first position in the ranking of the 10 largest cities in Quebec. It occupies this position because the City experienced a major breakdown in September 2020 which caused a continuous spill for 16 days. Had it not been for this accident, Longueuil would once again be the worst city in Quebec in terms of wastewater discharge, for a second consecutive year.

We can also see a significant deterioration in Lévis and Trois-Rivières between 2019 and 2020. We also note an improvement in Laval, Quebec, Gatineau and Saguenay. On the surface, Sherbrooke presents positive results, but in reality, the City is given a D grade in terms of the quality of the measure, since it has not completed the installation of electronic recorders on nearly half of his works overflowing.

The quality of the measurement illustrates the degree of transparency of municipalities, since it indicates the proportion of major overflow structures that are equipped with electronic recorders. A municipality that properly measures the intensity of its spills is therefore at a disadvantage.

As for medium-sized cities, it is the municipalities connected to the Longueuil agglomeration network which take pride of place in this sad list, followed by Thetford Mines, Saint-Hyacinthe, Shawinigan, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Mercier. Note a notable improvement for Victoriaville. Mid-sized municipalities have absolutely unacceptable per capita intensity levels and this is probably where most of the work remains to be done.

As for small municipalities, Saint-Tite, Caplan, Marsoui, Waterloo, Manseau and Chandler sit at the top of this sad list. Saint-Tite and Manseau saw their performance deteriorate between 2019 and 2020, just like Saint-Joseph-du-Lac and Saint-Césaire. Note an improvement in L'Ange-Gardien, Disraeli, Bedford, Normandin and Saint-Gabriel-de-Brandon. Montebello, which topped the list in 2019, ranks 30th this year, an indication that the source of the spills has been partly resolved there: a stream that flowed into the sewer network.

This year, the sad record gives us access to information that was not visible before, including the quality of the measurement and the number of days in the year when there were spills. Quebec City, for example, experienced 318 days with spills out of 365 days of the year.

No notable improvement since last year and permission to pollute for another ten years

The number of spills amounted to 52,794 in 2020, compared to 60,663 in 2019. This decrease is explained by less precipitation in 2020. The milder weather also allowed an overall reduction in the intensity of spills, but these The reductions are not structural, since residential construction is still being authorized without requiring an increase in infrastructure capacity, as we have seen in the case of Saint-Lin-des-Laurentides.

The results are neither worse nor better than last year and they are not about to improve. In a ministerial position of September 22, 2021, the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) recalls that its objective is not to reduce wastewater spills, but simply not to increase them. the number beyond 2014 levels. In this same ministerial position, it grants municipalities until January 1, 2030 to achieve this objective.

“In other words, municipalities have permission to increase pollution in our rivers for the next ten years. The MELCC announces that in ten years, it will crack down on those which have not reduced their pollution level to that of 2014. Why wait until 2030? Why not target delinquent municipalities and tackle the most glaring problems now? That does not make any sense. As the rankings and the map demonstrate, we know exactly where the most glaring problems lie. Prime Minister Legault likes to call himself pragmatic. How pragmatic is such a wall-to-wall measure?” – André Bélanger, general manager of Fondation Rivières.

Visit our website to discover the ranking of the 10 largest cities in Quebec, as well as the TOPS 50 municipalities ranking, according to your selection. If you want to take your analysis a little further, the expert ranking is also at your disposal with more indicators to consult.

About the Spill Intensity Index

The sad record is made on the basis of the spill intensity index developed last year by Fondation Rivières. This index gives an idea of the importance of spills since it takes into account the size of the structures that overflowed and the duration of the spills. By dividing this spill intensity index by the number of inhabitants, it is then possible to compare the performances of municipalities with each other, regardless of their size.

- 30 -

Updated: November 8, 2022

For informations :

Christian Généreux
Responsible for communications, development and mobilization
514 272-2666, ext. 302
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières rend public le triste palmarès des municipalités 2020

Fondation Rivières rend public le triste palmarès des municipalités 2020

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSIOM IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 27 octobre 2021 – Pour une deuxième année, Fondation Rivières rend public un outil permettant de découvrir la liste des municipalités qui se démarquent quant à l’intensité de leurs déversements d’eaux usées en 2020. Elle a aussi mis à jour, sur son site web, la carte interactive des rejets avec les nouvelles données de 2020 qui révèle qu’il y a eu près de 53 000 déversements d’eaux usées l’an dernier au Québec.

Le triste palmarès 2020 met en lumière l’intensité des déversements de près de 700 municipalités, ce qui permet de distinguer celles qui se sont améliorées depuis 2019 de celles où la situation s’est détériorée. Cette année, nous innovons grâce à l’utilisation d’un puissant logiciel qui permet de comparer la performance des municipalités de taille semblable et aussi de connaître leur classement dans leurs régions respectives.

Parmi les grandes villes, Trois-Rivières devance tout juste Longueuil en première position dans le classement des 10 plus grandes villes du Québec. Elle occupe cette position parce que la Ville a connu un bris majeur en septembre 2020 qui a provoqué un déversement continu durant 16 jours. N’eût été de cet accident, Longueuil serait encore une fois la pire ville au Québec en ce qui a trait au déversement des eaux usées et ce, pour une deuxième année consécutive.

On peut aussi constater une dégradation importante à Lévis et à Trois-Rivières entre 2019 et 2020. On note d’autre part une amélioration à Laval, Québec, Gatineau et Saguenay. En apparence, Sherbrooke présente des résultats positifs, mais en réalité, la Ville se voit attribuer une note D en ce qui a trait à la qualité de la mesure, puisqu’elle n’a pas complété l’installation des enregistreurs électroniques sur près de la moitié de ses ouvrages qui débordent.

La qualité de la mesure illustre le degré de transparence des municipalités, puisqu’il indique la proportion des ouvrages de surverses d’importance qui sont dotés d’enregistreurs électroniques. Une municipalité qui mesure bien l’intensité de ses déversements est donc désavantagée.

En ce qui a trait aux villes de taille moyenne, ce sont les municipalités reliées au réseau de l’agglomération de Longueuil qui trônent à ce triste palmarès, suivies par Thetford Mines, Saint-Hyacinthe, Shawinigan, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu et Mercier. Notons une amélioration notable pour Victoriaville. Les municipalités de taille moyenne ont des niveaux d’intensité par habitant absolument inacceptables et c’est probablement là que le plus gros du travail reste à faire.

En ce qui a trait aux petites municipalités, Saint-Tite, Caplan, Marsoui, Waterloo, Manseau et Chandler trônent au sommet de ce triste palmarès. Saint-Tite et Manseau ont vu leur performance se détériorer entre 2019 et 2020, tout comme Saint-Joseph-du-Lac et Saint-Césaire. Soulignons une amélioration à L’Ange-Gardien, Disraeli, Bedford, Normandin et Saint-Gabriel-de-Brandon. Montebello, qui trônait au palmarès en 2019, se classe 30e cette année, une indication qu’on y a réglé en partie la source des déversements: un ruisseau qui s’écoulait dans le réseau d’égouts.

Cette année, le triste palmarès nous donne accès à des informations qui n’étaient pas visibles auparavant, dont la qualité de la mesure et le nombre de journées dans l’année où il y a eu des déversements. La Ville de Québec, par exemple, a connu 318  jours avec des déversements sur les 365 jours de l’année.

Pas d’amélioration notable depuis l’an dernier et une permission de polluer pour encore dix ans

Le nombre de déversements s’élevait à 52 794 en 2020, contre 60 663 en 2019. Cette diminution s’explique par des précipitations moindres en 2020. La météo plus clémente a aussi permis une réduction globale de l’intensité des déversements, mais ces réductions ne sont pas structurelles, puisqu’on autorise encore et toujours la construction domiciliaire sans exiger une augmentation de la capacité des infrastructures, comme on a pu le constater avec le cas de Saint-Lin-des-Laurentides.

Le bilan n’est ni pire, ni meilleur que celui de l’an dernier et il n’est pas près de s’améliorer. Dans une position ministérielle du 22 septembre 2021, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) rappelle que son objectif n’est pas de réduire les déversements d’eaux usées, mais simplement de ne pas en augmenter le nombre au-delà des niveaux de 2014. Dans cette même position ministérielle, il accorde aux municipalités jusqu’au 1er janvier 2030 pour atteindre cet objectif.

« Autrement dit, les municipalités ont la permission d’augmenter la pollution dans nos rivières pour les dix prochaines années. Le MELCC annonce que dans dix ans, il sévira contre celles qui n’auront pas ramené leur niveau de pollution à celui de 2014. Pourquoi attendre 2030? Pourquoi ne pas cibler les municipalités délinquantes et s’attaquer maintenant aux problèmes les plus criants? Ça n’a aucun sens. Comme le palmarès et la carte le démontrent, nous savons exactement où se trouvent les problèmes les plus criants. Le premier ministre Legault aime à se qualifier de pragmatique. En quoi une telle mesure mur-à-mur est-elle pragmatique?” – André Bélanger, directeur général de Fondation Rivières.

Visitez notre site internet pour découvrir le classement des 10 plus grandes villes du Québec, ainsi que le Palmarès des TOPS 50 municipalités, selon votre sélection. Si vous désirez pousser votre analyse un peu plus loin, le Palmarès expert est aussi à votre disposition avec davantage d’indicateurs à consulter.

À propos de l’indice d’intensité des déversements

Le triste palmarès est réalisé sur la base de l’indice d’intensité des déversements développé l’an dernier par Fondation Rivières. Cet indice donne une idée de l’importance  des déversements puisqu’il tient compte de la taille des ouvrages qui ont débordé et de la durée des déversements. En divisant cet indice d’intensité des déversements par le nombre d’habitants, il est alors possible de comparer les performances des municipalités entre elles, peu importe leur taille.

Mise à jour : 9 novembre 2021

Pour toute demande d’entrevue :

Christian Généreux
Responsable aux communications, au développement et à la mobilisation
514 272-2666, poste 302
communications@fondationrivieres.org