La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Grand Splash 2019: Montrealers jump into the river!

Grand Splash de Montréal

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, July 30, 2019 – More than a hundred swimmers joined the Montreal Bathing Citizen Committee today for the traditional jump into the St. Lawrence River, from the Jacques-Cartier quay in the Old Port of Montreal. This 15e edition of Grand Splash mobilized swimmers to demand more public access to the shores of the island of Montreal and better control of water quality.

Regular participation

The event arouses unwavering enthusiasm from its first organizers who are still present, in particular Ms. Chantal Rouleau, Minister for Transport and Minister responsible for the Metropolis and the Montreal region, Mr. Léonce Naud of the Société des gens de bathade and by Mr. Pierre Lussier, Director of Earth Day.

Several elected officials from the City of Montreal also took the plunge into the waters of the river, notably Ms. Émilie Thuillier, borough mayor of Ahuntsic-Cartierville and Marie-Josée Parent, City councilor – Champlain-l'Ile-des district -Sisters, and gentlemen Sylvain Ouellet, city councilor – François-Perrault district and vice-president of the executive committee, Robert Beaudry, city councilor – Saint-Jacques district and member of the executive committee, as well as several other elected officials ( e)s.

Water quality

The latest results of bacteriological analyzes from July 24 at the Grand Splash location, carried out by the City of Montreal, revealed excellent water quality, i.e. 5 CFU/100 ml, well below the threshold of 20 CFU/100 ml. to have excellent water quality. The temperature there was 23 degrees Celsius.

Additional bacteriological analyzes carried out at 6:30 a.m. just before the Great Splash confirmed the excellent water quality of the Jacques-Cartier basin with a result of 0.64 mMFU/100 ml. This rapid result was obtained using new rapid analysis technology based on enzymatic reactions.

Swimming in the city: a priority

“The idea that the water in the river bordering the island of Montreal is not of good quality is false. However, you must be well informed about water quality conditions which often change depending on location and weather. We are pleased that our involvement can contribute to the identification of optimal solutions in terms of development and rapid analysis of the bacteriological quality of water, which will help in the realization of interesting projects such as that of the river bath in Vieux -Port of Montreal, the Bellerive promenade or the Eastern beach” declares Alain Saladzius, President of the Fondation Rivières and member of the Montréal Baignade Citizen Committee.

“2019 is an exceptional year for the Grand Splash, because on the one hand, we are happy to have passed the torch of organizing the event to the Fondation Rivières and this is the year of inauguration of Verdun beach, first milestone before the construction of a port bath at the Old Port”, declares Pierre Lussier, Director of Earth Day and member of the Montréal Baignade committee since 2003.

Montreal Swimming Citizen Committee

The Citizens Committee Montreal Swimming is a group of Montreal citizens concerned about the lack of public access to the banks and water of the St. Lawrence River, surrounding the island of Montreal. Every year, they meet during the summer period for the Grand Splash in order to assert their demands to elected officials and citizens. Since 2003, many citizens have invested in the cause.

Fondation Rivières

The Fondation Rivières's mission is to work to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and lakes, as well as water quality. The Fondation Rivières supports activities promoting responsible recreational use of water, so that people reconnect with this precious shared resource.

Collaborations

The organization of the event benefited from the support of New World Rafting on the Red River, Small Ship in the Old Port of Montreal, from the Confederation of National Trade Unions (CSN) and for the analysis of water quality, Bota Bota spa-on-water, of the'Polytechnic School of Montreal and Aquacion Group Inc..

- 30 -

For information :

Julie Sabourin
Communications Officer
Fondation Rivières, for the Montréal Baignade Citizen Committee
514 576-2974 | montrealbaignade@gmail.com

Alain Saladzius
President
Fondation Rivières, for the Montréal Baignade Citizen Committee
514 924-2013 | presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Photo: Cristian Mijea/stiridemontreal.com

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

GRAND SPLASH 2019 : Les Montréalais sautent dans le fleuve!

, ,

 

 

 

 

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
Pour diffusion immédiate

GRAND SPLASH 2019

Sauter dans le fleuve pour réclamer l’accès aux berges de l’Île de Montréal

Montréal, le 30 juillet 2019 – Plus d’une centaine de baigneurs se sont joints aujourd’hui au Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade pour le traditionnel saut dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à partir du quai Jacques-Cartier dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal. Cette 15e édition du Grand Splash a mobilisé les baigneurs afin de revendiquer davantage d’accès public aux berges de l’île de Montréal et à un meilleur contrôle de la qualité de l’eau.

Une participation assidue

L’événement suscite un engouement indéfectible de la part de ses premiers organisateurs encore présents, notamment madame Chantal Rouleau, Ministre déléguée aux Transports et Ministre responsable de la Métropole et de la région de Montréal, monsieur Léonce Naud de la Société des gens de baignade et de monsieur Pierre Lussier, Directeur du Jour de la Terre.

Plusieurs élus de la Ville de Montréal ont également fait le saut dans les eaux du fleuve, notamment mesdames Émilie Thuillier, mairesse d’arrondissement de Ahuntsic-Cartierville et Marie-Josée Parent, conseiller de la Ville – district Champlain-l’Ile-des-Sœurs, et de messieurs Sylvain Ouellet, conseiller de la Ville – district François-Perrault et vice-président du comité exécutif, Robert Beaudry, conseiller de la Ville – district Saint-Jacques et membre du comité exécutif, ainsi que plusieurs autres élu(e)s.

Qualité de l’eau

Les derniers résultats d’analyses bactériologiques du 24 juillet à l’endroit du Grand Splash, effectués par la Ville de Montréal, révélaient une excellente qualité d’eau, soit 5 UFC/ 100 ml, largement sous le seuil de 20 UFC/100 ml pour avoir une eau d’excellente qualité. La température y était de 23 degrés Celsius.

Des analyses bactériologiques supplémentaires effectuées à 6h30 tout juste avant le Grand Splash ont confirmé l’excellente qualité de l’eau du bassin Jacques-Cartier avec un résultat de 0,64 mMFU/100 ml. Ce résultat rapide fut obtenu à l’aide d’une nouvelle technologie d’analyse rapide basée sur des réactions enzymatiques.

Se baigner en ville : une priorité

« L’idée que l’eau du fleuve bordant l’île de Montréal ne soit pas de bonne qualité, est fausse. Il faut cependant être bien informé des conditions de qualité de l’eau qui changent souvent selon l’endroit et la météo. Nous sommes heureux que notre implication puisse contribuer à l’identification de solutions optimales en termes d’aménagement et d’analyse rapide de la qualité bactériologique de l’eau, ce qui aidera à la réalisation de projets intéressants tels celui du bain fluvial au Vieux-Port de Montréal, la promenade Bellerive ou la plage de l’Est » déclare Alain Saladzius, Président de la Fondation Rivières et membre du Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade.

« 2019 est une année exceptionnelle pour le Grand Splash, car d’une part, nous sommes heureux d’avoir transmis le flambeau de l’organisation de l’événement à la Fondation Rivières et qu’il s’agit de l’année de l’inauguration de la plage de Verdun, premier jalon devant la construction d’un bain portuaire au Vieux-Port », déclare Pierre Lussier, Directeur du Jour de la Terre et membre du comité Montréal Baignade depuis 2003.

Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade

Le Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade est un groupe de citoyens montréalais préoccupés par le manque d’accès publics aux berges et à l’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent, ceinturant l’île de Montréal. Chaque année, ils se réunissent durant la période estivale pour le Grand Splash afin de faire valoir leurs revendications auprès des élus et des citoyens. Depuis 2003, de nombreux citoyens et citoyennes se sont investis à la cause.

Fondation Rivières      

La Fondation Rivières a pour mission d’œuvrer à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel des rivières et lacs, tout autant que de la qualité de l’eau. La Fondation Rivières appuie les activités faisant la promotion d’un usage récréatif responsable de l’eau, afin que les gens reprennent contact avec cette précieuse ressource commune.

Collaborations

L’organisation de l’événement a bénéficié du soutien de Rafting Nouveau Monde sur la rivière Rouge, du Petit Navire dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal, de la Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN) et pour l’analyse de la qualité de l’eau, du Bota Bota spa-sur-l’eau, de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal et du Groupe Aquacion inc.

 

Pour information :

Julie Sabourin
Chargée de communication
Fondation Rivières, pour le Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade
514 576-2974 | montrealbaignade@gmail.com

Alain Saladzius, ing.
Président
Fondation Rivières, pour le Comité citoyen Montréal Baignade
514 924-2013 | presidence@fondationrivieres.org

 

 

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *