La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Video contest “small splash becomes BIG!” »

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, June 29, 2020 – As part of June, water month, the Fondation Rivières launches the competition “small splash will become BIG!” » replacing this year the traditional Grand Splash. Through this revisited event, the organization invites citizen committees and individuals to present the public access to water they dream of. In the form of a video capsule of less than 5 minutes, participants must describe a planned access to water, indicate why the location is suitable for the public and how it would contribute to the well-being of the community.

The objective of the Grand Splash is to raise awareness among political authorities and the Quebec population of the quality and public accessibility of the waterways of which Quebec is abundant. As the general director of the Grouping of Quebec watershed organizations (ROBVQ), Mr. Antoine Verville, in an interview entitled “ Water, this collective heritage to which we do not really have access », Access to water is a major issue in Quebec. In fact, municipalities have the right to limit access, like any private owner. However, having access to bodies of water should be a universal right and this is, among other things, what the Fondation Rivières is demanding.

In the past, the Grand Splash was a citizen movement organized in the Old Port of Montreal, along the Jacques-Cartier quay. On this occasion, participants asked for improvements and monitoring of water quality to allow swimming in the St. Lawrence River. In order to further mobilize stakeholders around accessibility to water and make it a national event, the Fondation Rivières had planned to expand the Grand Splash to five other cities in Quebec for the year 2020.

“Unfortunately, the pandemic prevents the event from taking place, but we are taking the opportunity to review the formula and expand it with this competition which will mobilize hundreds of citizens. The video competition will of course highlight potential promising sites for swimming and other water sports, but also places to organize other Grand Splashes during the next edition in 2021. This is the idea behind the slogan small splash will become BIG. » – Alain Saladzius, president of Fondation Rivières.

The competition runs from June 29 to August 31, 2020. From the videos received, a jury will select 10 finalists who will be submitted to popular vote. The directors of the public’s five “favorite” videos will receive:

  • a kayak
  • A gift basket
  • Support from Fondation Rivières for the organization of their Grand Splash 2021

All the details of the competition as well as the rules of participation can be found on the site www.fondationrivieres.org.

- 30 -

For informations :

Geneviève Tardy
Communications Manager
514 424-3556
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Concours de vidéos « petit splash deviendra GRAND! »

GrandSplash_Publication_Twitter_Concours

Montréal, le 29 juin 2020 – Dans le cadre de Juin, mois de l’eau, la Fondation Rivières lance le concours « petit splash deviendra GRAND!» en remplacement cette année du traditionnel Grand Splash. Par cet événement revisité, l’organisation invite les comités citoyens et les individus à présenter les accès publics à l’eau dont ils rêvent. Sous forme de capsule vidéo de moins de 5 minutes, les participants.es doivent décrire un accès à l’eau projeté, indiquer pourquoi le lieu est adapté au public et comment il contribuerait au bien-être de la communauté.

L’objectif du Grand Splash est de sensibiliser les instances politiques et la population québécoise à la qualité et à l’accessibilité publique aux cours d’eau dont le Québec regorge. Comme le mentionnait récemment le directeur général du Regroupement des organismes de bassins versants du Québec (ROBVQ), M. Antoine Verville, dans une entrevue intitulée « L’eau, ce patrimoine collectif auquel on n’a pas vraiment accès », l’accès à l’eau est un enjeu majeur au Québec. En effet, les municipalités ont le droit d’en limiter l’accès, comme n’importe quel propriétaire privé. Or, avoir accès aux plans d’eau devrait être un droit universel et c’est entre autres ce que la Fondation Rivières revendique.

Par le passé, le Grand Splash était un mouvement citoyen organisé dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal, en bordure du quai Jacques-Cartier. À cette occasion, les participant.e.s demandaient des aménagements et un suivi de qualité de l’eau afin de permettre la baignade dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Afin de mobiliser davantage les acteurs autour de l’accessibilité à l’eau et en faire un événement national, la Fondation Rivières avait prévu élargir le Grand Splash à cinq autres villes du Québec pour l’année 2020.

« Malheureusement, la pandémie empêche la tenue de l’événement, mais nous saisissons l’opportunité pour revoir la formule et l’élargir avec ce concours qui mobilisera des centaines de citoyens. Le concours vidéo permettra bien sûr de mettre en lumière de potentiels sites prometteurs pour la baignade et autres sports nautiques, mais également des lieux pour organiser d’autres Grand Splash lors de la prochaine édition en 2021. Voilà l’idée derrière le slogan petit splash deviendra GRAND. » – Alain Saladzius, président de la Fondation Rivières.

Le concours se déroule du 29 juin au 31 août 2020. Parmi les vidéos reçues, un jury sélectionnera 10 finalistes qui seront soumises au vote populaire. Les réalisateurs et réalisatrices des cinq vidéos « coups de cœur » du public se mériteront :

  • Un kayak
  • Un panier cadeau
  • Le soutien de la Fondation Rivières pour l’organisation de leur Grand Splash 2021

Tous les détails du concours ainsi que les règles de participation se trouvent sur le site www.fondationrivieres.org.

Téléchargez le communiqué

X