La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Emergency: spill into the Yamaska River

Rivière Yamaska
Video showing what appears to be a major pollution spill into the Yamaska River, in the municipality of Saint-Damase near Saint-Hyacinthe, has been broadcast on Facebook since July 4.
The opaque red-orange flow comes out of a pipe on the bank of the river. An industrial spill is suspected.
The sentinel of the Yamaska River associated with the Fondation Rivières, Jacques Tétreault, sent an official complaint to the Ministry of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change in Longueuil. Urgence-Environnement was also seized of the file.
Fondation Rivières is concerned that such releases are occurring. Certain categories of industries are not sufficiently monitored according to the Foundation, which has also identified this problem in its strategic plan.
This time, pictures are worth a thousand words to describe the importance of the situation. It is unfortunately still a reality, in 2015, that such situations occur regularly on our waterways. “It is everyone's responsibility to denounce this type of situation,” maintains Mr. Tétreault, who finds it both distressing and discouraging that such a situation arises, barely two years after the Estates General on Water. of watershed of the Yamaska. “The population is now aware of this type of issue. People want a clean river and pure water. Gestures of such savagery cannot be tolerated! » continues Mr. Tétreault.
Photo: Gilles Doaire

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Urgence : déversement dans la rivière Yamaska

Rivière Yamaska
Une vidéo montrant ce qui semble être un déversement majeur de pollution dans la rivière Yamaska, dans la municipalité de Saint-Damase près de Saint-Hyacinthe, est diffusée sur Facebook depuis le 4 juillet dernier.
L’écoulement rouge-orange opaque sort d’un tuyau en rive de la rivière. Un déversement industriel est soupçonné.
La sentinelle de la rivière Yamaska associée à la Fondation Rivières, Jacques Tétreault, a transmis une plainte officielle au ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques de Longueuil. Urgence-Environnement a également été saisi du dossier.
La Fondation Rivières s’inquiète que de tels rejets se produisent. Certaines catégories d’industries ne sont pas suffisamment surveillées selon la Fondation, qui a d’ailleurs identifié ce problème dans son plan stratégique.
Cette fois, des images valent mille mots pour décrire l’importance de la situation. C’est malheureusement toujours une réalité, en 2015, que de telles situations se produisent régulièrement sur nos cours d’eau. « Il est de la responsabilité de chacun de dénoncer ce genre de situation », soutient d’ailleurs Monsieur Tétreault, qui trouve à la fois désolant et décourageant qu’une telle situation survienne, deux ans à peine après les États généraux de l’eau du bassin versant de la Yamaska. « La population est maintenant conscientisée à ce genre d’enjeu. Les gens souhaitent une rivière propre et de l’eau pure. Des gestes d’une telle sauvagerie ne peuvent être tolérés! » poursuit Monsieur Tétreault.
Photo : Gilles Douaire

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser