La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydroelectric power station on the Mistassini River: the project does not meet the requirements of sustainable development and information on its management must be made public

11e Chute de la rivière Mistassini

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
  

Montreal, July 16, 2015 – The hydroelectric power station project on the 11e fall of the Mistassini River does not respect the principles of the Sustainable Development Act and the Lac-Saint-Jean Community Energy Corporation (SECLSJ) camouflages its management by not respecting the Access to Water Act. information. The report from the Office of Public Hearings on the Environment (BAPE), whose report was made public on July 10, questions several elements of the project.

Let us recall here the conclusions reached by the Fondation Rivières in its brief submitted last February. Several considerations therefore allowed us to recommend to the BAPE the rejection of this project.

In its report, the BAPE commission of inquiry does not comment on the justification of the project. It simply relies on the government ideology of subsidizing regional development through the purchase of electricity from loss-making projects, an old way of doing things put in place by the Charest government in 2006, and which the Couillard government is resuming under his wing, this time in the Prime Minister's county. This same ideology has just caused the loss of hundreds of jobs for construction workers who have just completed the ransacking of the historic site of Val-Jalbert, from our point of view.

The Commission of Inquiry also notes that the management rules, the project selection criteria as well as the accountability and monitoring mechanisms are however variable and poorly defined, and are therefore considered insufficient. She adds that transparent and public accountability and monitoring mechanisms regarding the use of funds and the expected and achieved repercussions should be put in place. The Fondation Rivières fully subscribes to this observation and even adds that in the case of the SECLSJ, the rules are so flouted that all information is confidential, including the awarding of lucrative contracts without calls for tender, the systematic refusal of information , and suspicious hiring of staff, secret management, etc.

The Commission adds that the program should be the subject of an evaluation in order to demonstrate that it achieves its regional development objectives, while emphasizing that the purchase of this electricity has a direct impact on the prices assumed by the whole Quebec consumers, to which the Foundation also subscribes.

The Commission also notes that the studies are incomplete concerning a potential spawning ground located at the entrance to the intake canal, that a study of the effect on water temperature should be carried out, that mortality monitoring fish should be planned as well as compensation measures to compensate for possible habitat losses.

In terms of recreational and tourism impacts, the information submitted is insufficient to enable us to assess with certainty the impact of using the aesthetic flow rate of 13.25 m³/s. Questions also arise regarding the risk of ice jams, the expectations of canoeists and kayakers, and the connection line should have been an integral part of the project analysis. Finally, based on the principles of the Sustainable Development Act “participation and commitment” and “access to knowledge”, the Commission of Inquiry emphasizes that the promoter should set up a monitoring committee representative of the community, should the project be carried out. project.

The Fondation Rivières therefore calls on the government not to authorize this costly project whose management is secret.

Complaints were submitted to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy concerning the contracts carried out without a call for tenders and to the Order of Engineers concerning the role and hiring of SECLSJ employees.

-30-

Source : 

Catherine Huard
Executive Director
514 241-3031

Photo : 11th Falls of the Mistassini River by Pierre Leclerc

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Centrale hydroélectrique sur la rivière Mistassini : le projet ne répond pas aux exigences du développement durable et les informations sur sa gestion doivent être rendues publiques

11e Chute de la rivière Mistassini

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE
  

Montréal, le 16 juillet 2015 – Le projet de centrale hydroélectrique sur la 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini ne respecte pas les principes de la Loi sur le développement durable et la Société de l’énergie communautaire du Lac-Saint-Jean (SECLSJ) camoufle sa gestion en ne respectant pas la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le rapport du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) dont le rapport fut rendu public le 10 juillet questionne plusieurs éléments du projet.

Rappelons ici les conclusions auxquelles la Fondation Rivières était parvenue dans son mémoire déposé en février dernier. Plusieurs considérations nous permettaient dès lors de recommander au BAPE le rejet ce projet.

Dans son rapport, la commission d’enquête du BAPE ne se prononce pas sur la justification du projet. Elle s’en remet simplement à l’idéologie gouvernementale de subventionner le développement régional par l’achat d’électricité provenant de projets déficitaires, une vieille façon de faire mise en place par le gouvernement Charest en 2006, et que le gouvernement Couillard reprend sous son aile, cette fois dans le comté du Premier ministre. Cette même idéologie vient de causer la perte de centaines d’emplois d’ouvriers de la construction qui viennent de terminer le saccage du site historique de Val-Jalbert, à notre point de vue.

La Commission d’enquête constate d’autre part que les règles de gestion, les critères de sélection des projets ainsi que les mécanismes de reddition de comptes et de suivi sont toutefois variables et peu définis, et sont donc considérés comme insuffisants. Elle ajoute que des mécanismes de reddition de comptes et de suivis transparents et publics quant à l’utilisation des fonds et les répercussions attendues et réalisées devraient être mis en place. La Fondation Rivières souscrit entièrement à ce constat et ajoute même que dans le cas de la SECLSJ, les règles sont tellement bafouées que toute information est confidentielle, y compris l’attribution de lucratifs contrats sans appel d’offres, du refus systématique à l’information, et à l’embauche suspecte de personnel, à une gestion occulte, etc.

La Commission ajoute que le programme devrait faire l’objet d’une évaluation afin de démontrer qu’il atteint ses objectifs de développement régional, tout en soulignant que l’achat de cette électricité a une incidence directe sur les tarifs assumés par l’ensemble des consommateurs québécois, ce à quoi la Fondation souscrit également.

La Commission note également que les études sont incomplètes concernant une frayère potentielle située à l’entrée du canal d’amenée, qu’une étude de l’effet sur la température de l’eau devrait être réalisée, qu’un suivi de la mortalité des poissons devrait être prévu ainsi que des mesures de compensations afin de pallier aux pertes d’habitat éventuelles.

Du côté des impacts impact récréotouristiques, les informations déposées s’avèrent insuffisantes pour permettre d’apprécier avec certitude l’impact de l’utilisation du débit esthétique de 13,25 m³/s. Des questions se posent également quant aux risques d’embâcles, aux attentes des canoteurs et kayakistes,  et la ligne de raccordement aurait dû faire partie intégrante de l’analyse du projet. Finalement, en fonction des principes de la Loi sur le développement durable « participation et engagement » et « accès au savoir », la Commission d’enquête souligne que le promoteur devrait mettre sur pied un comité de suivi représentatif du milieu, advenant la réalisation du projet.

La Fondation Rivières interpelle donc le gouvernement à ne pas autoriser ce projet coûteux et dont la gestion est occulte.

Des plaintes ont été soumises au ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire concernant les contrats sans appel d’offres réalisés et à l’Ordre des ingénieurs concernant le rôle et l’embauche d’employés de la SECLSJ.

-30-

Source : 

Catherine Huard
Directrice générale
514 241-3031

Photo : 11e Chute de la rivière Mistassini par Pierre Leclerc

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.