La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

River crossings by the Energy East Oil Pipeline project: a complete list of threatened rivers is now available and the Order of Engineers is called upon to intervene

Oléoduc énergie Est

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, June 12, 2015 – TransCanada's Energy East project would cross 70 rivers, 185 streams and the St. Lawrence River, for a total of 256 watercourses. This list, as well as that of the 69 municipalities affected and the 17 watershed organizations involved, was produced from maps and detailed information presented on the website of the Commission for the Protection of the Agricultural Territory of Quebec (CPTAQ) at www.cptaq.gouv.qc.ca. This complete inventory is now available to everyone.

The CPTAQ website presents, in the TransCanada Pipelines – Énergie Est Oil Project section, numerous details on the agricultural territories affected, as well as the list of municipalities with information for each of them, thus demonstrating that the file is moving forward. this side. There are many details: names and addresses of affected owners, land areas, resolutions from municipalities and MRCs ruling on the project, etc. It is a wealth of information for citizens and organizations looking for local information.

The Fondation Rivières, for its part, called on the Order of Engineers of Quebec to examine the quality of the report produced in March 2015 by the firm Golder Associates Ltd on the subject of hydrotechnical risks. Only engineers recognized by the Order of Engineers of Quebec are qualified to produce such expert reports. However, the cited authors are not members of the Order and several other reports appear to be non-compliant with Quebec requirements. The Foundation incidentally noticed the absence of information regarding the risks of dam failure and erosion that could be caused by the works, as well as the use of thousand-year floods instead of century-old floods, as is now often considered with climate change. .

On the other hand, the announcement made on June 8 by Minister Heurtel to mandate the Office of Public Hearings on the Environment to evaluate the project under section 6.3 is only a smoke screen, because it is only a question of consultations and the government thus renounces its powers of control over the project:

6.3. The Bureau's functions are to investigate any question relating to the quality of the environment submitted to it by the Minister and to report to the latter its findings as well as the analysis it has made.

The mandate should have been given under article 31.1 which requires that the procedure for examining environmental impacts be followed and which provides that the government of Quebec issues a certificate of authorization before the work begins:

 31.1. No one may undertake construction, work, activity or operation or carry out work according to a plan or program, in the cases provided for by government regulation, without following the procedure for evaluating and examining the impacts on the environment. environment provided for in this section and obtain a certificate of authorization from the government.

We understand that the BAPE will only serve as an advisory tool for the Government of Quebec to develop an opinion regarding the Federal National Energy Board. Quebec thus abdicates its full powers on several environmental issues.

Gold, " the issues linked to river construction are multiple and exceptional safety measures are necessary given the risks and consequences that a pipe break would have. » indicates Geneviève Marquis, vice-president of Fondation Rivières, specialist in hydrology and sedimentary and morphological dynamics of watercourses. “ A BAPE duly mandated as part of the regulatory procedure for evaluating and examining environmental impacts would have required the promoter to submit its construction methods, answer questions from the public and improve the decision-making of the Quebec government regarding the construction methods to be used » she specifies.

Fondation Rivières completed the missing information on the CPTAQ website using maps provided by TransCanada[1]. The Fondation Rivières list does not count intermittent watercourses (notably ditches), so the total number of watercourses crossed is less than that announced by TransCanada Pipelines.

The Energy East pipeline would cross Quebec for more than 700 kilometers to transport 1.1 million barrels (175 million liters) of oil from Alberta's tar sands.  

The list of 256 rivers and 69 municipalities is available here. [1]

Application relating to Project Energy East. Volume 6: Maps, 2014 [2] Energy East Pipeline Project – Volume 2: Assessment of biophysical effects – Part D: Quebec – Section 4: Surface water resources

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Read the full press release

Photo: Daniel Acker, Bloomberg Archive

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Traversées des rivières par le projet Oléoduc Énergie Est : une liste complète des rivières menacées est maintenant disponible et l’Ordre des ingénieurs est appelé à intervenir

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 12 juin 2015 – Le projet Énergie Est de TransCanada traverserait 70 rivières, 185 ruisseaux et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, pour un total de 256 cours d’eau.  Cette liste, ainsi que celle des 69 municipalités touchées et des 17 organismes de bassins versants impliqués, a été produite à partir des cartes et informations détaillées présentées sur le site de la Commission de la protection du territoire agricole du Québec (CPTAQ) au www.cptaq.gouv.qc.ca. Cet inventaire complet est maintenant disponible à tous.

Le site de la CPTAQ présente, dans la section TransCanada Pipelines – Projet Oléoduc Énergie Est, de nombreux détails sur les territoires agricoles touchés, ainsi que la liste des municipalités avec les informations pour chacune d’entre-elles, démontrant ainsi que le dossier avance de ce côté. On y trouve de nombreux détails : noms et adresses des propriétaires affectés, superficies des terrains, résolutions des municipalités et des MRC statuant sur le projet, etc. Il s’agit d’une mine d’informations pour les citoyens et organisations à la recherche d’informations locales.

La Fondation Rivières a pour sa part interpellé l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec afin qu’il se penche sur la qualité du rapport produit en mars 2015 par la firme Golder Associates Ltd au sujet  des risques hydrotechniques. Seuls des ingénieurs reconnus par l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec sont habiletés à produire de tels rapports d’expertise. Or, les auteurs cités ne sont pas membres de l’Ordre et plusieurs autres rapports apparaissent non-conformes aux exigences québécoises. La Fondation a incidemment remarqué l’absence d’informations quant aux risques de rupture de barrages et d’érosion pouvant être causée par les travaux, ainsi que l’utilisation de crues millénaires au lieu de centenaires, comme maintenant souvent considérées avec les changements climatiques.

D’autre part, l’annonce faite le 8 juin par le ministre Heurtel de mandater le Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement d’évaluer le projet en vertu de l’article 6.3 n’est qu’un écran de fumée, car il ne s’agit que de consultations et le gouvernement renonce ainsi à ses pouvoirs de contrôle sur le projet :

6.3. Le Bureau a pour fonctions d’enquêter sur toute question relative à la qualité de l’environnement que lui soumet le ministre et de faire rapport à ce dernier de ses constatations ainsi que de l’analyse qu’il en a faite.

Le mandat aurait dû être donné en vertu de l’article 31.1 qui exige que la procédure d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement soit suivie et qui prévoit que le gouvernement du Québec attribue un certificat d’autorisation avant le début des travaux :

 31.1. Nul ne peut entreprendre une construction, un ouvrage, une activité ou une exploitation ou exécuter des travaux suivant un plan ou un programme, dans les cas prévus par règlement du gouvernement, sans suivre la procédure d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement prévue dans la présente section et obtenir un certificat d’autorisation du gouvernement.

On comprend que le BAPE ne servira que d’outil consultatif pour que le gouvernement du Québec élabore une opinion face à l’Office national de l’énergie fédérale. Québec abdique ainsi de ses pleines compétences sur plusieurs enjeux environnementaux.

Or, « les enjeux liés aux constructions en rivière sont multiples et des mesures de sécurité exceptionnelles s’imposent compte tenu des risques et des conséquences qu’aurait un bris de conduite » indique Geneviève Marquis, vice-présidente de la Fondation Rivières, spécialiste en hydrologie et dynamiques sédimentaire et morphologique des cours d’eau. « Un BAPE dûment mandaté dans le cadre de la procédure réglementaire d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement aurait obligé le promoteur à soumettre ses méthodes de construction, répondre aux questions du public et améliorer la prise de décision du gouvernement québécois quant aux méthodes de construction à être utilisées » précise-t-elle.

La Fondation Rivières a complété les informations manquantes sur le site de la CPTAQ à partir des cartes fournies par TransCanada[1]. La liste de la Fondation Rivières ne comptabilise pas les cours d’eau intermittents (notamment les fossés), de sorte que le nombre total de cours d’eau franchis est inférieur à celui annoncé par TransCanada Pipelines.

L’oléoduc Énergie Est, traverserait le Québec sur plus de 700 kilomètres pour transporter 1,1 million de barils (175 million de litres) de pétrole issu des sables bitumineux albertains.  

La liste des 256 cours d’eau et des 69 municipalités est disponible ici. [1]

Demande relative au Project Énergie Est. Volume 6 : Cartes, 2014 [2] Projet Oléoduc Énergie Est – Volume 2: Évaluation des effets biophysiques – Partie D : Québec – Section 4: Ressources en eau de surface

-30-

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Pour lire le communiqué complet

Photo : Daniel Acker, Archives Bloomberg

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser