Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Water quality of the Châteauguay River: a study reveals that swimming is possible!

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal February 17, 2022 – Fondation Rivières and the Society for the conservation and development of watersheds in the Châteauguay area (SCABRIC) make public the results of an unprecedented study on the swimming potential in the Châteauguay River. This study reveals that, contrary to popular belief, the water of the Châteauguay River is perfectly suitable for swimming. 

THEyouude allows conclude that: 

  • In dry weather, the bacteriological quality of the water in the Châteauguay River is generally very good, even excellent in certain places;
  • Only the sector downstream of the river (City of Châteauguay) seems to present a risk of contamination in dry weather, therefore during the summer.

For three months last summer, the two organizations ensured continuous monitoring of water quality on nearly 55 km of river by evaluating 10 potential swimming sites with the support of the municipalities of Châteauguay, Mercier, Sainte -Martine, Howick, Ormstown, Dewittville and Huntingdon.

The general director of Fondation Rivières, Mr. André Bélanger, is not surprised by the results of the study. “Citizens tend to associate brown water with pollution when this is not necessarily the case. In 2020, it was demonstrated that the water in the L'Assomption River was of good quality for swimming. Today, the City operates an extremely popular public beach there in complete safety.”

The general director of SCABRIC, Mr. Félix Blackburn, hopes that this study will serve as an inspiration to other riverside municipalities elsewhere in Quebec: “It is a model of collaboration at the watershed scale. Almost all the municipalities along the river collaborated on the project and we are particularly proud of it.”

The project

Fondation Rivières carried out hybrid monitoring of the water quality of the river, using both traditional analyzes ofE.coli in the laboratory and a new rapid analysis technology, the ColiMinder. The device can detect in 15 minutes the presence ofE.coli in water by enzymatic analysis and to automate monitoring by allowing sampling at a high frequency and access to the results via an online platform. This hybrid monitoring methodology, coupled with intensive field work, made it possible to draw up a portrait of the bacteriological quality of the water over 55 km of the river. Water quality monitoring was carried out for twelve weeks between July and September 2021.

About Fondation Rivières

For 20 years, Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water for the Quebec population, taking into account social and environmental dimensions. and economic. She carries out studies on bacteriological quality for different municipalities, including L'Assomption, Saint-Jérôme and Montreal.

About SCABRIC

The Châteauguay Zone Watershed Conservation and Development Society (SCABRIC) is a non-profit organization incorporated in 1993 which is dedicated to improving the quality of water and soil in the Châteauguay Zone basins. . Its mandate is to ensure the implementation of integrated water management by watershed (GIEBV) in the territory.

- 30 -

Documents to consult :
Full study report

For informations :

Christian Généreux
Responsible for communications, development and mobilization
514 272-2666, ext. 302
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Photo: Christophe Gravel


Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Qualité de l’eau de la rivière Châteauguay : une étude révèle que la baignade est possible!

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal le 17 février 2022 – Fondation Rivières et la Société de conservation et d’aménagement des bassins versants de la zone Châteauguay (SCABRIC) rendent publics les résultats d’une étude inédite sur le potentiel de baignade dans la rivière Châteauguay. Cette étude révèle que, contrairement à la croyance populaire, l’eau de la rivière Châteauguay est tout à fait adaptée à la baignade. 

L’étude permet de conclure que : 

  • Par temps sec, la qualité bactériologique de l’eau de la rivière Châteauguay est généralement très bonne, voire même excellente à certains endroits;
  • Seul le secteur en aval de la rivière (Ville de Châteauguay) semble présenter un risque de contamination par temps sec, donc durant l’été.

Durant trois mois l’été dernier, les deux organisations ont assuré un suivi en continu de la qualité de l’eau sur près de 55 km de rivière en évaluant 10 sites potentiels de baignade avec l’appui des municipalités de Châteauguay, Mercier, Sainte-Martine, Howick, Ormstown, Dewittville et Huntingdon.

Le directeur général de Fondation Rivières, M. André Bélanger, n’est pas surpris des résultats de l’étude. « Les citoyens ont tendance à associer eau brune et pollution alors que ce n’est pas nécessairement le cas. En 2020, on avait démontré que l’eau de la rivière L’Assomption était de bonne qualité pour la baignade. Aujourd’hui, la Ville y opère une plage publique extrêmement populaire et ce, en toute sécurité ».

Le directeur général de la SCABRIC, M. Félix Blackburn, espère que cette étude servira d’inspiration à d’autres municipalités riveraines ailleurs au Québec : « C’est un modèle de collaboration à l’échelle du bassin versant. Presque toutes les municipalités en bordure de la rivière ont collaboré au projet et nous en sommes particulièrement fiers ».

Le projet

Fondation Rivières a procédé à une surveillance hybride de la qualité de l’eau de la rivière, en recourant à la fois aux analyses traditionnelles d’E. coli en laboratoire et à une nouvelle technologie d’analyse rapide, le ColiMinder. L’appareil permet de détecter en 15 minutes la présence d’E. coli dans l’eau par analyse enzymatique et d’automatiser le suivi en permettant d’échantillonner à une fréquence élevée et d’avoir accès aux résultats via une plateforme en ligne. Cette méthodologie de surveillance hybride, couplée à un travail de terrain intensif, a permis de dresser un portrait de la qualité bactériologique de l’eau sur 55 km de la rivière. Le suivi de la qualité de l’eau a été effectué pendant douze semaines entre juillet et septembre 2021.

À propos de Fondation Rivières

Depuis 20 ans, Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières et contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise, en tenant compte des dimensions sociales, environnementales et économiques. Elle réalise des études sur la qualité bactériologique pour différentes municipalités, dont L’Assomption, Saint-Jérôme et Montréal.

À propos de la SCABRIC

La Société de conservation et d’aménagement des bassins versants de la zone Châteauguay (SCABRIC) est un organisme sans but lucratif incorporé en 1993 qui est voué à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau et des sols des bassins de la Zone Châteauguay. Elle a pour mandat de veiller à la mise en œuvre de la gestion intégrée de l’eau par bassin versant (GIEBV) sur le territoire.

– 30 –

Documents à consulter :
Rapport complet de l’étude

Pour informations :

Christian Généreux
Responsable aux communications, au développement et à la mobilisation
514 272-2666, poste 302
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Crédit photo : Christophe Gravel / CC

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser