La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

River water quality: when megapig farms get involved

Rivière Batiscan - crédit : Gilles Douaire / CC

The proposed construction of a megapiggery in Saint-Adelphe, in Mauricie, raises concerns about the consequences on the water quality of the Batiscan River and surrounding waterways. Although construction was paused on January 31, the battle is not yet won.

Phosphorus, harmful to waterways

The spreading of pig slurry, from megapig farms, has a real impact on the health of rivers. How? Contamination occurs when nutrients, including phosphorus, nitrogen, nitrate and pesticides, are carried by runoff into waterways. Discharges of contaminants of agricultural origin thus cause their eutrophication, the equivalent of premature aging, then the destruction of aquatic ecosystems. 
Stéphane Campeau, specialist in Watershed and aquatic systems at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières, recalls in a article appeared in The duty that phosphorus concentrations in watercourses should not be increased. The specialist estimates that it is “two to three times too high, or often ten times too high in spring” in small rivers.

The referee who refuses to referee

That said, the issue is not only environmental, but also legislative. Since the construction of a pigsty of 4,000 or more pigs would trigger a Public Hearing Office on the Environment (BAPE), and the developer plans to divide its facilities into three pigsties of 3,999 pigs each, it is obvious that the -this is trying to circumvent the rules of the game. 

The good news is that the Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) has the power to curb such tricks thanks to section 31.1.1 of the Environmental Quality Act , as Louis-Gilles Francoeur and Michel Bélanger recall in The duty. This is what they demanded Emergency Water and Fondation Rivières at the MELCC, whose voices were added to those of the citizen group Towards a green valley as well as other organizations and experts in a open letter January 27. 

Unfortunately, the answer of the minister is clear: he does not intend to use his discretionary power in this matter.

Review the rules of the game

The megapig farm project thus highlights shortcomings in terms of granting authorizations. For Fondation Rivières here are some other possible solutions:

1. Require a study of phosphorus discharges

The MELCC does not currently require any detailed analysis of phosphorus releases into the environment. Before authorizing such a project, it is important that such a study be carried out, and made public, in order to know the surpluses which are likely to end up in rivers or the water table. 

2. Consider cumulative effects

Currently, other sources of pollution already present in a territory are not properly taken into account when authorizing a project. Any ecosystem has a limited capacity to provide us with resources, whether it is quality water or fertile soil. The authorization of a new project must take this limit into account in order to ensure that the vitality of our waterways and the prosperity of our agricultural fields are preserved.

3. More transparency

The current authorization procedure does not provide for any access to information and documents prepared by promoters. A simple information evening alone cannot achieve social acceptability. The documentation must be made accessible as well as the analysis of the MELCC in order to know the commitments and expectations of the stakeholders. Currently, citizens are faced with the facts once the authorization is issued.

A small victory… temporary 

Remember that although the promoter of the Saint-Adelphe megapig farm has, on his own initiative, asked to postpone his construction permit application, he is not abandoning the project. The game is not over: it remains to be seen whether it will continue with fair rules for the citizens and natural resources of Quebec. that's why Fondation Rivières requests that the BAPE be mandated to identify all aspects that must be taken into account in such cases

 

For further : Specialists call for an overhaul of the agricultural system

 

Photo credit : Gilles Doaire / CC

 

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Qualité de l’eau des rivières : quand les porcheries se mettent de la partie

Rivière Batiscan - crédit : Gilles Douaire / CC

Le projet de construction d’une mégaporcherie à Saint-Adelphe, en Mauricie, soulève des inquiétudes quant aux conséquences sur la qualité de l’eau de la rivière Batiscan et des cours d’eau environnants. Si la construction a été mise sur pause le 31 janvier, la bataille n’est pas gagnée pour autant.

Le phosphore, néfaste pour les cours d’eau

L’épandage de lisier de porc, issu des mégaporcheries, a un impact réel sur la santé des rivières. Comment? La contamination se produit lorsque des nutriments, dont le phosphore, l’azote, le nitrate et les pesticides, sont acheminés par ruissellement vers les cours d’eau. Les rejets de contaminants d’origine agricole causent ainsi leur eutrophisation, l’équivalent d’un vieillissement prématuré, puis la destruction des écosystèmes aquatiques. 
Stéphane Campeau, spécialiste des bassins versants et des systèmes aquatiques à l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, rappelle dans un article paru dans Le Devoir qu’il ne faut pas augmenter les concentrations de phosphore dans les cours d’eau. Le spécialiste estime qu’il est « de deux à trois fois trop élevé, voire souvent dix fois trop élevé au printemps » dans les petits cours d’eau.

L’arbitre qui refuse d’arbitrer

Cela dit, l’enjeu n’est pas que d’ordre environnemental, mais aussi législatif. Puisque la construction d’une porcherie de 4 000 porcs et plus déclencherait un Bureau d’audience publique sur l’environnement (BAPE), et que le promoteur prévoit diviser ses installations en trois porcheries de 3 999 porcs chacune, il est évident que celui-ci tente de contourner les règles du jeu. 

La bonne nouvelle, c’est que le ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) a le pouvoir de freiner de telles ruses grâce à l’article 31.1.1 de Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement, comme le rappellent Louis-Gilles Francoeur et Michel Bélanger dans Le Devoir. C’est ce qu’ont réclamé Eau Secours et Fondation Rivières au MELCC, dont les voix se sont ajoutées à celles du regroupement citoyen Vers un val vert ainsi que d’autres organismes et experts dans une lettre ouverte le 27 janvier. 

Malheureusement, la réponse du ministre est claire : il n’entend pas utiliser son pouvoir discrétionnaire dans ce dossier.

Revoir les règles du jeu

Le projet de mégaporcherie met ainsi en relief des lacunes en matière d’attribution d’autorisations. Pour Fondation Rivières voici quelques autres pistes de solutions envisageables :

1. Exiger une étude des rejets en phosphore

Le MELCC n’exige présentement aucune analyse détaillée des rejets en phosphore dans l’environnement. Avant d’autoriser un tel projet, il importe qu’une telle étude soit réalisée, et rendue publique, afin de connaître les surplus qui risquent de se retrouver dans les rivières ou la nappe phréatique. 

2. Prendre en compte les effets cumulatifs

Présentement, les autres sources de pollution déjà présentes sur un territoire ne sont pas bien prises en compte lors de l’autorisation d’un projet. Tout écosystème a une capacité limitée à nous fournir des ressources, que ce soit de l’eau de qualité ou des sols fertiles. L’autorisation d’un nouveau projet doit prendre en compte cette limite afin de s’assurer de préserver la vitalité de nos cours d’eau et de la prospérité de nos champs agricoles.

3. Plus de transparence

La procédure d’autorisation actuelle ne prévoit aucun accès à l’information et aux documents préparés par les promoteurs. Une simple soirée d’information ne peut à elle seule permettre d’obtenir une acceptabilité sociale. Il faut que la documentation soit rendue accessible de même que l’analyse du MELCC afin de connaître les engagements et attentes des intervenants. Actuellement, les citoyens sont mis devant les faits une fois l’autorisation émise.

Une petite victoire… temporaire 

Rappelons que si le promoteur de la mégaporcherie de Saint-Adelphe a, de son propre chef, demandé de reporter sa demande de permis de construction, il n’abandonne pas le projet pour autant. La partie n’est pas terminée : reste à voir si elle se poursuivra avec des règles justes pour les citoyens et les ressources naturelles du Québec. Voilà pourquoi Fondation Rivières demande que le BAPE soit mandaté pour identifier tous les aspects devant être pris en compte dans de tels dossiers. 

Pour aller plus loin : Des spécialistes plaident pour une refonte du système agricole

Crédit photo : Gilles Douaire / CC