La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Water pollution: a new service for detecting sources of contamination for watercourses is now available

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, November 22, 2019 – The Fondation Rivières and the Water Technology Center (CTE) join forces to offer a service for researching sources of water pollution in lakes and rivers, as well as scientific and administrative support for the identification of necessary corrective actions. This service will be aimed at watershed organizations, regional county municipalities, municipalities and citizen groups.

One of the exclusive services offered as part of this partnership is the screening of fecal contamination by studying the spatial variation of water quality from downstream to upstream of rivers. Whether to detect untreated sanitary wastewater discharges, non-compliant septic installations, reverse connections in sewer networks or discharges of agricultural origin, this approach makes it possible to locate and evaluate the magnitude of sources of pollution in water environments. Continuous monitoring will also be offered.

The assessment of contamination risks, the preparation and carrying out of field sampling campaigns are all important steps in establishing a diagnosis and ensuring good control of the quality of water affecting the different uses: taking measurements water, swimming, water activities, aquatic life, etc. The lack of time, human and material resources or technical knowledge currently constitute obstacles to the acquisition of the knowledge necessary for decision-making.

“It seems important to us to offer, with the CTE, additional support expertise to organizations wishing to improve the quality of our water. This new alliance offers independent expertise which will fill a need repeatedly stated by groups of citizens keen to have the correct information regarding the quality of their water body, but above all to identify the courses of action which are essential” explains Alain Saladzius, president of Fondation Rivières. “This agreement will now allow Fondation Rivières to support water stakeholders on the ground. The partnership with the CTE establishes a solid foundation for this purpose,” he emphasizes.

“The CTE is pleased to partner with Fondation Rivières to offer its researchers and professionals new opportunities to put into practice the multitude of knowledge in the water sector, including cutting-edge expertise in contamination detection in streams. It is natural for the two organizations to join forces. The mission of the Fondation Rivières aligns with that of the CTE, and our shared knowledge in the field of municipal wastewater will make it possible to contribute to research,” says Édith Laflamme, general director of the Water Technologies Center.

The expertise service is offered for both surface water and well water. Whether for one-off or continuous sampling, for both physicochemical and microbiological parameters, the work team will be able to establish an action plan to obtain relevant data and provide reports clearly presenting the results obtained. , the findings made and possible corrective actions to the problems identified.

- 30 -

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Edith Laflamme
Executive Director
514 216-4475
edlaflamme@cteau.com

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Pollution des eaux : un nouveau service de détection des sources de contamination pour les cours d’eau est maintenant disponible

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 22 novembre 2019 – La Fondation Rivières et le Centre des technologies de l’eau (CTE) s’associent afin d’offrir un service de recherche de sources de pollution de l’eau dans les lacs et rivières, ainsi qu’un accompagnement scientifique et administratif pour l’identification des actions correctives nécessaires. Ce service s’adressera aux organismes de bassin versant, aux Municipalités régionales de comté, aux municipalités et aux groupes de citoyens.

Un des services exclusifs offerts dans le cadre de ce partenariat est le dépistage de contaminations fécales par l’étude de la variation spatiale de la qualité de l’eau de l’aval vers l’amont des cours d’eau. Que ce soit pour dépister des rejets d’eaux usées sanitaires non-traités, des installations septiques non conformes, des raccordements inversés dans les réseaux d’égouts ou des rejets d’origine agricole, cette approche permet de localiser et d’évaluer l’ampleur des sources de pollution dans des milieux hydriques. Une surveillance en continu sera également offerte.

L’évaluation des risques de contamination, la préparation et la réalisation de campagnes d’échantillonnage sur le terrain s’avèrent autant d’étapes importantes pour établir un diagnostic et assurer un bon contrôle de la qualité des eaux affectant les différents usages : prises d’eau, baignade, activités nautiques, vie aquatique, etc. Le manque de temps, de ressources humaines et matérielles ou de connaissances techniques constituent actuellement des freins à l’acquisition des connaissances nécessaires à la prise de décisions.

« Il nous apparaît important d’offrir, avec le CTE, une expertise supplémentaire d’accompagnement aux organisations désireuses d’améliorer la qualité de nos eaux. Cette nouvelle alliance offre une expertise indépendante qui viendra combler un besoin maintes fois énoncé par les groupes de citoyens soucieux d’avoir l’heure juste quant à la qualité de leur plan d’eau, mais surtout d’identifier les pistes d’action qui s’imposent » d’expliquer Alain Saladzius, président de la Fondation Rivières. « Cette entente permettra maintenant à la Fondation Rivières d’accompagner les acteurs de l’eau sur le terrain. Le partenariat avec le CTE établit une base solide à cette fin » souligne-t-il.

« Le CTE est heureux de s’associer avec la Fondation Rivières afin d’offrir à ses chercheurs et professionnels de nouvelles opportunités pour mettre en pratique la multitude de connaissances dans le secteur de l’eau, dont l’expertise pointue en détection de contamination dans les cours d’eau. Il est naturel que les deux organismes s’associent. La mission de la Fondation Rivières rejoint celle du CTE, et nos connaissances mises en commun dans le domaine des eaux usées municipales permettront de contribuer aux recherches » affirme Édith Laflamme, directrice générale du Centre des technologies de l’eau.

Le service d’expertise est offert autant pour les eaux de surfce que les eaux de puits. Que ce soit pour un échantillonnage ponctuel ou continu, tant pour des paramètres physico-chimiques que microbiologiques, l’équipe de travail sera en mesure d’établir un plan d’action pour obtenir des données pertinentes et fournir des rapports présentant clairement les résultats obtenus, les constats réalisés et les pistes d’actions correctives aux problèmes identifiés.

– 30 –

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Édith Laflamme
Directrice générale
514 216-4475
edlaflamme@cteau.com

Étiquettes

Nos récents communiqués

Pour aller plus loin

Contribuez à la protection des rivières du Québec

En plus de soutenir notre équipe à protéger les rivières, votre don vous donne droit à un reçu de charité pour vos impôts.

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec