La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to Hydro-Québec: Sale of heritage land along the Red River

Rivière Rouge

Montreal, April 3, 2019
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL

Mr. Eric Martel
President and CEO
Hydro-Quebec
75, boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest
Montreal, Qc H2Z 1A4

Subject: Sale of heritage land along the Red River

Mr Chairman and CEO,

It is our opinion that Hydro-Québec has a social responsibility towards the conservation of the last virgin rivers of Quebec. These rivers constitute a water heritage of inestimable value that must be preserved for all the services they provide us in their natural state: sources of drinking water; habitats for countless fauna and flora species, drivers of various economic and recreational activities, vacation spots and places of rejuvenation par excellence.

The information that Hydro-Québec wishes to sell its land bordering the Rouge River1, over a distance of some six kilometers, to the highest bidder, dismays us. This sale would have the consequence of altering a still virgin natural environment and, more directly, of depriving the Montreal region of an exceptional environmental environment. Even more directly, some 130 jobs at two rafting companies are directly affected because they risk being deprived of access to the banks of the Red River, essential to maintaining their activities. But more fundamentally, it is the attraction of the Red River with its rafting experience in a natural environment, which attracts more than 20,000 people annually, which is threatened. This river is one of the only large rivers that is still in its natural state and relatively accessible to the Montreal population. The sale of your land will affect a recreational setting of exceptional renown, a great loss for the population of Quebec and the economy of the MRC d'Argenteuil.

The Québec Aventure Plein Air class website the Red River in 3rd position in its Top 10 rivers in Quebec. The Trip Advisor Canada site ranks the two rafting companies on the Red River in 6th and 8th position among the 19 places offering outdoor rafting and tubing activities in Quebec.

Such characteristics are valuable for Quebec. In France, millions of travelers visit cathedrals. In Quebec, it is our extremely rare falls and rivers still in a natural setting that constitute an increasingly sought-after attraction. These are particularly inspiring powers of water for those who approach them. These falls and these rivers are, in our eyes, veritable cathedrals of water. We must protect them.

We are convinced that you understand the meaning of our message. We therefore urge you to create the conditions, particularly with the government, which could enable the preservation of this exceptional land. Hydro-Québec must protect the rare sites that constitute exceptional heritage. We remain fully available to contribute to the development of a policy focused on the development of your numerous waterfront lands.

Thanking you for your attention to this letter, please accept, Mr. Chairman and CEO, the expression of our cordial greetings.

Alain Saladzius, FIC, Eng.
President, Fondation Rivières

Paul Piché
Singer-songwriter, Godfather of the Red River

cc: Mr. François Legault, Prime Minister
Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change

Photo: Karlos Gibeault, Wikimedia Commons

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Lettre à Hydro-Québec : Vente d’un terrain patrimonial en bordure de la rivière Rouge

Rivière Rouge

Montréal, le 3 avril 2019
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Éric Martel
Président-directeur général
Hydro-Québec
75, boulevard René-Lévesque Ouest
Montréal, Qc H2Z 1A4

Objet : Vente d’un terrain patrimonial en bordure de la rivière Rouge

Monsieur le Président-directeur général,

Il est de notre avis qu’Hydro-Québec a une responsabilité sociale face à la conservation des dernières rivières vierges du Québec. Ces rivières constituent un patrimoine hydrique d’une valeur inestimable qu’il faut préserver pour tous les services qu’elles nous rendent à l’état naturel : sources d’eau potable; habitats pour d’innombrables espèces fauniques et floristiques, moteurs d’activités économiques et récréatives diverses, lieux de villégiature et de ressourcement par excellence.

L’information à l’effet qu’Hydro-Québec souhaite vendre au plus offrant son terrain bordant la rivière Rouge1, sur une distance de quelques six kilomètres, nous consterne. Cette vente aurait pour conséquence d’altérer un milieu naturel encore vierge et, plus directement, de priver la région Montréalaise d’un milieu environnemental exceptionnel. Encore plus directement, quelque 130 emplois de deux entreprises de rafting sont directement affectés car elles risquent d’être privées d’accès aux berges de la rivière Rouge, essentielles au maintien de leurs activités. Mais plus fondamentalement, c’est l’attrait de la rivière Rouge avec son expérience de rafting en milieu naturel, qui attire annuellement plus de 20 000 personnes, qui est menacé. Cette rivière est l’une des seules grandes rivières qui soit encore à l’état naturel et relativement accessible à la population Montréalaise. La vente de vos terrains affectera un cadre récréatif d’une exceptionnelle renommée, une grande perte pour la population du Québec et l’économie de la MRC d’Argenteuil.

Le site Québec Aventure Plein Air classe la rivière Rouge en 3e position dans son Top 10 des rivières au Québec. Le site Trip Advisor Canada classe les deux entreprises de rafting sur la rivière Rouge en 6e et 8e position parmi les 19 endroits offrant des activités en plein air de rafting et tubing au Québec.

De telles caractéristiques sont précieuses pour le Québec. En France, des millions de voyageurs visitent les cathédrales. Au Québec, ce sont nos rarissimes chutes et rivières encore dans un cadre naturel qui constituent une attraction de plus en plus recherchée. Ce sont des puissances d’eau particulièrement inspirantes pour ceux et celles qui s’en approchent. Ces chutes et ces rivières sont, à nos yeux, de véritables cathédrales d’eau. Il faut les protéger.

Nous sommes convaincus que vous comprenez le sens de notre message. Nous vous enjoignons conséquemment à réunir les conditions, notamment auprès du gouvernement, qui pourraient permettre la sauvegarde de ce terrain exceptionnel. Hydro-Québec doit protéger les rares sites qui constituent un patrimoine exceptionnel. Nous demeurons entièrement disponibles pour contribuer à l’élaboration d’une politique axée sur la mise en valeur de vos nombreux terrains riverains.

En vous remerciant de l’attention que vous porterez à la présente, veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Président-directeur général, l’expression de nos cordiales salutations.

Alain Saladzius, FIC, ing.
Président, Fondation Rivières

Paul Piché
Auteur-compositeur-interprète, Parrain de la rivière Rouge

cc : Monsieur François Legault, Premier ministre
Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques

Photo : Karlos Gibeault, Wikimedia Commons

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.