La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change: Environment-Beach Program

Unsplash - eau générique

Montreal, April 11, 2019
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister
Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change
Marie-Guyart Building
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 5V7

Subject: Environment-Beach Program

Minister,

The Environment-Beach Program aims to inform the public about the bacteriological quality of bathing water on a voluntary basis, which allows some to avoid any control. It has numerous flaws that endanger the safety of users who cannot access an adequate assessment of water quality. A Radio-Canada report broadcast in 2014 summarizes certain aspects of the case well. It is important to correct this situation which persists. We offer you pragmatic improvements. 

Firstly, this Program is based solely on the results of bacteriological analyzes which, due to laboratory analysis delays, are systematically out of date by several days after taking the samples. The same goes for the reopening of beaches, the waters of which could potentially have become contaminated again during the analysis times! Second, the frequency of sampling only every 2 to 5 weeks adds to the danger. In fact, the ratings assigned (A, B, C or D) to the bacteriological quality of the water should never be considered valid at the time of the visit to the beach, because the analyzes are a few days old. However, the wording of the Environnement-Plage website indicates that the Program aims to “ allow the population to enjoy these places, fully and peacefully ". This wording induces a false sense of security and it should be revised to reflect the limitations of the Program.

There are now technologies that allow bacteriological analyzes to be carried out much more quickly than the current method, between 15 minutes and a few hours rather than the usual 24-72 hours. Unfortunately these are still not considered in the regulations. The authorities (INSPQ, DSP, MELCC) are slow to develop new approaches that would more effectively control the risk factors for swimming.

One of these would consist of following the recommendation proposed by Health Canada, there USEPA. and theWHO, which requires operators to carry out a Environmental safety and health survey before each swimming season. Such evaluations take into account in particular the presence of overflow structures upstream, the history of contamination, use by animals, the presence or absence of a warning system during overflows, etc. and would allow:

  • to identify the fundamental characteristics of recreational waters;
  • to detect any possible source of fecal contamination;
  • to highlight any other potential danger to water quality, whether physical, chemical or biological in nature;
  • evaluate the effectiveness of monitoring programs and risk management measures in force.

Such indicators additional should be introduced into the Environment-Beach Program in order to better assess risks and ensure safer monitoring for the public.

Wastewater overflows are among the sources of pollution which affect the bacteriological quality of bathing water. We know that their total number in Quebec was 62,000 in 2017 while there were 43,000 in 2013. However, it is possible to alert users threatened by contamination, as the city of Kingston in Ontario which deployed an immediate alert system during overflows using telemetry devices. Preventive beach closures could then be made to reduce the risks. Municipalities should be systematically required to notify downstream users of any wastewater overflow.

Finally, the voluntary nature of the program raises important questions. Articles 83 of the Environmental Quality Act and 53 of Regulations on safety in public baths However, both mention the obligation for the operator to close a bathing place if a threat to public health is noted. However, there is no regulatory clause in these two documents concerning water quality. A beach can thus be opened without monitoring of bacteriological quality ever being carried out. Operators can also choose, at any time, to cease their participation in the Program if the bacteriological quality is doubtful and they do not wish to have bad press. This is how the number of beaches participating in the Program increased from 513 beaches in 1991 to 242 in 2018. Important beaches such as those in the city of Longueuil and Trois-Rivières, although located in risky areas, are not not participate in the Program. A new, improved Beach Environment Program should be mandatory for all public beaches.

The current Program therefore appears of little use because of its very limited effectiveness in preventing public exposure to potentially contaminated bathing water, as well as its analysis times which are too long and costly for the Ministry. A new Program should apply to all beaches and not just new ones, such as that of Verdun, which is one of the only ones that has had to meet specific requirements from the Public Health Department. 

We remain available for any collaboration you may wish in this matter. Please accept, Mr. Minister, the expression of our distinguished feelings.

Alain Saladzius, FIC, Eng.,
President, Fondation Rivières

Photo: Anastasios Agathangelou/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques : Programme Environnement-Plage

Montréal, le 11 avril 2019
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre
Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Édifice Marie-Guyart
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7

Objet : Programme Envrionnement-Plage

Monsieur le Ministre,

Le Programme Environnement-Plage vise à informer le public sur la qualité bactériologique des eaux de baignade et ce, sur une base volontaire, ce qui permet à certains d’éviter tout contrôle. Il comporte de nombreuses failles qui mettent en péril la sécurité des usagers qui ne peuvent avoir accès à une évaluation adéquate de la qualité de l’eau. Un reportage de Radio-Canada diffusé en 2014 résume bien certains aspects du dossier. Il importe de corriger cette situation qui perdure. Nous vous proposons des améliorations pragmatiques. 

En premier lieu, ce Programme se base uniquement sur des résultats d’analyses bactériologiques qui, à cause des délais d’analyses en laboratoire, sont systématiquement périmées de plusieurs jours après la prise des échantillons. Il en va de même pour les réouvertures de plages, dont les eaux pourraient potentiellement être redevenues contaminées durant les délais d’analyse! Deuxièmement, la fréquence d’échantillonnage aux 2 à 5 semaines seulement ajoute au danger. En fait, les cotes attribuées (A, B, C ou D) à la qualité bactériologique de l’eau ne doivent jamais être considérées comme étant valable au moment de la visite à la plage, car les analyses datent de quelques jours. Or, le libellé du site internet d’Environnement-Plage indique que le Programme vise à « permettre à la population de profiter de ces lieux, pleinement et en toute quiétude ». Ce libellé induit un faux sentiment de sécurité et il devrait être révisé afin de refléter les limites du Programme.

Il existe maintenant des technologies permettant de faire des analyses bactériologiques beaucoup plus rapidement que la méthode actuelle, soit entre 15 minutes et quelques heures plutôt que les 24-72 heures usuels. Malheureusement celles-ci ne sont toujours pas considérées dans la réglementation. Les autorités (INSPQ, DSP, MELCC) tardent à développer les nouvelles approches qui encadreraient plus efficacement les facteurs de risques pour la baignade.

Une de celles-ci consisterait à suivre la recommandation proposée par Santé Canada, la U.S. E.P.A. et l’OMS, qui prescrit que les exploitants mènent une Enquête relative à la sécurité et à l’hygiène du milieu avant chaque saison de baignade. De telles évaluations tiennent notamment compte de la présence d’ouvrages de surverses en amont, de l’historique de la contamination, de la fréquentation par des animaux, de la présence ou non d’un système d’alerte lors de surverses, etc. et permettraient :

  • de recenser les caractéristiques fondamentales des eaux récréatives;
  • de détecter toute source possible de contamination fécale;
  • de mettre en évidence tout autre danger potentiel pour la qualité de l’eau, qu’il soit de nature physique, chimique ou biologique;
  • d’évaluer l’efficacité des programmes de surveillance et des mesures de gestion des risques en vigueur.

De tels indicateurs supplémentaires devraient être introduits au Programme Environnement-Plage afin de mieux évaluer les risques et assurer un suivi plus sécuritaire pour le public.

Les débordements d’eaux usées figurent parmi les sources de pollution qui affectent la qualité bactériologique des eaux de baignade. On sait que leur nombre total au Québec fut de 62 000 en 2017 alors qu’on en dénombrait 43 000 en 2013. Or, il est possible d’alerter les usagers menacés par une contamination, comme le fait la ville de Kingston en Ontario qui a déployé un système d’alerte immédiate lors de débordements à l’aide d’appareils de télémétrie. Des fermetures préventives de plages pourraient alors être faites pour réduire les risques. Les municipalités devraient être systématiquement tenues d’aviser les usagers en aval lors de tout débordement d’eaux usées.

Enfin, le caractère volontaire du programme soulève d’importants questionnements. Les articles 83 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement et 53 du Règlement sur la sécurité dans les bains publics mentionnent pourtant tous deux l’obligation pour l’exploitant de fermer un lieu de baignade si une menace pour la santé publique est constatée. Or, il n’existe dans ces deux documents aucune clause règlementaire concernant la qualité de l’eau. Une plage peut ainsi être ouverte sans qu’un suivi de la qualité bactériologique n’y soit jamais réalisé. Des exploitants peuvent aussi choisir, à tout moment, de cesser leur participation dans le Programme si la qualité bactériologique est douteuse et qu’ils ne souhaitent pas avoir mauvaise presse. C’est ainsi que le nombre de plages participant au Programme est passé de 513 plages en 1991 à 242 en 2018. D’importantes plages telles celles de la ville de Longueuil et de Trois-Rivières, pourtant situées dans des secteurs à risques, ne participent pas au Programme. Un nouveau Programme Environnement-Plage, amélioré, devrait être obligatoire pour l’ensemble des plages publiques.

Le Programme actuel apparaît donc peu utile à cause de son efficacité très limitée à prévenir l’exposition du public à des eaux de baignade potentiellement contaminées, tout comme ses délais d’analyse trop longs et coûteux pour le Ministère. Un nouveau Programme devrait s’appliquer à toutes les plages et non seulement aux nouvelles, telles celle de Verdun, qui est une des seules ayant dû répondre à des exigences spécifiques de la Direction de la santé publique. 

Nous demeurons disponibles pour toute collaboration que vous pourriez souhaiter dans ce dossier.  Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de nos sentiments distingués.

Alain Saladzius, FIC, ing.,
Président, Fondation Rivières

Photo : Anastasios Agathangelou/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser