La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Blue Fund: an electoral promise to adapt and make a reality

Rivière du Québec, à l'automne - Adoptez une rivière

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, October 4, 2022 – Fondation Rivières and Eau Secours congratulate the Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) following its re-election and wish to bring to the attention of its elected officials the need to take concrete actions towards the environment, in particular on issues related to water. The organizations therefore wish to see the actions planned within the framework of the Blue Fund, a promise made by the CAQ at the start of the campaign, providing 650 M$ to protect the lakes and rivers of Quebec over the duration of its mandate, carried out and wish to do so. see associated measurable objectives as well as strengthening the capacities of the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) to enforce its regulations.

Targets and the means to achieve them 

The CAQ plans seven new initiatives to improve the quality of Quebec's rivers and lakes, but does not provide any concrete targets for each of them. This funding aims, among other things, to help farmers revegetate riparian areas and to help citizens install septic tanks.

“These new expenses add responsibilities to the MELCC, but will the latter have the resources to enforce them? What proportion of these amounts will be allocated to hiring resources, expertise and inspectors to enforce the regulations? », asks André Bélanger, general manager of Fondation Rivières. 

This new spending program is not accompanied by an action plan and clear and quantified indicators. Such weaknesses in water resource conservation had been severely criticized in June 2020 by the Commissioner for Sustainable Development. The program provides funding for research into preventing water shortages, but it is insufficient. 

“We need more transparency on water use as well as increased resources at the MELCC if we want to be able to establish our water needs and avoid water shortages in the future. To achieve equitable sharing of the resource, the quantities of water taken must be made public,” comments Rébecca Pétrin, general director of Eau Secours.

The organizations wish to offer their collaboration to the CAQ to tackle issues related to water, including agricultural pollution, the upgrading of wastewater treatment plants, the continuation of Bill 42 relating to the fee, the lack of transparency on sampling data and all files linked to adaptation to climate change and the protection of biodiversity.

About Fondation Rivières 

For 20 years, Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water for the Quebec population.

About Eau Secours

Eau Secours, a non-profit organization founded in 1997, has the mission of promoting the protection and responsible management of water from a perspective of environmental health, equity, accessibility and collective defense of human rights. population.

-30-

Documents: 

Proposals in terms of water management and governance, as part of the Vire au Vert operation: https://www.vireauvert.org/propositions_environnementales 

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Communications and Mobilization Leader
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Mathieu Langlois
Communications and Mobilization Manager
Emergency Water
514 588-5608
communications@eausecours.org 

Photo: Jaël Vallée/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Fonds bleu : une promesse électorale à adapter et concrétiser

Rivière du Québec, à l'automne - Adoptez une rivière

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 4 octobre 2022 – Fondation Rivières et Eau Secours félicitent la Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) suite à sa réélection et souhaitent porter à l’attention de ses élu.e.s la nécessité de prendre des actions concrètes envers l’environnement, en particulier sur les enjeux liés à l’eau. Les organisations souhaitent ainsi voir mener à bien les actions prévues dans le cadre du Fonds bleu, une promesse formulée par la CAQ en début de campagne, prévoyant 650 M$ pour protéger les lacs et rivières du Québec sur la durée de son mandat, et souhaitent y voir associés des objectifs mesurables ainsi qu’un renforcement des capacités du ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) à faire appliquer ses règlements.

Des cibles et des moyens pour les atteindre 

La CAQ prévoit sept nouvelles initiatives pour améliorer la qualité des rivières et des lacs du Québec, mais ne prévoit aucune cible concrète pour chacune d’elles. Ce financement vise, entre autres, à aider les agriculteurs à revégétaliser des bandes riveraines et à aider des citoyens à installer des fosses septiques.

« Ces nouvelles dépenses ajoutent des responsabilités au MELCC, mais ce dernier aura-t-il les ressources pour les faire appliquer? Quelle proportion de ces sommes va être allouée à l’embauche de ressources, d’expertise et d’inspecteurs pour faire appliquer les règlements? », s’interroge André Bélanger, directeur général de Fondation Rivières. 

Ce nouveau programme de dépenses ne s’accompagne pas d’un plan d’action et d’indicateurs clairs et chiffrés. De telles faiblesses en matière de conservation des ressources en eau avaient été sévèrement critiquées en juin 2020 par le commissaire au développement durable. Le programme prévoit un financement pour de la recherche sur la prévention des pénuries d’eau, mais c’est insuffisant. 

« Il faut plus de transparence sur l’utilisation de l’eau ainsi que des ressources accrues au MELCC si on veut être en mesure d’établir nos besoins en eau et éviter des pénuries d’eau à l’avenir. Pour en arriver à partager la ressource équitablement, il faut que les quantités d’eau prélevées soient rendues publiques », commente Rébecca Pétrin, directrice générale d’Eau Secours.

Les organisations souhaitent offrir leur collaboration à la CAQ pour s’attaquer aux enjeux liés à l’eau, dont la pollution agricole, la mise aux normes des stations d’épuration, la suite du projet de loi 42 portant sur la redevance, le manque de transparence sur les données de prélèvement et tous les dossiers liés à l’adaptation aux changements climatiques et à la protection de la biodiversité.

À propos de Fondation Rivières 

Depuis 20 ans, Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières et contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise.

À propos d’Eau Secours

Eau Secours, un organisme à but non lucratif fondé en 1997, a pour mission de promouvoir la protection et la gestion responsable de l’eau dans une perspective de santé environnementale, d’équité, d’accessibilité et de défense collective des droits de la population.

-30-

Documentation : 

Propositions en matière de gestion de l’eau et de gouvernance, dans le cadre de l’opération Vire au Vert : https://www.vireauvert.org/propositions_environnementales 

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Chargée aux communications et à la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307
[email protected]

Mathieu Langlois
Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Eau Secours
514 588-5608
[email protected] 

Photo : Jaël Vallée/Unsplash

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.