La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Increased electricity production: Hydro-Québec is heading in the right direction

Sophie Brochu, PDG d'Hydro-Québec

OPEN LETTER

The CEO of Hydro-Québec, Sophie Brochu, is right when she indicates that there are other concrete and lower-cost solutions than the construction of new hydroelectric power stations to increase electricity production by 50 % by 2050. She is also right to point out that it makes no sense to continue selling electricity at 5 cents per kilowatt hour when it will cost 11 cents to produce in new projects.

Mme Brochu thus stands out for its rigor, an attitude which arouses admiration and hope among the population and analysts. His questions about industrial rates, currently very low, echo those repeatedly expressed by Fondation Rivières during public hearings. It is the same with wind power. Although not a green energy without environmental consequences, hydropower is valuable, renewable, and should not be wasted or misused by energy-intensive and polluting companies. The use of electricity must be relevant and provide a tangible gain for society by, in particular, eliminating the use of fossil fuels.

The scientific report Quebec GHG emissions reduction trajectories – Horizons 2030 and 2050 (2021 update) produced by the Dunsky firm assessed the Quebec energy context. It offers solutions meeting the energy objectives of carbon neutrality by 2050 without resorting to new hydroelectric plants.

This report, a reference for the Ministry of the Environment (MELCC) in the field of the fight against greenhouse gases, clearly indicates (p.15) that no construction of new hydroelectric power stations is required. here 2050 for carbon neutrality purposes.

The wind potential in Quebec, located less than 25 kilometers from transmission lines, is more than 100,000 MW. It would alone succeed in meeting the main needs estimated at 20,000 MW by 2050. This represents five times the future needs of Quebec. Important enough to consider Hydro-Québec starting this project itself. Added to this is the potential for energy saving, solar production and the use of new technologies.

It is a first for Fondation Rivières to publicly support Hydro-Québec in its governance, and we do so with conviction. Government interference, which sometimes orders a path to follow, has often produced very bad results. Let us remember the costly small power plant programs imposed on Hydro-Québec since the 1990s in order to favor private entrepreneurs or interest groups. This time, it is large industries that want to buy electricity at lower cost. Even Dollarama does not sell its products below cost.

By Alain Saladzius, president of Fondation Rivières

This text was originally published in the Debates section of The Press

Photo: Martin Tremblay, La Presse

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Accroissement de la production d’électricité : Hydro-Québec est sur la bonne voie

Sophie Brochu, PDG d'Hydro-Québec

LETTRE OUVERTE

La PDG d’Hydro-Québec, Sophie Brochu, voit juste lorsqu’elle indique qu’il existe d’autres solutions concrètes et à moindre coût que la construction de nouvelles centrales hydroélectriques pour accroître la production d’électricité de 50 % d’ici 2050. Elle a également raison de souligner qu’il est insensé de continuer à vendre de l’électricité à 5 cents le kilowattheure alors que celle-ci coûtera 11 cents à produire dans les nouveaux projets.

Mme Brochu se démarque ainsi par sa rigueur, une attitude qui suscite admiration et espoir auprès de la population et des analystes. Son questionnement sur les tarifs industriels, actuellement très bas, rejoint celui à maintes reprises exprimé par Fondation Rivières lors d’audiences publiques. Il en est de même avec l’éolien. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas une énergie verte sans conséquences environnementales, l’hydroélectricité est précieuse, renouvelable, et ne doit pas être gaspillée ou utilisée à mauvais escient par des entreprises énergivores et polluantes. L’usage de l’électricité doit être pertinent et procurer un gain tangible pour la société en permettant notamment d’éliminer l’usage d’énergies fossiles.

Le rapport scientifique Trajectoires de réduction d’émissions de GES du Québec – Horizons 2030 et 2050 (mise à jour 2021) produit par la firme Dunsky a évalué le contexte énergétique québécois. Il propose des solutions répondant aux objectifs énergétiques de carboneutralité d’ici 2050 sans recourir à de nouvelles centrales hydroélectriques.

Ce rapport, une référence pour le ministère de l’Environnement (MELCC) dans le domaine de la lutte contre les gaz à effet de serre, indique clairement (p.15) qu’aucune construction de nouvelles centrales hydroélectriques n’est requise d’ici 2050 pour des fins de carboneutralité.

Le potentiel éolien sur le territoire québécois, situé à moins de 25 kilomètres des lignes de transport, est de plus de 100 000 MW. Il réussirait à lui seul à combler les principaux besoins estimés à 20 000 MW d’ici 2050. Cela représente cinq fois les futurs besoins du Québec. Suffisamment important pour songer à ce qu’Hydro-Québec entame elle-même ce chantier. À cela s’ajoute le potentiel d’économie d’énergie, de production solaire et l’usage de nouvelles technologies.

C’est une première pour la Fondation Rivières que d’appuyer publiquement Hydro-Québec quant à sa gouvernance, et nous le faisons avec conviction. Les ingérences du gouvernement, qui lui ordonne parfois un chemin à suivre, ont souvent donné de très mauvais résultats. Rappelons-nous les coûteux programmes de petites centrales imposés à Hydro-Québec depuis les années 1990 afin de favoriser des entrepreneurs privés ou des groupes d’intérêts. Cette fois, ce sont de grandes industries qui veulent acheter une électricité en bas du prix coûtant. Même Dollarama ne vend pas ses produits en bas du prix coûtant.

Par Alain Saladzius, président de Fondation Rivières

Ce texte est initialement publié dans la section Débats de La Presse

Photo : Martin Tremblay, La Presse

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.