La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Major flushgate in Trois-Rivières: Five years after Montreal, still no plan and measures to reduce the impact of spills on rivers

Pont Laviolette, à Trois-Rivières

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, September 11, 2020 – Fondation Rivières is calling on the Quebec government to put in place measures to reduce the environmental impact of wastewater spills. Five years after Montreal's Flushgate, there is still no strategy to control and limit environmental impacts in the event of wastewater spills.

The City of Trois-Rivières is forced to discharge almost all of its wastewater into the Saint-Maurice River and the Saint-Laurent River following breaks in the main wastewater pipe. It is estimated that 1.3 billion liters of wastewater, or 25% from the flushgate in Montreal in 2015, will be discharged during the 19 days planned to repair the pipe, or 1,000 liters of wastewater per house, without any mitigation measure. No floating barriers to capture solids, no teams dispatched to collect waste, nothing.

The sewers of Trois-Rivières are no cleaner than elsewhere. While Montreal in 2015 and Longueuil in 2018 had installed such barriers and dispatched teams to collect waste, the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) would have accepted that the City would not install any floating barriers based on images taken by drone, from the air.

In November 2018, the Fondation Rivières had however Written to the Minister of the Environment MarieChantal Chassé to recommend a series of measures to constrain, limit and regulate these spill episodes. Fondation Rivières has just written to Minister Benoit Charrette to remind him of these recommendations, including those of designating a ministerial manager for the technical evaluation, monitoring such events and drawing up a list of mandatory measures in the event of spills. Among other measures, it is necessary to plan the sampling of water quality downstream, protocols to reduce the use of water by citizens or industries, the installation of temporary treatment works, barriers floating and pumping systems.

“The population wants to have the assurance, with good reason, that all reasonable efforts have been made to minimize the impact of the spills,” declares Alain Saladzius, president of the Fondation Rivières, while adding that “the government has not still put in place, since the Montreal flushgate in 2015, conditions which make it possible to identify best practices.

-30-

Source :

Geneviève Tardy
Communications Manager
vs. 514 424-3556
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Photo: Richard Germain

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Flushgate majeur à Trois-Rivières : Cinq ans après Montréal, toujours pas de plan et de mesures pour réduire l’impact des déversements sur les rivières

Pont Laviolette, à Trois-Rivières

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 11 septembre 2020 – La Fondation Rivières interpelle le gouvernement du Québec afin qu’il mette en place des mesures pour réduire l’impact sur l’environnement des déversements d’eaux usées. Cinq ans après le flushgate de Montréal, il n’y a toujours aucune stratégie pour contrôler et limiter les impacts sur l’environnement en cas de déversements d’eaux usées.

La Ville de Trois-Rivières est contrainte de déverser la quasi-totalité de ses eaux usées dans la rivière Saint-Maurice et le fleuve Saint-Laurent à la suite de bris survenus sur la conduite principale d’eaux usées. On estime que 1,3 milliard de litres d’eaux usées, soit 25% du flushgate à Montréal en 2015, seront déversés durant les 19 jours prévus pour réparer la conduite, soit 1 000 litres d’eaux usées par maison et ce, sans aucune mesure de mitigation. Pas de barrières flottantes permettant de capter les solides, pas d’équipes dépêchées pour ramasser les déchets, rien.

Les égouts de Trois-Rivières ne sont pas plus propres qu’ailleurs. Alors que Montréal en 2015 et Longueuil en 2018 avaient installé de telles barrières et dépêché des équipes pour ramasser les déchets, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) aurait accepté que la Ville n’installe pas de barrières flottantes en s’appuyant sur des images prises par drone, du haut des airs.

En novembre 2018, la Fondation Rivières avait pourtant écrit à la ministre de l’Environnement MarieChantal Chassé pour recommander une série de mesures afin de contraindre, limiter et encadrer ces épisodes de déversements. La Fondation Rivières vient d’écrire au ministre Benoit Charrette pour lui rappeler ces recommandations, dont celles de désigner un responsable ministériel pour l’évaluation technique, de faire le suivi de tels événements et de dresser une liste de mesures obligatoires en cas de déversements. Entre autres mesures, il faut prévoir l’échantillonnage de la qualité de l’eau en aval, des protocoles pour réduire l’utilisation d’eau par les citoyens ou en industries, la mise en place d’ouvrages de traitement temporaires, de barrières flottantes et de systèmes de pompage.

« La population veut avoir l’assurance, avec raison, que tous les efforts raisonnables ont été réalisés afin de minimiser l’impact des déversements », déclare Alain Saladzius, président de la Fondation Rivières, tout en ajoutant que « le gouvernement n’a pas encore mis en place, depuis le flushgate de Montréal en 2015, des conditions qui permettent d’identifier les meilleures pratiques ».

-30-

Source :

Geneviève Tardy
Responsable des communications
c. 514 424-3556
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Photo : Richard Germain

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.