La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change: Wastewater spills in Trois-Rivières

Carte et palmarès des déversements d'eaux usées_zeynep_sumer_unsplas_os

Montreal, September 11, 2020
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister
Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change
Marie-Guyart Building
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 5V7

Subject: Municipal wastewater spills

Minister, 

The City of Trois-Rivières is currently forced to discharge almost all of its wastewater into the Saint-Maurice River and the Saint-Laurent River following breaks in the main wastewater pipe. Despite its efforts, it is difficult to predict when the situation will be restored due to fears about the state of the pipe or the pumping system.

We were stunned to learn that the Ministry would have accepted that the City would not install floating barriers to capture solids that would otherwise end up in the river. We were informed that the decision was made based on drone images taken from the air. 

How then can we explain that other cities such as Montreal in 2015 and Longueuil in 2018 had installed such barriers and sent teams to collect waste? How does the Ministry justify its decision?

This file reminds us of the importance of there being clear government guidelines for such situations, whether planned or accidental.

In November 2018 we wrote on the subject to Minister MarieChantal Chassé to recommend the measures that seem most appropriate to us to limit pollution during such events. These recommendations followed the events in Montreal and Longueuil. Here they are :

  1. Designate a ministerial manager for the technical evaluation and monitoring of such events. To our knowledge, it is currently the regional directorates which receive and evaluate the different situations. However, a technical assessment requires specific knowledge in civil engineering, network management and water treatment where applicable. This manager would also have the mandate to develop and maintain the expertise acquired by closely monitoring events. Relevant information should be posted online.
  1. Produce a list of activities which the operator must carry out, depending on the size of the spill and the location. These activities must be relevant and accompanied by precise and measurable objectives. We thus noticed, in the Longueuil file, that it is planned to carry out sampling of the waters of the St. Lawrence in 20 places before/during/after the event, even in certain places which would not be affected by the event, an inspection of the banks over an undefined distance and method before/during/after, a request to reduce water consumption by residents, etc. All this while specific sources of pollution, coming from industries, were not identified. This is why we want efforts to aim for concrete results.
  1. Identify mandatory measures that municipalities should respect, such as the installation of temporary works or treatment, the use of a quote encouraging contractors to carry out the work quickly, the identification of industrial or hospital discharges to be managed in a particular way, etc. .
  1. Require the production of an event report asking the operator for a report on the activities and measures carried out. This report should contain a recommendations section in order to analyze, develop, make known to the public and share between the different municipal authorities the experiences acquired during each event.
  1. Amend article 15 of the regulation on municipal sanitation works in order to make it compulsory to obtain ministerial authorization before carrying out a spill. This authorization would be issued subject to the accuracy of the information submitted.
  1. Introduce a fee on the volume of untreated wastewater discharged so that municipalities are encouraged to take serious measures to minimize it. This fee should be paid to the Green Fund, for water protection. It could be of the order of 1$/cubic meter spilled. This fee should, in this case, be sufficient to remain an incentive to reduce the volume spilled.       

The frequency of such spill events encourages action to be taken to exercise better preventive control. The population must be reassured about the efforts made to constrain, limit and regulate these episodes of spills.

Thanking you for your attention to this, we remain available for any additional information. 

Please accept, Mr. Minister, the expression of our distinguished feelings.

Alain Saladzius, P.Eng., FIC
President, Fondation Rivières

Photo: Zeynep Sumer/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques : Déversements d’eaux usées à Trois-Rivières

Montréal, le 11 septembre 2020
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre
Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Édifice Marie-Guyart
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7


Objet : Déversements d’eaux usées municipales

Monsieur le Ministre, 

La Ville de Trois-Rivières est actuellement contrainte de déverser la quasi-totalité de ses eaux usées dans la rivière Saint-Maurice et le fleuve Saint-Laurent à la suite de bris survenus sur la conduite principale d’eaux usées. Malgré les efforts de celle-ci, il est difficile de prévoir quand la situation sera rétablie en raison des craintes sur l’état de la conduite ou du système de pompage.

Nous avons été stupéfaits d’apprendre que le Ministère aurait accepté que la Ville n’installe pas de  barrières flottantes afin de capter les solides qui autrement vont échoir dans le fleuve. Nous avons été informés que la décision a été prise en s’appuyant sur des images prises par drone, du haut des airs. 

Comment alors expliquer que d’autres villes telles Montréal en 2015 et Longueuil en 2018 avaient installé de telles barrières et dépêché des équipes pour ramasser les déchets ? Comment le Ministère justifie-t-il sa décision ?

Ce dossier nous rappelle l’importance qu’il y ait des directives gouvernementales claires pour de telles situations, qu’elles soient planifiées ou accidentelles.

En novembre 2018 nous avions écrit sur le sujet à la Ministre MarieChantal Chassé pour recommander les mesures qui nous semblent les plus appropriées pour limiter la pollution lors de tels événements. Ces recommandations faisaient suite aux événements de Montréal et de Longueuil. Les voici :

  1. Désigner un responsable ministériel pour l’évaluation technique et le suivi de tels événements. À notre connaissance ce sont actuellement les directions régionales qui reçoivent et évaluent les différentes situations. Or, une évaluation technique requiert des connaissances spécifiques en génie civil, dans la gestion de réseaux et du traitement des eaux le cas échéant. Ce responsable aurait également pour mandat d’élaborer et de maintenir à jour l’expertise acquise en effectuant un suivi serré des événements. Les informations pertinentes devraient être mises en ligne.
  1. Produire une liste d’activités que l’exploitant doit impérativement réaliser, selon l’importance du déversement et le lieu. Ces activités doivent être pertinentes et accompagnées d’objectifs précis et mesurables. On a ainsi remarqué, dans le dossier de Longueuil, qu’il est prévu de faire un échantillonnage des eaux du Saint-Laurent en 20 endroits avant/pendant/après l’événement, même à certains endroits qui ne seraient pas touchés par l’événement, une inspection des rives sur une distance et une méthode non-définie avant/pendant/après, une demande de réduire la consommation d’eau par les résidents, etc. Tout cela alors que des sources de pollution particulières, provenant d’industries n’étaient pas identifiées.  C’est pourquoi nous souhaitons que les efforts visent des résultats concrets.
  1. Identifier des mesures obligatoires que devraient respecter les municipalités, telles la mise en place d’ouvrages ou de traitement temporaires, l’utilisation d’un devis incitant les entrepreneurs à réaliser rapidement les travaux, l’identification de rejets industriels ou hospitaliers à gérer de façon particulière, etc.
  1. Exiger la production d’un rapport d’événement demandant à l’exploitant un bilan des activités et mesures réalisées. Ce rapport devrait contenir une section recommandations afin d’analyser, développer, faire connaître au public et partager entre les différentes instances municipales les expériences acquises lors de chaque événement.
  1. Modifier l’article 15 du règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement afin de rendre obligatoire l’obtention d’une autorisation ministérielle avant d’effectuer un déversement. Cette autorisation serait émise sous réserve de l’exactitude des informations déposées.
  1. Instaurer une redevance sur le volume d’eaux usées non-traitées déversé afin que les municipalités soient incitées à prendre des mesures sérieuses pour le minimiser. Cette redevance devrait être versée au Fonds vert, pour la protection de l’eau. Elle pourrait être de l’ordre de 1$/mètre cube déversé. Cette redevance devrait, dans ce cas, être suffisante pour demeurer incitative à réduire le volume déversé.       

La fréquence de tels événements de déversements incite à prendre action afin d’exercer un meilleur contrôle préventif.  La population doit être rassurée quant aux efforts réalisés pour contraindre, limiter et encadrer ces épisodes de déversements.

En vous remerciant pour l’attention portée à la présente, nous demeurons disponibles pour toute information supplémentaire. 

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de nos sentiments distingués.

Alain Saladzius, ing., FIC
Président, Fondation Rivières

Photo : Zeynep Sumer/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser