La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Reduction of wastewater overflows in the Baie des Ha! Ha! : congratulations to the City of Saguenay

The City of Saguenay plans that the construction of a new pumping station near the Consol site this summer will prevent 80 to 85 % of wastewater overflows in the Bay of Ha! Ha!. This is what Raynald Simard, municipal councilor for the sector, said. 

Most of these overflows occur during periods of rain or melting and are unfortunately tolerated by the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC), although their harmful effects on aquatic environments are recognized by the same ministry. Fondation Rivières therefore welcomes the initiative of the City of Saguenay which, by reducing wastewater overflows, places the preservation of a watercourse at the forefront!

A Grand Splash for better quality bathing water

This announcement comes a little less than a year after the holding of a Grand Splash on the banks of the Bay of Ha! Ha!, located in the Saguenay River. This event brought together a handful of citizens, who made a brief stopover at the Consol site to demand public access to better quality bathing water. The vulnerability notice issued by Fondation Rivières before the holding of this Grand Splash denoted a high risk of contamination after rain and uncertainty during periods of dry weather. 

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Réduction des débordements d’eaux usées dans la baie des Ha! Ha! : félicitations à la Ville de Saguenay

La Ville de Saguenay prévoit que la construction d’une nouvelle station de pompage près du site de la Consol cet été permettra d’éviter 80 à 85 % des débordements d’eaux usées dans la baie des Ha! Ha!. C’est ce qu’a affirmé Raynald Simard, conseiller municipal du secteur. 

La plupart de ces débordements surviennent en période de pluie ou de fonte et sont malheureusement tolérés par le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC), bien que leurs effets néfastes sur les milieux aquatiques soient reconnus par ce même ministère. Fondation Rivières salue donc l’initiative de la Ville de Saguenay qui, en réduisant les débordements d’eaux usées, place la préservation d’un cours d’eau à l’avant-plan!

Un Grand Splash pour une eau de baignade de meilleure qualité

Cette annonce survient un peu moins d’un an après la tenue d’un Grand Splash sur les berges de la baie des Ha! Ha!, située dans la rivière Saguenay. Cet événement avait rassemblé une poignée de citoyens, qui avaient fait une brève saucette au site de la Consol pour revendiquer un accès public à une eau de baignade de meilleure qualité. L’avis de vulnérabilité émis par Fondation Rivières avant la tenue de ce Grand Splash dénotait un risque élevé de contamination après une pluie et une incertitude en période de temps sec. 

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser