La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Study on river water quality: swimming is possible in summer in the Sorel region

Parc Henri-Letendre à Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel - qualité de l'eau

PRESS RELEASE
FOR BROADCAST ON JUNE 6 at 7 A.M.

Montreal on June 6, 2023 – In this Water Month and Saint Lawrence Week, the Fondation Rivières, the City of Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel and the Municipality of Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel are making public the results of a study which reveals that in summer and in dry weather, the water of the river at the edge of the Pointe-aux-Pins park, in Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, and the Henri-Letendre park, in Sainte-Anne-de -Sorel, is suitable for swimming. This is a first step towards public access to water where there is For almost 100 years, the banks of the areas studied were important vacation spots in Montérégie.

Bathing standards, the maximum threshold of which is 200 CFU/100 mL in Quebec, have always been respected in dry weather at these sites. A period of dry weather corresponds to any day for which precipitation over the last three days, including the current day, is less than 5 mm. The numerous wastewater overflows from throughout the Sorel region lead to a temporary degradation of water quality due to rains which overload the sewer network. Swimming is therefore not recommended if the rain over the last 3 days (including the same day) totals more than 10 mm. Nevertheless, 88 % of the rainy periods studied allowed the practice of non-motorized water activities (kayak, canoe, paddle board, etc.), for which the maximum threshold is 1,000 CFU/100 mL.

Next steps

According to the results of this study and the historical performance of the wastewater network throughout the territory, the Fondation Rivières recommends interventions to reduce the frequency of overflows in rainy weather, in particular through the establishment of green infrastructure, the separation of the unitary network and the disconnection of gutters, flat roofs and dewatering pumps. Without inaugurating a supervised beach, the City of Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel and the Municipality of Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel are considering targeted sampling during rain to confirm contamination trends.

The combination of the efforts of Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Sorel-Tracy and Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel would make it possible to tackle the reduction of wastewater overflows. The general director of Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger, says he is optimistic about the prospect of such a consultation. “The collaboration will not fail to bring about even more diversified recreational tourism in the Sorel region, already popular with fans of kayaking, canoeing and, increasingly, paddleboarding. »

The mayor of Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Vincent Deguise, says he is confident that this approach will help change the population's perspective with regard to water quality: "We tend to associate the industrial sector with water quality. The study shows that the water quality is good and that it is possible to provide citizens with access to water.”

Initiator of the project, the mayor of Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, Michel Péloquin, is enthusiastic about this idea. “We want citizens to be able to reclaim the river in the same place where a beach made the area famous in the 1930s.”

A Big Splash in Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel this summer

Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel's desire to provide access to the river was first demonstrated by the organization of a Grand Splash at Henri-Letendre Park in 2022. This year, the Grand Splash will travel to Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, to Pointe-aux-Pins park. Organized by the City of St-Joseph-de-Sorel as well as the Pure Air Nature Water Coalition (CENAP), based in Pierre-De Saurel, the event is the symbol of the Cities' commitment to continuing their efforts to protect water and to provide safe access to its population. 

Led by the Fondation Rivières, the Grand Splash is a form of event which aims to democratize access to waterways. The population is invited to get into the water in safe places, which do not have the status of public access to water, but which have the potential to become so.

Methodology

The Fondation Rivières took water from the river at Pointe-aux-Pins park and Henri-Letendre park, three times a week between June 27 and September 28, 2022. The analysis was carried out on the basis of the enumeration ofEscherichia coli (E.coli) and enzymatic analyses. Industrial discharges were not measured as part of this study since, in recreational waters, the potential chemical risks associated with industrial discharges are much lower than the microbiological risks. In most cases, typical concentrations of chemicals measured in water are not high enough to cause acute or chronic illness in exposed users.

- 30 - 

Documentation

Photo: Henri-Letendre Park. Credit: Fondation Rivières

Source

Picture of Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Communications and Mobilization Manager
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Étude sur la qualité de l’eau du fleuve : la baignade est possible en été dans la région de Sorel

Parc Henri-Letendre à Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel - qualité de l'eau

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE 6 JUIN à 7H

Montréal le 6 juin 2023 – En ce Mois de l’eau et la Semaine du Saint-Laurent, la Fondation Rivières, la Ville de Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel et la Municipalité de Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel rendent publics les résultats d’une étude qui révèle qu’en été et par temps sec, l’eau du fleuve en bordure du parc de la Pointe-aux-Pins, à Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, et du parc Henri-Letendre, à Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, est propice à la baignade. Il s’agit d’un premier pas vers un accès public à l’eau là où, il y a près de 100 ans, les berges des secteurs étudiés étaient d’importants lieux de villégiature de la Montérégie.

Les normes de baignade, dont le seuil maximal est de 200 UFC/100 mL au Québec, ont toujours été respectées par temps sec à ces sites. Une période de temps sec correspond à toute journée pour laquelle les précipitations des trois derniers jours, incluant la journée en cours, sont inférieures à 5 mm. Les nombreux débordements d’eaux usées provenant de l’ensemble de la région de Sorel entraînent une dégradation temporaire de la qualité de l’eau en raison des pluies qui surchargent le réseau d’égout. La baignade est donc déconseillée si la pluie des 3 derniers jours (incluant le jour-même) totalise plus de 10 mm. Néanmoins, 88 % des périodes de pluie à l’étude permettaient la pratique d’activités nautiques non-motorisées (kayak, canot, planche à pagaie, etc.), dont le seuil maximal est de 1 000 UFC/100 mL.

Prochaines étapes

Selon les résultats de cette étude et la performance historique du réseau d’eaux usées sur l’ensemble du territoire, la Fondation Rivières recommande des interventions pour réduire la fréquence de débordements par temps de pluie, notamment par la mise en place d’infrastructures vertes, la séparation du réseau unitaire et le débranchement de gouttières, des toits plats et des pompes d’assèchement. Sans inaugurer de plage surveillée, la Ville de Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel et la Municipalité de Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel considèrent un échantillonnage ciblé lors de pluie pour confirmer les tendances de contamination.

La combinaison des efforts de Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Sorel-Tracy et Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel permettrait de s’attaquer à la réduction des débordements d’eaux usées. Le directeur général de Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger, se dit optimiste à la perspective d’une telle concertation. « La collaboration ne manquera pas de faire émerger un récréotourisme encore plus diversifié dans la région de Sorel, déjà prisée des adeptes de kayak, de canot et de plus en plus, de planche à pagaie. »

Le maire de Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, Vincent Deguise, se dit confiant que cette démarche permettra de changer la perspective de la population à l’égard de la qualité de l’eau : « On a tendance à associer le milieu industriel à la qualité de l’eau. L’étude montre que la qualité de l’eau est bonne et qu’il est possible de donner accès à l’eau aux citoyen.ne.s ».

Initiateur du projet, le maire de Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, Michel Péloquin, est enthousiaste à cette idée. « On veut que les citoyens et citoyennes puissent se réapproprier le fleuve à l’endroit même où une plage faisait la renommée du secteur dans les années 1930. »

Un Grand Splash à Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel cet été

La volonté de Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel de donner accès au fleuve s’est d’abord manifestée par l’organisation d’un Grand Splash au parc Henri-Letendre en 2022. Cette année, le Grand Splash se déplacera à Saint-Joseph-de-Sorel, au parc de la Pointe-aux-Pins. Organisé par la Ville de St-Joseph-de-Sorel ainsi que la Coalition Eau Nature Air Purs (CENAP), basée à Pierre-De Saurel, l’événement est le symbole de l’engagement des Villes à poursuivre leurs efforts de protection de l’eau et à inaugurer des accès sécuritaires à sa population. 

Chapeauté par la Fondation Rivières, le Grand Splash est une forme de manifestation qui a pour but de démocratiser l’accès aux cours d’eau. La population est invitée à se lancer à l’eau à des endroits sécuritaires, qui n’ont pas le statut d’accès public à l’eau, mais qui ont le potentiel de le devenir.

Méthodologie

La Fondation Rivières a prélevé l’eau du fleuve au parc de la Pointe-aux-Pins et au parc Henri-Letendre, à raison de trois fois par semaine entre le 27 juin et le 28 septembre 2022. L’analyse s’est faite sur la base du dénombrement d’Escherichia coli (E. coli) et d’analyses enzymatiques. Les rejets industriels n’ont pas été mesurés dans le cadre de cette étude puisque, dans les eaux récréatives, les risques chimiques potentiels associés aux rejets industriels sont beaucoup plus faibles que les risques microbiologiques. Dans la plupart des cas, les concentrations typiques de substances chimiques mesurées dans l’eau ne sont pas suffisamment élevées pour engendrer chez les usagers exposés des maladies aiguës ou chroniques.

– 30 – 

Documentation

Photo : Parc Henri-Letendre. Crédit : Fondation Rivières

Source

Picture of Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec