La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to political parties: Privatization of the banks and the problem of access to water for all Quebecers

Montreal, May 30, 2022
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


The Liberal Party of Quebec
1150 Wilfrid-Hamel Blvd.
Quebec (Quebec) G1M 2S4

The Parti Québécois
4115 Ontario Street East, Suite 325
Montreal (Quebec) H1V 1J7

Quebec Solidaire
533 Ontario Street East, Suite 010
Montreal (Quebec) H2L 1N8

Conservative Party of Quebec
400-1020 Bouvier Street
Quebec (Quebec) G2K 0K9

Subject: Your party's guidelines regarding the privatization of the banks and the problem of access to water for all Quebecers

Dear,


A few months before the next provincial elections, we are asking you to know your intentions regarding the problem of access to water for nautical activities, vacations, hunting and fishing for all Quebecois. It is recognized that access to lakes and rivers is increasingly complex in several regions of Quebec. However, the vast majority of them are public and the situation continues to deteriorate a little more each year. Lakes and rivers benefit many Quebecers who, together, contribute hundreds of millions of dollars to the economy, while being important players in the conservation and development of the natural environment.

Each year, users of rivers, lakes and the St. Lawrence River encounter more and more constraints when carrying out their activities and a greater part of these is reserved for riverside residents who have no rights. particularly on these. A common resource only becomes accessible to privileged people.

In 2020, several stakeholders from the nautical, vacation and hunting and fishing sectors, supported by more than a hundred organizations and businesses from industry and commerce, came together inside of the Collective for Fair Access to Public Water Bodies in order to coordinate their advocacy actions for equitable access to the various public water bodies in Quebec for all users.

The interventions made by this Collective are supported by several elements of laws, regulations
and policies of Quebec:

The Law on the conservation and development of wildlife which stipulates that the practice of hunting and fishing is a right.

The Civil Code of Quebec which provides that the bodies and watercourses of Quebec must remain equitably accessible to all. It also mentions that the bed of navigable and floatable lakes and rivers is, up to the high water mark, the property of the State.

The Law affirming the collective nature of water resources and aiming to strengthen their protection. In section 1, WATER, COLLECTIVE RESOURCE, ARTICLE 1, it is stated that “Being of vital interest, surface water and groundwater, in their natural state, are resources which are part of the heritage common to the Quebec nation.

The National Water Policy, for its part, indicates that "For the Quebec economy, water is a major asset and contributes, in a very high proportion, to Quebec's tourism revenue... It specifies that we must expand access to water…” and “that municipalities, through their zoning regulations, have the possibility and power to develop and reserve public access to water. They also have the power to go as far as expropriation to retain public use sites allowing access to water.”


Finally, we can add that in Canada, the rules affecting navigation are strictly under federal jurisdiction.

The Collective therefore believes that the next Quebec government will have to seriously get involved and take concrete actions to remedy the situation. It must also establish a framework establishing reasonable and equitable standards and cost scales that may be required by municipalities for the use of access infrastructure and boat washing stations. The Collective also expects that the next government will firmly take control of this issue and avoid leaving municipalities, or other stakeholders, with full responsibility for the actions that must be taken.

In this case, could you clearly tell us what your party's commitments and objectives will be in terms of preserving and developing public access to the St. Lawrence River, lakes and rivers throughout Quebec and what will be your strategy to this end?

Please accept, Madam, Sir, the expression of our distinguished consideration.

The Collective for equitable access to bodies of water

Photo: Claude LapriseUnsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Lettre aux partis politiques : Privatisation des berges et problématique de l’accès à l’eau pour l’ensemble des Québécois

Montréal, le 30 mai 2022
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Le Parti Libéral du Québec
1150, boulevard Wilfrid-Hamel
Québec (Québec) G1M 2S4

Le Parti Québécois
4115, rue Ontario Est, bureau 325
Montréal (Québec) H1V 1J7

Québec Solidaire
533 rue Ontario Est, bureau 010
Montréal (Québec) H2L 1N8

Parti conservateur du Québec
400-1020 rue Bouvier
Québec (Québec) G2K 0K9

Objet : Orientations de votre parti concernant la privatisation des berges et la problématique de l’accès à l’eau pour l’ensemble des Québécois

Madame, Monsieur,


À quelques mois des prochaines élections provinciales, nous vous interpellons afin de connaître vos intentions au sujet de la problématique de l’accès à l’eau à des fins d’activités nautiques, de villégiature, de chasse et de pêche pour l’ensemble des Québécois. Il est reconnu que l’accès aux lacs et aux rivières est de plus en plus complexe dans plusieurs régions du Québec. Pourtant, la très grande majorité d’entre eux sont publics et la situation continue de se dégrader un peu plus chaque année. Les lacs et les rivières profitent à de très nombreux Québécois qui, ensemble, contribuent pour des centaines de millions de dollars à l’économie, tout en étant des acteurs importants de la conservation et de la mise en valeur du milieu naturel.

Chaque année, les utilisateurs des rivières, des lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent rencontrent de plus en plus de contraintes à la pratique de leurs activités et une plus grande partie de ceux-ci est réservée à des résidents riverains n’ayant pourtant aucun droit particulier sur ceux-ci. Une ressource commune ne devient plus accessible qu’à des privilégiés.

En 2020, plusieurs intervenants du milieu nautique, de la villégiature et de la chasse et de la pêche, soutenus par plus d’une centaine d’organismes et d’entreprises de l’industrie et du commerce, se sont regroupés à l’intérieur du Collectif pour un Accès équitable aux Plans d’eau publics afin de concerter leurs actions de revendication pour des accès équitables aux différents plans d’eau publics du Québec pour l’ensemble des usagers.

Les interventions qui sont faites par ce Collectif sont appuyées par plusieurs éléments des lois, règlements
et politiques du Québec :

La Loi sur la conservation et la mise en valeur de la faune qui stipule que la pratique de la chasse et de la pêche est un droit.

Le Code civil du Québec qui prévoit que les plans et cours d’eau du Québec doivent demeurer équitablement accessibles à tous. Il mentionne aussi que le lit des lacs et des cours d’eau navigables et flottables est, jusqu’à la ligne des hautes eaux, la propriété de l’État.

La Loi affirmant le caractère collectif des ressources en eau et visant à renforcer leur protection. Dans la section 1, L’EAU, RESSOURCE COLLECTIVE, ARTICLE 1, il est inscrit que « Étant d’intérêt vital, l’eau de surface et l’eau souterraine, dans leur état naturel, sont des ressources qui font partie du patrimoine commun de la nation québécoise.

La Politique nationale de l’eau, pour sa part, indique quant à elle que « Pour l’économie québécoise, l’eau est un atout majeur et contribue, dans une très forte proportion, aux recettes touristiques du Québec… Elle précise qu’il faut étendre l’accès à l’eau… » et « que les municipalités, par le biais de leur règlement de zonage, ont la possibilité et le pouvoir d’aménager et de réserver des accès publics à l’eau. Elles ont également le pouvoir d’aller jusqu’à l’expropriation pour retenir des sites d’usage public permettant l’accès à l’eau ».


Finalement, on peut ajouter qu’au Canada, les règles touchant la navigation sont strictement de compétence fédérale.

Le Collectif estime donc que le prochain gouvernement québécois devra mettre sérieusement la main à la pâte et porter des actions concrètes afin de redresser la situation. Il devra également instituer un cadre établissant des standards et des échelles de coûts raisonnables et équitables pouvant être exigés par les municipalités pour l’utilisation des infrastructures d’accès et des stations de lavage d’embarcations. Le Collectif s’attend aussi à ce que le prochain gouvernement prenne fermement les commandes de ce dossier et qu’il évite de laisser aux municipalités, ou à d’autres intervenants, l’entière responsabilité des actions qui doivent être posées.

En l’occurrence, pourriez-vous nous indiquer, clairement, quels seront les engagements et les objectifs de votre parti en matière de préservation et de développement des accès publics au fleuve Saint-Laurent, aux lacs et aux rivières de l’ensemble du Québec et quelle sera votre stratégie à cette fin?

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de notre considération distinguée.

Le Collectif pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau

Photo : Claude LapriseUnsplash

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.