La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Swimming in the Port of Quebec: an inspiration for the Old Port of Montreal

Vieux-Port de Montréal_Crédit Matias Garabedian

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, May 31, 2022 – Fondation Rivières is delighted with the announcement of the Port of Quebec to develop a port bath in the Louise basin this summer and believes that the Old Port of Montreal Company would have every interest in following suit – the Jacques-Cartier basin holding all the features needed for swimming. Just as the Port of Quebec collaborated with the Société des Gens de Baignade, Fondation Rivières invites the Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal to do the same with the Foundation to design such a development.

Strong swimming potential in the Jacques-Cartier basin 

Safety of swimmers, quality water, sublime landscape: the Jacques-Cartier basin in the Old Port of Montreal has all the characteristics conducive to the development of a basin similar to that of the Port of Quebec. In dry weather, the water in the Old Port of Montreal is indeed of excellent quality: in such a context, it has only experienced one contamination event in ten years, between 2011 and 2021, according to the data from the Aquatic Environment Monitoring Network (RSMA) of the City of Montreal. After an episode of heavy rain, it would be enough to close access to the swimming area for a period of 24 to 72 hours, as at Verdun beach – the duration of closure varying depending on the extent of the overflow of the water networks. sewer. 

In August 2021, the Canada Lands Company launched the initial phase of the Old Port of Montreal Master Plan aimed at revitalizing the Old Port, representing an investment of $50 million. However, the Canada Lands Company, manager of the Old Port of Montreal Corporation, told Fondation Rivières in 2021 to refuse to integrate swimming areas, considering that the Old Port is dedicated to navigation. “It would be enough to move the marina a hundred meters and more than 800 people could swim in the heart of downtown Montreal without harming navigation activities,” retorts the general director of Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger, who wants an adjustment vision of the Company. 

Remember that a port bath project at the end of the Quai de l'Horloge was abandoned in the summer of 2020. Installed in the St. Lawrence River, outside the protected zone of the Old Port, this bath project port was exposed to a strong current, unlike the Jacques-Cartier basin.  

Grand Splashes to claim access to bodies of water 

In 2021, Fondation Rivières in collaboration with the Bathing Society organized a Grand Splash in the Port of Quebec in order to claim access to swimming. This mobilization took place as part of Grand Splash Week, a series of annual festive events during which citizens are invited to take to the water in safe places, which are not do not have the status of public bathing areas, but which have everything it takes to become one.

It was the mobilization of the Société des Gens de Baignade to demand a public bathing site in the Louise basin in 1994 which was at the origin of The Grand Splash Week, today managed by Fondation Rivières. The Foundation salutes the efforts and perseverance of the Société des Gens de Baignade. 

An issue of social and ecological justice

Despite the island character of Montreal, its banks still remain largely inaccessible: of nearly 170 km of banks, 120 km are private and only 50 km are accessible to the public. However, these are all far from the city center and are concentrated in the west of the island as well as along the Lachine Rapids, where public transportation is poor. The development of a swimming area in the Old Port of Montreal would make it possible to compensate for this imbalance, in addition to allowing the population to cool off during heatwaves. This would be a concrete gesture in terms of ecological transition, which is part of the City of Montreal's strategy to combat and adapt to climate change.

About Fondation Rivières

For 20 years, Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water for the Quebec population. The Foundation has been organizing the Grand Splash week since 2019, which takes place this year from July 1 to 10. 

-30-

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Project manager for communications and mobilization 
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307

Photo credit: Matias Garabedian

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Vieux-Port de Montréal_Crédit Matias Garabedian

Baignade dans le Port de Québec : une inspiration pour le Vieux-Port de Montréal

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 31 mai 2022 – Fondation Rivières se réjouit de l’annonce du Port de Québec d’aménager un bain portuaire dans le bassin Louise dès cet été et estime que la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal aurait tout intérêt à lui emboîter le pas – le bassin Jacques-Cartier détenant toutes les caractéristiques nécessaires à la baignade. Tout comme le Port de Québec a collaboré avec la Société des Gens de Baignade, Fondation Rivières invite la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal à faire de même avec la Fondation pour concevoir un tel aménagement.

Fort potentiel de baignade dans le bassin Jacques-Cartier 

Sécurité des baigneurs, eau de qualité, paysage sublime : le bassin Jacques-Cartier dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal détient toutes les caractéristiques propices à l’aménagement d’un bassin similaire à celui du Port de Québec. Par temps sec, l’eau du Vieux-Port de Montréal est en effet d’excellente qualité : dans un tel contexte, elle n’a connu qu’un seul événement de contamination en dix ans, soit entre 2011 et 2021, selon les données du Réseau de suivi des milieux aquatiques (RSMA) de la Ville de Montréal. Après un épisode de forte pluie, il suffirait de fermer l’accès à la zone de baignade sur une période de 24 à 72 h, comme à la plage de Verdun – la durée de fermeture variant selon l’importance des débordements des réseaux d’égout. 

La Société immobilière du Canada lançait en août 2021 la phase initiale du Plan Directeur du Vieux-Port de Montréal visant à revitaliser le Vieux-Port, représentant un investissement de 50 millions de dollars. Or, la Société immobilière du Canada, gestionnaire de la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal, confiait à Fondation Rivières en 2021 refuser d’intégrer des aires de baignade, considérant que le Vieux-Port est voué à la navigation. « Il suffirait de déplacer la marina d’une centaine de mètres et plus de 800 personnes pourraient se baigner en plein centre-ville de Montréal sans nuire aux activités de navigation », rétorque le directeur général de Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger, qui souhaite un ajustement de vision de la Société. 

Rappelons qu’un projet de bain portuaire au bout du Quai de l’Horloge avait été abandonné à l’été 2020. Installé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à l’extérieur de la zone protégée du Vieux-Port, ce projet de bain portuaire était exposé à un fort courant, contrairement au bassin Jacques-Cartier.  

Des Grand Splash pour revendiquer l’accès aux plans d’eau 

En 2021, Fondation Rivières en collaboration avec la Société des Gens de Baignade ont organisé un Grand Splash dans le Port de Québec afin d’y revendiquer un accès à la baignade. Cette mobilisation s’est faite dans le cadre de La semaine du Grand Splash, une série d’événements festifs annuels lors desquels les citoyen.ne.s sont invité.e.s à se lancer à l’eau à des endroits sécuritaires, qui n’ont pas le statut de zones de baignade publiques, mais qui ont tout ce qu’il faut pour le devenir.

C’est la mobilisation de la Société des Gens de Baignade pour exiger un site de baignade public au bassin Louise dès 1994 qui est d’ailleurs à l’origine de La semaine du Grand Splash, aujourd’hui pilotée par Fondation Rivières. La Fondation salue les efforts et la persévérance de la Société des Gens de Baignade. 

Un enjeu de justice sociale et écologique

Malgré le caractère insulaire de Montréal, ses berges restent encore largement inaccessibles : sur près de 170 km de rives, 120 km sont privées et 50 km seulement sont accessibles au public. Celles-ci sont cependant toutes éloignées du centre-ville et sont concentrées dans l’ouest de l’île ainsi qu’en bordure des rapides de Lachine, là où le transport en commun est déficient. L’aménagement d’une aire de baignade dans le Vieux-Port de Montréal permettrait de pallier ce déséquilibre, en plus de permettre à la population de se rafraîchir en période de canicule. Il s’agirait d’un geste concret en matière de transition écologique, qui s’inscrit dans la stratégie de la Ville de Montréal de lutte et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

À propos de Fondation Rivières

Depuis 20 ans, Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières et contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise. La Fondation organise depuis 2019 La semaine du Grand Splash, qui se déroule cette année du 1er au 10 juillet. 

-30-

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Chargée de projet aux communications et à la mobilisation 
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Crédit photo : Matias Garabedian