La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

The green deposit – a powerful book by Louis-Gilles Francoeur

La caution verte - livre de Louis-Gilles Francoeur

The former environmental journalist from Duty, Louis-Gilles Francoeur, signs the book The green deposit – The disengagement of the Quebec state in the environment. The one who was formerly vice-president of the Bureau d'audiences publique sur l'environnement (BAPE) denounces the weakened role of the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change of Quebec (MELCC).

Does the Ministry of the Environment have the means to achieve its ambitions?

The MELCC's missions are of paramount importance, especially in the context of climate change and growing eco-anxiety among the population. Following the publication of IPCC report, which reports a climate crisis faster and stronger than expected, we are entitled to wonder if our government has the means to achieve its ambitions. This is the question that Louis-Gilles Francoeur addressed in his book The green deposit.

To achieve this, the author and Jonathan Ramacieri, researcher at the Institute for Research in Contemporary Economy, analyzed the budgets and functioning of the MELCC since its creation more than 40 years ago. Overall budget of less than 1 TP4T of the State budget, role of “support for promoters of potentially polluting projects”, dispersion of powers relating to the environment among various ministries, etc. : their findings are not very encouraging.

“It demonstrates, in a stark way, that governments have neglected the protection of the environment and ecosystems. » – Louis-Gilles Francoeur, The duty

Abandonment of the water sanitation file

Louis-Gilles Francoeur also notes a erosion of resources in three major issues, including that of water sanitation, alongside climate change and the restoration of mining sites.

This is remarkable work accomplished by Louis-Gilles Francoeur, who succeeded in demonstrating and expressing what we have been witnessing for years at Fondation Rivières. For all those who care about environmental and political issues, we invite you to read the powerful book The green deposit, published by Ecosociety.

To go further

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

La caution verte – un livre percutant de Louis-Gilles Francoeur

La caution verte - livre de Louis-Gilles Francoeur

L’ancien journaliste à l’environnement du Devoir, Louis-Gilles Francoeur, signe le livre La caution verte – Le désengagement de l’État québécois en environnement. Celui qui était autrefois vice-président du Bureau d’audience Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) y dénonce le rôle affaibli du ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques du Québec (MELCC).

Le ministère de l’Environnement a-t-il les moyens de ses ambitions?

Les missions du MELCC sont d’une importance capitale, surtout dans le contexte des changements climatiques et de l’écoanxiété croissante au sein de la population. Au lendemain de la publication du rapport du GIEC, qui fait état d’une crise climatique plus rapide et plus forte que prévu, nous sommes en droit de nous demander si notre gouvernement a les moyens de ses ambitions. C’est la question sur laquelle s’est penchée Louis-Gilles Francoeur dans son livre La caution verte.

Pour y arriver, l’auteur et Jonathan Ramacieri, chercheur de l’Institut de recherche en économie contemporaine, ont analysé les budgets et le fonctionnement du MELCC et ce, depuis sa création il y plus de 40 ans. Budget global de moins de 1 % du budget de l’État, rôle d’« accompagnateur pour les promoteurs de projets potentiellement polluants », dispersement des pouvoirs relevant de l’environnement parmi divers ministères, etc. : leur constat est peu reluisant.

« Ça démontre, de façon crue, que les gouvernements ont négligé la protection de l’environnement et des écosystèmes. » – Louis-Gilles Francoeur, Le Devoir

Délaissement du dossier d’assainissement des eaux

Louis-Gilles Francoeur constate aussi un effritement des ressources dans trois grands dossiers, dont celui de l’assainissement des eaux, aux côtés des changements climatiques et de la restauration des sites miniers.

C’est un travail remarquable qu’a accompli Louis-Gilles Francoeur, qui a réussi à démontrer et exprimer ce dont on est témoin depuis des années à Fondation Rivières. Pour tous ceux qui ont à cœur les questions d’ordre environnementales et politiques, on vous invite à prendre connaissance du percutant livre La caution verte, aux éditions Écosociété.

Pour aller plus loin

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser