About us

Share

Mission

The Rivers Foundation is a non-profit organization whose mission is to work for preservation, restoration and enhancement of the natural character of rivers- as well as to maintain better water quality.

The Foundation wants to protect endangered rivers against the threats of:

Dams – Laying concrete on rivers destroys  falls, ecosystems and landscapes. Hydropower production is falsely presented as a solution to greenhouse gas emissions problem while other more effective alternatives exist. Visit www.avecenergie.org or watch the documentary Chercher le courant to learn more about it. 

Axphyxiation of watercourses by pollution– Small watercourses and lands drainage systems feed bigger rivers. They are often open sewers, affected by erosion and pollution.

Embankments and destruction of river banks – River banks act as filter by retaining small particules and preventing soil erosion. They are essential to maintain the water quality and health of the ecosystems.

Economic interests – Citizens must be able to protect local environmental interests. Otherwise, only economic interests will prevail in decision making.

To achieve its mission, the Rivers Foundation constantly informs the public through various media, educates the public about issues affecting rivers, and mobilizes citizens for the defense of Quebec’s rivers.

The Rivers Foundation aspires to become the reference watchdog  in the defense of Quebec rivers, which implies that it :

1. Collects and coordinates vigilance on the rivers;

2. Collects and disseminates information to the general public and stakeholders;

3. Educates and sensibilize the population, especially young people, to issues affecting the rivers;

4. Supports, guides and mobilizes concerned citizens and any organization involved in the defense of Quebec rivers.

History

In May 2001, the government of Quebec announces that it will launch a new program for the construction and operation of small hydropower stations. At this time, we are learning that 36 sites on 24 rivers in Quebec will be sold to private companies for the establishment of small stations, that is to say, a production of less than 50 megawatts (MW).

In response to this announcement, a large movement of citizens mobilizes and drafts a document to advocate for free rivers. This text emphasizes that falls and rapids are a unique collective heritage in the world and hydropower stations producing less than 50 MW cause significant damage to the environment and produce non-significant energy savings.

In June 2001, the Rivers Foundation, together with partner organizations (Nature Quebec, the Quebec Federation of canoeing and kayaking, Adventure Ecotourism Quebec, SNAP and Eau Secours!) launches an awareness campaign called Adopt a river. Many artists offer their support by agreeing to sponsor symbolically a river threatened by hydropower development. The actor Roy Dupuis takes the Gatineau River.

In autumn 2002, at the initiative of Roy Dupuis, Michel Gauthier and Alain Saladzius the Rivers Foundation officially arises as a non-profit organization involved in the protection of rivers.

À propos

Share

Mission

La Fondation Rivières est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est d’œuvrer à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel des rivières – tout autant que de la qualité de l’eau.

La Fondation veut protéger les rivières menacées :

par les barrages – Le bétonnage des rivières détruit les chutes, les écosystèmes et les paysages. La production d’hydroélectricité est faussement présentée comme une solution au problème des émissions de gaz à effet de serre alors que d’autres alternatives plus efficaces existent ; voir www.avecenergie.org et le film Chercher le courant.

par la pollution  qui asphyxie les cours d’eau – Les petits cours d’eau et les réseaux de drainage des terres alimentent les rivières. Ils constituent souvent des égouts à ciel ouvert, affectés par l’érosion et la pollution diffuse.

par les remblais et la détérioration des rives qui protègent les rivières – Les rives agissent comme filtre, retiennent les matières et préviennent l’érosion des sols.

 

par des intérêts économiques – Il importe que les citoyens puissent défendre localement les intérêts de l’environnement sans quoi les intérêts économiques pourront prévaloir lors des prises de décisions.

 

Pour réaliser sa mission, la Fondation Rivières informe constamment la population à travers divers médias, sensibilise le public aux enjeux affectant les rivières, et mobilise les citoyens pour la défense des rivières du Québec.

La Fondation Rivières aspire à se consolider comme le chien de garde de référence dans la défense des rivières au Québec, ce qui implique qu’elle:

1. Rassemble et coordonne la vigilance sur les rivières;

2. Recueille et diffuse l’information auprès du grand public et des acteurs concernés;

3. Éduque et sensibilise la population, et surtout les jeunes, aux enjeux affectant les rivières;

4. Soutien, oriente et mobilise les citoyens concernés et tout organisme impliqué dans la défense des rivières au Québec.

Histoire

En mai 2001, le gouvernement du Québec annonçait le lancement d’un nouveau programme pour la construction et l’exploitation de petites centrales hydroélectriques. On apprenait alors que 36 sites sur 24 rivières du Québec seraient cédés à des sociétés privées pour l’implantation de petites centrales, c’est-à-dire d’une production inférieure à  50 mégawatts (MW).

En réaction à cette annonce, un vaste mouvement de citoyens se met en branle et conduit à la rédaction du document Plaidoyer pour des rivières libres. Ce texte souligne le fait que les chutes et les rapides constituent un patrimoine collectif unique à l’échelle mondiale et que les centrales de moins de 50 MW causent des dommages importants à l’environnement et ne produisent des gains énergétiques négligeables.

En juin 2001, la Fondation Rivières, de concert avec des organismes partenaires (Nature Québec, la Fédération québécoise du canot et du kayak, Aventure Écotourisme Québec, SNAP et Eau Secours!), lance l’opération de sensibilisation Adoptez une rivière. De nombreux artistes offrent leur soutien en acceptant symboliquement de parrainer une rivière menacée. Le comédien Roy Dupuis adopte la rivière Gatineau.

À l’automne 2002, à l’initiative de Roy Dupuis, de Michel Gauthier et d’Alain Saladzius, la Fondation Rivières prend officiellement naissance comme organisme à but non lucratif impliqué dans la sauvegarde des rivières.