La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Sale of Hydro-Québec land: the jewel that is the Red River and other heritage rivers is priceless

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, the April 3, 2019 – Fondation Rivières considers that Hydro-Québec has a social responsibility towards the conservation of the last virgin rivers of Quebec. These rivers constitute a water heritage of inestimable value that must be preserved for all the services they provide us in their natural state: sources of drinking water, habitats for countless fauna and flora species, engines of various economic and recreational activities, vacation spots and places of rejuvenation par excellence.

The information to the effect thatHydro-Québec is in the process of selling its land bordering the Rouge River to the highest bidder, over a distance of some six kilometers, dismays us. This sale would have the consequence of altering a still virgin natural environment and, more directly, of depriving the Montreal region of an exceptional environmental environment. Even more directly, some 130 jobs at two rafting companies are directly affected, because they risk being deprived of access to the banks of the Red River, essential to maintaining their activities. Fundamentally, it is the attraction of the Red River with its natural rafting experience, which attracts more than 20,000 people annually, that is threatened. This river is one of the only large rivers that is still in its natural state and relatively accessible to the Montreal population.

The Québec Aventure Plein Air site ranks the Red River in 3rd position in its Top 10 rivers in Quebec. The website Trip Advisor Canada ranks the two rafting companies on the Red River in 6th and 8th position among the 19 places offering outdoor rafting and tubing activities in Quebec.

But there are also the Magpie, Manitou, and Tonnerre rivers, Batiscan, Pentecost, Maskinongé, and others, which must be highlighted because there are still grandiose falls there. Such characteristics are valuable for Quebec. In France, millions of travelers visit cathedrals. In Quebec, it is our extremely rare falls and rivers still in a natural setting that constitute an increasingly sought-after attraction. These are particularly inspiring powers of water for those who approach them. These falls and these rivers are, in our eyes, veritable cathedrals of water. We must protect them.

We therefore urge Hydro-Québec and the government of Quebec to create the conditions that would allow these exceptional lands to be preserved. Hydro-Québec must protect the rare sites that constitute exceptional heritage. The development of a policy for developing the numerous waterfront lands owned by Hydro-Québec is essential.

-30- 

For information :

Alain Saladzius, eng., president
Paul Piché, godfather of the Red River
514 924-2013

Photo: Red River, Chrisspilon/Wikipedia

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Vente d’un terrain d’Hydro-Québec : le joyau que sont la rivière Rouge et d’autres rivières patrimoniales n’ont pas de prix

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 3 avril 2019 – La Fondation Rivières considère qu’Hydro-Québec a une responsabilité sociale face à la conservation des dernières rivières vierges du Québec. Ces rivières constituent un patrimoine hydrique d’une valeur inestimable qu’il faut préserver pour tous les services qu’elles nous rendent à l’état naturel : sources d’eau potable, habitats pour d’innombrables espèces fauniques et floristiques, moteurs d’activités économiques et récréatives diverses, lieux de villégiature et de ressourcement par excellence.

L’information à l’effet qu’Hydro-Québec est en processus de vendre au plus offrant son terrain bordant la rivière Rouge, sur une distance de quelques six kilomètres, nous consterne. Cette vente aurait pour conséquence d’altérer un milieu naturel encore vierge et, plus directement, de priver la région Montréalaise d’un milieu environnemental exceptionnel. Encore plus directement, quelque 130 emplois de deux entreprises de rafting sont directement affectés, car elles risquent d’être privées d’accès aux berges de la rivière Rouge, essentiels au maintien de leurs activités. Fondamentalement, c’est l’attrait de la rivière Rouge avec son expérience de rafting en milieu naturel, qui attire annuellement plus de 20 000 personnes, qui est menacé. Cette rivière est l’une des seules grandes rivières qui soit encore à l’état naturel et relativement accessible à la population Montréalaise.

Le site Québec Aventure Plein Air classe la rivière Rouge en 3e position dans son Top 10 des rivières
au Québec
. Le site Trip Advisor Canada classe les deux entreprises de rafting sur la rivière Rouge en 6e et 8e position parmi les 19 endroits offrant des activités en plein air de rafting et tubing au Québec.

Mais il y aussi les rivières Magpie, Manitou, au Tonnerre, Batiscan, Pentecôte, Maskinongé, et autres, qui doivent être mises en valeur car on y on trouve encore des chutes grandioses. De telles caractéristiques sont précieuses pour le Québec. En France, des millions de voyageurs visitent les cathédrales. Au Québec, ce sont nos rarissimes chutes et rivières encore dans un cadre naturel qui constituent une attraction de plus en plus recherchée. Ce sont des puissances d’eau particulièrement inspirantes pour ceux et celles qui s’en approchent. Ces chutes et ces rivières sont, à nos yeux, de véritables cathédrales d’eau. Il faut les protéger.

Nous enjoignons conséquemment Hydro-Québec et le gouvernement du Québec à réunir les conditions qui permettraient de sauvegarder ces terrains exceptionnels. Hydro-Québec doit protéger les rares sites qui constituent un patrimoine exceptionnel. L’élaboration d’une politique de mise en valeur des nombreux terrains riverains que possède Hydro-Québec s’impose.

-30- 

Pour information

Alain Saladzius, ing., président
Paul Piché, parrain de la rivière Rouge
514 924-2013

Photo : Rivière Rouge, Chrisspilon/Wikipedia

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser