La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

A coalition denounces the abandonment of Éconologis, the only program aimed at reducing the energy bills of low-income households.

Fondation Rivières

The coalition, supported by more than 250 Quebec organizations…

2010-01-19 08:54 – Press release

Alma, January 19, 2010 – A coalition of organizations from across Quebec denounces the decision of the Energy Efficiency Agency (AEÉ) to abandon Éconologis, the only energy efficiency program intended for low-income households. The coalition, supported by more than 250 Quebec organizations, is requesting the intervention of the Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife, Nathalie Normandeau, to get the AEE to review its position.

The AEE recently asked the Régie de l'énergie to authorize it to put an end to the Éconologis program as of April 1, 2010. Launched in 1999, this program has enabled more than 60,000 low-income households, as many tenants as owners, to benefit from free home visits to receive advice and benefit from light energy efficiency work as well as the installation of energy saving products. “Éconologis is the only energy efficiency measure that makes it possible to specifically reach a clientele who otherwise does not benefit from any program,” explains Gilles Girard, general manager at Négawatts Production Inc.

The decision angered consumer defense organizations, particularly because the AEE intends to replace Éconologis with a program that will exclude a large proportion of low-income people. In addition, the pilot phase of the replacement program is already worryingly behind schedule. If the pilot project fails, the hasty withdrawal of Éconologis will leave many poor households in the lurch.

Low-income families generally have old, energy-consuming appliances and often live in cold, poorly insulated homes that consume a significant amount of energy. Traditional energy efficiency measures reach these households with great difficulty, particularly because many are tenants or have no money to invest in work.

“It would be unfair and unacceptable if disadvantaged households, who finance energy efficiency programs through energy rates and who need these programs more than others, could no longer have access to them,” denounces Gilles Girard.

Éconologis, delivered by 12 non-profit organizations such as Négawatts, enabled in 2008-2009 some 12,700 disadvantaged households, from all regions of Quebec, to benefit from free energy saving measures, reduce their bills and better face the rigors of winter.

Source: Gilles Girard

(418) 668-2626

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Une coalition dénonce l’abandon d’Éconologis, le seul programme visant à réduire la facture d’énergie des ménages à faible revenu.

La coalition, appuyée par plus de 250 organismes québécois…

2010-01-19 08:54 – Communiqué de presse

201011985415logo_negawatts

Alma, le 19 janvier 2010 – Une coalition d’organismes de tout le Québec dénonce la décision de l’Agence d’efficacité énergétique (AEÉ) d’abandonner Éconologis, le seul programme d’efficacité énergétique destiné aux ménages à faible revenu. La coalition, appuyée par plus de 250 organismes québécois, demande l’intervention de la ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Nathalie Normandeau, pour amener l’AEÉ à revoir sa position.

L’AEÉ a récemment demandé à la Régie de l’énergie de l’autoriser à mettre un terme au programme Éconologis dès le 1er avril 2010. Lancé en 1999, ce programme a permis à plus de 60 000 ménages à faible revenu, autant locataires que propriétaires, de bénéficier de visites gratuites à domicile pour recevoir des conseils et bénéficier de travaux légers d’efficacité énergétique ainsi que de l’installation de produits permettant l’économie d’énergie. « Éconologis est la seule mesure d’efficacité énergétique qui permet de rejoindre spécifiquement une clientèle qui, autrement, ne bénéficie d’aucun programme », précise Gilles Girard, directeur général chez Négawatts Production Inc.

La décision a provoqué la colère des organismes de défense des consommateurs, notamment parce que l’AEÉ entend remplacer Éconologis par un programme qui exclura une grande proportion de personnes à faible revenu. De plus, la phase pilote du programme de remplacement accuse déjà un retard inquiétant. Advenant l’échec du projet pilote, le retrait précipité d’Éconologis laissera de nombreux ménages démunis en plan.

Les familles à faible revenu disposent généralement de vieux appareils énergivores et logent souvent dans des habitations froides et mal isolées qui consomment une quantité importante d’énergie. Les mesures traditionnelles d’efficacité énergétique rejoignent très difficilement ces ménages, notamment parce que plusieurs sont locataires ou qu’ils n’ont pas d’argent à investir dans des travaux.

«Ce serait injuste et inacceptable que les ménages défavorisés, qui financent les programmes d’efficacité énergétique par les tarifs d’énergie et qui ont besoin plus que les autres de ces programmes, ne puissent plus y avoir accès», dénonce Gilles Girard.

Éconologis, livré par 12 organismes sans but lucratif tel Négawatts, a permis en 2008-2009 à quelque 12 700 ménages défavorisés, de toutes les régions du Québec, de profiter de mesures gratuites d’économie d’énergie, de réduire leur facture et de mieux affronter les rigueurs de l’hiver.

Source : Gilles Girard

(418) 668-2626

1 réponse
  1. Guylaine Couillard
    Guylaine Couillard dit :

    Bonjour,

    En tant que société démocratique, nous devons appuyer ces organismes qui oeuvrent à promouvoir un logis décent pour ces familles dans le besoin.

    Guylaine Couillard

    Répondre

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *