La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

The surfing community mobilizes to create a wave in Lachine

surf grand montreal lachine

The panorama was spectacular: more than 200 surfers gathered with their boards near the new Lachine waterfront park on Wednesday, August 24. The objective? Express their wish that a “stationary” wave is created there and thus improve accessibility to the river. The association Surfing Greater Montreal, at the origin of the movement, notes a need to create new river waves considering the traffic of current practice locations and the tourist potential of Montreal to become a river surfing capital.

Members of the board of directors of Surf Grand Montréal with Vaja Vodanovic, mayor of Lachine, and Vicki Grondin, at the origin of the Réclame ta rive initiative. Credit: Daniel Rochon

Better access to water thanks to water quality

The mayor of the Lachine district, Maja Vodanovic, was present at the event. Ms. Vodanovic, who is also responsible for consultation with the districts and the water service, mentioned that it is thanks to the improvement in water quality that this sport is increasingly popular and safe. . OUR bathing potential map indicates that at least 90 % of the RSMA samples show good water quality for swimming in dry weather in this sector of Lachine.

Potential south of René-Lévesque Park

It is the south of René-Lévesque Park, which will be subject to redevelopment at the same time as the new Lachine riverside park, which is targeted by surfers. The president of the association, Mathieu Demers, believes that the technical conditions are met. The tip of the park has still not found its purpose, unlike the bay which will serve, among other things, as bathing area.

Rassemblement de surfeurs et surfeuses à Lachine
An atmosphere of solidarity reigned in the waters of the river in Lachine. Credit: Frédéric Thomas

“Every water sport in the bay needs different conditions (…) and surfers need a place that no one else uses [the rapids]. So, when we are going to renovate the tip of the park, it would be interesting to see if it would be possible to work to make it the best possible wave, upon presentation of an initial feasibility study. », explains Maja Vodanovic. 

The development of a feasibility study is part of the association's next steps to bring the project to fruition, the source of funding for which remains to be determined. Surf Grand Montréal works closely with Eau Vive Quebec and Kayak Without Borders (KSF), and listens to the Lachine district. All these stakeholders have the firm intention that the project comes to fruition while respecting the environment and other users (kayakers, swimmers, etc.). An environmental study will also have to be carried out if the feasibility study is conclusive.

This is a project that we will follow closely!

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

La communauté de surf se mobilise pour la création d’une vague à Lachine

Le panorama était spectaculaire : plus de 200 surfeurs et surfeuses se sont rassemblé.e.s avec leur planche près du nouveau parc riverain de Lachine, mercredi le 24 août. L’objectif? Exprimer leur souhait qu’une vague « stationnaire » y soit créée et ainsi améliorier l’accessibilité au fleuve. L’association Surf Grand Montréal, à l’origine du mouvement, constate un besoin de créer de nouvelles vagues de rivière considérant l’achalandage des lieux de pratique actuels et la potentiel touristique de Montréal à devenir une capitale de surf de rivière.

Les membres du conseil d’administration de Surf Grand Montréal avec Vaja Vodanovic, mairesse de Lachine, et Vicki Grondin, à l’origine de l’initiative Réclame ta rive. Crédit : Daniel Rochon

Un meilleur accès à l’eau grâce à la qualié de l’eau

La mairesse de l’arrondissement de Lachine, Maja Vodanovic, était présente à l’événement. Madame Vodanovic, qui est également responsable de la concertation avec les arrondissements et du service de l’eau, a mentionné que c’est grâce à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau que ce sport est de plus en plus populaire et sécuritaire. Notre carte du potentiel de baignade indique qu’au moins 90 % des prélèvements du RSMA montrent une bonne qualité de l’eau pour la baignade en temps sec dans cet secteur de Lachine.

Un potentiel au sud du parc René-Lévesque

C’est le sud du parc René-Lévesque, qui fera l’objet d’un réaménagement en même temps que le nouveau parc riverain de Lachine, qui est visé par les surfeurs. Le président de l’association, Mathieu Demers, croit que les conditions techniques y sont réunies. La pointe du parc n’a toujours pas trouvé sa vocation, contrairement à la baie qui servira entre autre de zone de baignade.

Rassemblement de surfeurs et surfeuses à Lachine
Une ambiance de solidarité régnait dans les eaux du fleuve à Lachine. Crédit : Frédéric Thomas

« Chaque sport nautique dans la baie a besoin de différentes conditions (…) et les surfeurs ont besoin d’un endroit que personne d’autre n’utilise [les rapides]. Alors, quand on va faire la réfection de la pointe du parc, ce serait intéressant de voir s’il serait possible de travailler pour en faire la meilleure vague possible, sur présentation d’une première étude de faisabilité. », explique Maja Vodanovic. 

L’élaboration d’une étude de faisabilité fait justement partie des prochaines démarches de l’association pour la concrétisation du projet, dont la source de financement reste à déterminer. Surf Grand Montréal collabore étroitement avec Eau Vive Québec et Kayak Sans Frontières (KSF), et a l’écoute de l’arrondissement de Lachine. Tous ces acteurs ont la ferme intention que le projet se concrétise dans le respect de l’environnement et des autres usagers (kayakistes, baigneurs, etc.). Une étude environnementale devra d’ailleurs être réalisée si l’étude de faisabilité est concluante.

Voilà on projet qu’on va suivre de près!

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser