La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Quebec water strategy: the population is invited to take up the challenge

Baignade dans un lac

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, June 27, 2018 – The Fondation Rivières welcomes the news Quebec water strategy 2018-2030 made public by the Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MDDELCC). The document has the merit of identifying the numerous challenges to be met in order to improve the quality and preserve the availability of this precious resource that is water. The presentation of the document is accompanied by an unequivocal invitation to the population to contribute widely to it.

The Fondation Rivières very positively welcomes the significant increase in the budgets supporting the Strategy, in particular those dedicated to groups mobilized in the water issue, the creation of a Quebec Water Council bringing together many stakeholders in the issue, and the establishment of a new dedicated information platform, the Water Knowledge Portal, presenting a range of very useful information. This is an important information tool which will provide valuable data to water stakeholders, in particular those publicly requested by the Fondation Rivières in March 2017 concerning the performance of municipal sanitation works.

The Strategy, which replaces the National water policy adopted in 2002, is accompanied by a five-year action plan listing a series of objectives to be achieved. The document does not, however, mention the details relating to certain files showing delays,
in particular for the issuance of sanitation certificates to municipalities. The upgrading of water treatment infrastructure, although mentioned in the action plan, must be accelerated and accompanied by the required federal funding. The Fondation Rivières also recalls the urgent need to apply existing regulations and sanction offenders. The resources and mandates of the Department should be revised accordingly. Ministerial declarations are silent on this subject. The laws and regulations exist, but the Department's inspectors and analysts do not have all the mandates or resources to carry out the necessary controls.

“The Quebec Water Strategy paints a good picture of the issues that the government must tackle, with unequivocal popular support. The government will not succeed in achieving the mentioned objectives alone. It is desirable that every citizen contributes to it. On the other hand, the Ministry's capacity for action remains to be strengthened: its staff must be provided with adequate resources, its budgets must be allocated according to well-identified priorities and existing laws must be applied" summarizes Alain Saladzius, president of the Foundation
Rivers.

- 30 -

For information :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013

Photo: Andrew Ly/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Stratégie québécoise de l’eau : la population est invitée à relever le défi

Baignade dans un lac

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 27 juin 2018 – La Fondation Rivières salue la nouvelle Stratégie québécoise de l’eau 2018-2030 rendue publique par la Ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MDDELCC). Le document a le mérite d’identifier les nombreux défis à relever afin d’améliorer la qualité et préserver la disponibilité de cette précieuse ressource qu’est l’eau. La présentation du document est accompagnée d’une invitation sans équivoque à la population d’y contribuer largement.

La Fondation Rivières accueille très positivement l’augmentation significative des budgets qui supportent la Stratégie, notamment ceux dédiés aux groupes mobilisés dans le dossier de l’eau, à la création d’un Conseil québécois de l’eau regroupant de nombreux intervenants au dossier, et la mise en place d’une nouvelle plate-forme d’information dédiée, le Portail des connaissances sur l’eau, présentant une panoplie d’informations fort utiles. Il s’agit d’un outil d’information important qui fournira de précieuses données aux acteurs de l’eau, notamment celles réclamées publiquement par la Fondation Rivières en mars 2017 concernant la performance des ouvrages d’assainissement municipaux.

La Stratégie, qui vient remplacer la Politique nationale de l’eau adoptée en 2002, est accompagnée d’un plan d’action sur cinq ans énumérant une série d’objectifs à atteindre. Le document ne mentionne toutefois pas les détails relatifs à certains dossiers accusant des retards,
notamment pour l’émission d’attestations d’assainissement aux municipalités. La mise aux normes des infrastructures de traitement des eaux, bien que mentionnée au plan d’action, doit être accélérée et accompagnée du financement fédéral requis. La Fondation Rivières rappelle aussi le besoin urgent d’appliquer la règlementation existante et de sanctionner les contrevenants. Les ressources et les mandats du Ministère devraient être révisés en conséquence. Les déclarations ministérielles sont muettes à ce sujet. Les lois et règlements existent, mais les inspecteurs et analystes du Ministère n’ont pas tous les mandats ni les ressources pour effectuer les contrôles nécessaires.

« La Stratégie québécoise de l’eau dresse un bon portrait des enjeux auxquels le gouvernement doit s’attaquer, avec un appui populaire sans équivoque. Le gouvernement ne réussira pas seul à atteindre les objectifs mentionnés. Il est souhaitable que chaque citoyen y contribue. D’autre part, la capacité d’action du Ministère reste à renforcer : son personnel doit être doté de ressources adéquates, ses budgets doivent être alloués selon des priorités bien identifiées et les lois existantes doivent être appliquées » résume Alain Saladzius, président de la Fondation
Rivières.

– 30 –

Pour information :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013

Photo : Andrew Ly/Unsplash

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.