La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Health, environment, economy: Quebec must stop being a mining Wild West, according to a new survey

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal/Quebec, August 2, 2022 – While large multinationals are eyeing Quebec’s resources and several regions are experiencing a boom unprecedented mining, an new poll reveals that the population is not ready to sacrifice its health and the environment on the altar of the economy. It calls for major reforms to reduce the industry's footprint, protect the health of populations and require the consent of communities before any mining activity on their territory. 

According to the survey carried out by the Léger firm from July 11 to 18, 2022 among 995 respondents from across Quebec, more than 2 in 3 people (68%) believe that the mining industry “generates significant negative impacts on the environment”. Among the solutions explored in the survey, we note: 

  • Health and the environment before the economy : Nearly 4 out of 5 (79%) say that health and the environment must be prioritized before the economy, “even if this means that certain mining projects will have to cease operations”. Just 1 in 3 people (28%) say industry and governments are “doing enough to protect the environment.” 
  • Reduce at source: Four in five respondents (80%) emphasize that “governments must prioritize the reuse and recycling of minerals before mining more,” and more than 1 in 2 (54%) think that “reducing mining is necessary to fight climate change”; 
  • Prohibit the discharge of mining waste into lakes and sensitive environments: Almost all respondents (89%) are in favor of stricter environmental measures, including “prohibiting the discharge of mining waste into any lake, river or sensitive ecological environment”. 
  • Environmental assessments and tougher sanctions: A similar proportion favors “requiring that all mining and expansion projects be subject to environmental assessments” and “severely penalizing any violation of environmental and public health standards” (86% and 87%, respectively). 
  • Consent of the populations: While several communities are currently mobilizing in the face of controversial mining projects in Quebec, a high proportion (78%) of respondents say they are in favor of requiring "the consent of local populations (e.g.: municipalities, Indigenous Nations) before 'authorize any mining activity on their territory'; 
  • Tourist and resort areas: Three out of four people (75%) ask to “ban all mining projects in tourist or resort areas”. 

Concerning the Horne Foundry in Rouyn-Noranda, more than 4 out of 5 people (81%) affirm that its installations “must respect the same emissions standards for arsenic and other metals as everywhere else in Quebec”. Same story regarding another installation where the multinational Glencore is also involved, with nearly 3 out of 4 people (73%) maintaining that “air pollution with nickel and other metals at the Port of Quebec must stop”. 

A second part of the survey relating to mining taxation will be published in the coming days. The maximum margin of error for the survey is 3.1%, 19 times out of 20. The survey was carried out at the request of the Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine and partner organizations. 

- 30 -

Source :
Quebec Better Look Coalition

For information :

National organizations (alphabetical):

  • Richard Desjardins, Action boréale, 514-708-0134 (via Messrs. Lapointe or Turgeon)
  • Claudel Pétrin-Desrosiers, Quebec Association of Physicians for the Environment, 438-831-0594
  • Anne-Sophie Doré, Quebec Environmental Law Center, 514-980-4572
  • Ugo Lapointe, Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine, 514-708-0134
  • Rodrigue Turgeon, Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine and MiningWatch Canada, 819-444-9226 
  • Émile Boisseau-Bouvier, Équiterre, 514-605-2000
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, 514-246-9075
  • Charles Bonhomme, David Suzuki Foundation, 438-883-8348
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666 #301
  • Alice-Anne Simard, Nature Québec, 418-803-4992
  • Daniel Green, Society to Defeat Pollution, 514-245-4676

Regional and citizen organizations (alphabetical): 

  • Daniel Tokatélof, Association for the Protection of Lake Taureau, 514-973-5187, 514-212-2112
  • May Dagher, Coalition of opponents of a mining project in Haute-Matawinie, 438-820-5800 
  • Nicole Desgagnés, Rouyn-Noranda Arrest Committee, 819-277-8890
  • Chantal Maillé, Central Council of the CSN in the Laurentians, 819-421-4492
  • Véronique Lalande, Citizen Vigilance Initiative of the Port of Quebec, 514-566-5432
  • Marc Nantel, Abitibi-Témiscamingue mines vigilance group, 819-734-7981
  • Louis St-Hilaire, Group for the protection of the lakes of the Petite-Nation, 514-591-9167
  • Jacqueline Richer or Normand Éthier, SOS-Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, 819-242-0201, 438-521-8351

Elected officials and municipalities:

  • Benoît Lauzon, prefect of the MRC of Papineau, 514-591-9167 (via M. St-Hilaire)
  • David Pharand, Mayor of Duhamel, 819-981-0308
  • Tom Arnold, Mayor of Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, 613-677-1001

About Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine

Coalition So that Quebec looks better! was created in the spring of 2008 and is today made up of around thirty organizations, including Fondation Rivières, representing more than 250,000 members in Quebec. The coalition's mission is to review the way in which the mining sector is managed and developed in Quebec, in order to harmonize its activities with the community and promote best practices on a social and environmental level.

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Santé, environnement, économie : Québec doit cesser d’être un Far West minier, selon un nouveau sondage

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal/Québec, 2 août 2022 – Alors que de grandes multinationales reluquent les ressources du Québec et que plusieurs régions vivent un boom minier sans précédent, un nouveau sondage révèle que la population n’est pas prête à sacrifier sa santé et l’environnement sur l’autel de l’économie. Elle demande des réformes majeures pour réduire l’empreinte de l’industrie, protéger la santé des populations et exiger le consentement des communautés avant toute activité minière sur leur territoire. 

Selon le sondage réalisé par la firme Léger du 11 au 18 juillet 2022 auprès de 995 répondants de partout au Québec, plus de 2 personnes sur 3 (68%) estiment que l’industrie minière « engendre des impacts négatifs importants sur l’environnement ». Parmi les solutions explorées dans le sondage, notons : 

  • La santé et l’environnement avant l’économie : Près de 4 sur 5 (79%) affirment qu’il faut prioriser la santé et l’environnement avant l’économie, « même si cela signifie que certains projets miniers devront cesser leurs opérations ». À peine 1 personne sur 3 (28%) affirme que l’industrie et les gouvernements « en font assez pour protéger l’environnement ». 
  • Réduire à la source : Quatre répondants sur cinq (80%) soulignent que « les gouvernements doivent prioriser la réutilisation et le recyclage des minéraux avant d’exploiter davantage de mines », et plus de 1 personne sur 2 (54%) pensent que « réduire l’extraction minière est nécessaire pour lutter contre les changements climatiques »; 
  • Interdire le rejet de déchets miniers dans les lacs et milieux sensibles : La quasi-totalité des répondants (89%) sont favorables à des mesures environnementales plus strictes, dont « interdire le rejet de déchets miniers dans tout lac, rivière ou milieu écologique sensible ». 
  • Évaluations environnementales et sanctions plus sévères : Une proportion semblable est en faveur « d’exiger que tous les projets de mines et d’agrandissement soient soumis à des évaluations environnementales » et de « pénaliser sévèrement toute infraction aux normes environnementales et de santé publique » (86% et 87%, respectivement). 
  • Consentement des populations: Alors que plusieurs collectivités se mobilisent actuellement face à des projets miniers controversés au Québec, une forte proportion (78%) de répondants se disent favorables d’exiger « le consentement des populations locales (p.ex.: municipalités, Nations autochtones) avant d’autoriser toute activité minière sur leur territoire »; 
  • Zones touristiques et de villégiature : Trois personnes sur quatre (75%) demandent « d’interdire tout projet minier dans des zones touristiques ou de villégiature ». 

Concernant la Fonderie Horne à Rouyn-Noranda, plus de 4 personnes sur 5 (81%) affirment que ses installations « doivent respecter les mêmes normes d’émissions d’arsenic et d’autres métaux que partout ailleurs au Québec ». Même son de cloche concernant une autre installation où est aussi impliquée la multinationale Glencore, avec près de 3 personnes sur 4 (73%) soutenant que « la pollution de l’air en nickel et d’autres métaux au Port de Québec doit cesser ». 

Un deuxième volet du sondage portant sur la fiscalité minière sera publié dans les prochains jours. La marge d’erreur maximale du sondage est de 3,1%, 19 fois sur 20. Le sondage a été réalisé à la demande de la Coalition Québec meilleure mine et d’organismes partenaires. 

– 30 –

Source :
Coalition Québec meilleure mine

Pour information :

Organisations nationales (alphabétique) :

  • Richard Desjardins, Action boréale, 514-708-0134 (via MM. Lapointe ou Turgeon)
  • Claudel Pétrin-Desrosiers, Association québécoise des médecins pour l’environnement, 438-831-0594
  • Anne-Sophie Doré, Centre québécois du droit de l’environnement, 514-980-4572
  • Ugo Lapointe, Coalition Québec meilleure mine, 514-708-0134
  • Rodrigue Turgeon, Coalition Québec meilleure mine et MiningWatch Canada, 819-444-9226 
  • Émile Boisseau-Bouvier, Équiterre, 514-605-2000
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, 514-246-9075
  • Charles Bonhomme, Fondation David Suzuki, 438-883-8348
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666 #301
  • Alice-Anne Simard, Nature Québec, 418-803-4992
  • Daniel Green, Société pour vaincre la pollution, 514-245-4676

Organisations régionales et citoyennes (alphabétique): 

  • Daniel Tokatélof, Association pour la protection du Lac Taureau, 514-973-5187, 514-212-2112
  • May Dagher, Coalition des opposants à un projet minier en Haute-Matawinie, 438-820-5800 
  • Nicole Desgagnés, Comité Arrêt de Rouyn-Noranda, 819-277-8890
  • Chantal Maillé, Conseil central de la CSN dans les Laurentides, 819-421-4492
  • Véronique Lalande, Initiative citoyenne de vigilance du Port de Québec, 514-566-5432
  • Marc Nantel, Regroupement vigilance mines de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, 819-734-7981
  • Louis St-Hilaire, Regroupement pour la protection des lacs de la Petite-Nation, 514-591-9167
  • Jacqueline Richer ou Normand Éthier, SOS-Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, 819-242-0201, 438-521-8351

Élus et municipalités :

  • Benoît Lauzon, préfet de la MRC de Papineau, 514-591-9167 (via M. St-Hilaire)
  • David Pharand, maire de Duhamel, 819-981-0308
  • Tom Arnold, maire de Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, 613-677-1001

À propos de Coalition Québec meilleure mine

La coalition Pour que le Québec ait meilleure mine ! a vu le jour au printemps 2008 et est, aujourd’hui, constituée d’une trentaine d’organismes, dont Fondation Rivières, représentant plus de 250 000 membres au Québec. La coalition s’est donnée pour mission de revoir la façon dont on encadre et développe le secteur minier au Québec, afin d’harmoniser ses activités avec le milieu et de promouvoir de meilleures pratiques aux plans social et environnemental.

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser