La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Châteauguay and Saint-Louis rivers: municipalities continue to pollute happily

Rivière Châteauguay

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, April 18, 2016 - A performance analysis of the 17 wastewater treatment systems in the watersheds of the Châteauguay and Saint-Louis rivers for the period 2008-2015 shows several sources of pollution and cases of non-compliance with government requirements.

The report lists some 785 wastewater overflows, including overflows during dry weather in the town of Beauharnois for several years without any corrective action. This is an illegal situation according to the regulations and for which the Ministry of Sustainable Development, Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MDDELCC) should have imposed fines since 2014.

In addition, the Beauharnois wastewater treatment plant does not meet treatment requirements with recurring exceedances of the 25 mg/l limit for suspended solids. In addition, this same station does not eliminate phosphorus from the water (unlike other municipalities bordering Lake Saint-Louis) and does not disinfect its water.

The Fondation Rivières sent its detailed report of information to the municipalities concerned as well as to local organizations and deputies.

Sewage spills

The palm of gold for pollution goes hands down to the town of Beauharnois with more than 50 % (404 out of 785) spills in 2015, 10 non-compliance with MDDELCC requirements and 22 wastewater overflows in dry weather . This last problem is particularly worrying because already in 2014 there were 48 overflows in dry weather. This problem has appeared every year since 2012, so it is a problem that has been known for a long time. This is an unusual loss of control in wastewater management and is all the more serious as the overflows occur in particular at the Sauvé, Saint-Louis and Julien stations, the most important in the City. It is the only municipality whose wastewater ends up in the river even though it is not raining.

Under article 8 of Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works (ROMAEU), the overflow of wastewater in dry weather into the environment of a municipal sanitation facility is prohibited. Articles 23 and 28 respectively provide for an administrative monetary penalty of 10,000 $ or a criminal penalty of 30,000 $ to 6,000,000 $ for the operator of a sanitation work whose work suffers an overflow in dry weather or who does not respect the measures he has planned to mitigate or eliminate the effects of an overflow. Municipalities are required to notify the MDDELCC of such overflows or equipment failure according to article 15.

The city of Châteauguay occupies second place in the list with 258 overflows in 2015 and two cases of non-compliance with MDDELCC requirements. This is a slight improvement compared to 2014 (296 overflows) but a deterioration compared to 2013 (189 overflows). We note that the Rodrigue-Caron pumping station which receives 53 % of City water frequently overflows, approximately 25 times per year, while the Reid pumping station, which receives all City water, must be monitored, with notices of non-compliance having been issued in 2013 and 2014.

Wastewater

The wastewater treatment plants have excellent performance overall except in Beauharnois where the concentration of suspended solids exceeds the permitted limits of 25 mg/l reaching 57.5 mg/l for the first three months of 2015. The averages do not have not been respected for years. Phosphorus is not removed from the water and there is no disinfection system. The Saint-Isidore and Saint-Michel (Merles station) wastewater treatment plants are also deficient. The Saint-Isidore station has experienced recurring problems since 2012. The phosphorus removal objectives have never been met there since 2012 and the effluent exceeded the standard of 25 mg/l in BOD5C in 2015 with an average concentration of 36 mg/l. l, which does not comply with the regulations.
Article 6 of the ROMAEU requires that the effluent from any wastewater treatment plant meets a standard for biochemical oxygen demand after 5 days, carbonaceous part, less than 25 mg/l. Article 23 provides for an administrative monetary penalty of 10,000 $ or a criminal penalty of 30,000 $ to 6,000,000 $ for the operator of a municipal work who does not comply with the standard provided for in article 6.
Data from the Merles station in the municipality of Saint-Michel, incomplete in 2015, show non-compliance with phosphorus removal and disinfection requirements, with too many discharges of fecal coliforms, since 2010.

No data

We note that data is missing for several municipalities, which does not comply with regulations, and, therefore, the following performances could not be evaluated:
• Overflows: Saint-Rémi 2015 and 2014, Sainte-Martine 2015;
• Treatment: Saint-Rémi – 2015 and 2014, Sainte-Martine – 2014, Sainte-Clotilde-deChâteauguay – 2015 and 2014, Howick – 2015 and 2014.

Article 12 of the ROMAEU stipulates that the operator of a municipal work must transmit electronically no later than 42 days following the end of each month a report including in particular flow measurements, water sampling results and overflow readings. Article 20 provides for an administrative monetary penalty of 1,000 $ and article 24 a criminal penalty of 3,000 $ to 600,000 $ to an operator of a municipal work who refuses or neglects to transmit any information or who does not comply these deadlines.

Water treatment in rainy weather

Sewer networks and wastewater treatment plants must operate at full capacity during heavy rains. However, it is sometimes impossible to convey all the water to the treatment system. Spills to rivers are then necessary and these must be minimized when significant environmental impacts are anticipated. In addition to being foul-smelling and a serious threat to health, wastewater affects fish habitat, prevents swimming, harms water activities and fishing, and modifies ecosystems.

Annual reports

The ROMAEU requires that municipalities submit a report on April 1 of each year presenting all the information concerning the operation of the works for the previous year.

Article 20 of the regulation provides for an administrative or financial penalty of 1,000 $ for operators who fail to submit such a report on time, or a criminal penalty of 3,000 $ to 600,000 $ for the operator of a work municipal wastewater treatment plant which fails to transmit a report in accordance with sections 12 and 13 or to respect the deadlines or conditions set for their production;

All municipalities in Quebec should therefore have produced their annual sanitation performance report for the year 2015.

The data used for this assessment of Châteauguay rivers and Saint-Louis come from the monitoring system for municipal water sanitation works (SOMAE) of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy.

- 30 -

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

View full data

Photo: Christophe Gravel

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Rivières Châteauguay et Saint-Louis : des municipalités continuent de polluer allègrement

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 18 avril 2016 – Une analyse de la performance des 17 systèmes d’assainissement des eaux usées des bassins versants des rivières Châteauguay et Saint-Louis pour la période 2008-2015 montre plusieurs sources de pollution et de cas de non-respect des exigences gouvernementales.

Le rapport dénombre quelques 785 débordements d’eaux usées, notamment des débordements par temps sec dans la ville de Beauharnois depuis plusieurs années sans qu’aucun correctif n’ait été apporté. Il s’agit d’une situation illégale selon la réglementation et pour laquelle le ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MDDELCC) aurait dû imposer des amendes depuis 2014.

De plus, la station d’épuration des eaux usées de Beauharnois ne respecte pas les exigences de traitement avec des dépassements récurrents de la limite de 25 mg/l pour les matières en suspension. De plus, cette même station n’élimine pas le phosphore de l’eau (contrairement aux autres municipalités riveraines du lac Saint-Louis) et ne désinfecte pas ses eaux.

La Fondation Rivières a transmis son rapport détaillé des informations aux municipalités concernées ainsi qu’aux organismes du milieu et aux députés.

Déversements d’eaux usées

La palme d’or de la pollution revient haut la main à la ville de Beauharnois avec plus de 50 % (404 sur 785) des déversements en 2015, 10 non-respects des exigences du MDDELCC et 22 débordements d’eaux usées en temps sec. Ce dernier problème est particulièrement préoccupant car déjà en 2014 il y eut 48 débordements en temps sec. Ce problème apparaît à chaque année depuis 2012, il s’agit donc d’une problématique connue depuis longtemps. Il s’agit d’une perte de contrôle peu courante dans la gestion des eaux usées et d’autant plus grave que les débordements se produisent notamment aux postes Sauvé, Saint-Louis et Julien, les plus importants de la Ville. C’est la seule municipalité dont des eaux usées se retrouvent à la rivière alors qu’il ne pleut pas.

En vertu de l’article 8 du Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées (ROMAEU), le débordement en temps sec d’eaux usées dans l’environnement d’un ouvrage municipal d’assainissement est interdit. Les articles 23 et 28 prévoient respectivement une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 10 000 $ ou une sanction pénale de 30 000 $ à 6 000 000 $ pour l’exploitant d’un ouvrage d’assainissement dont l’ouvrage subit un débordement en temps sec ou qui ne respecte pas les mesures qu’il a planifiées pour atténuer ou éliminer les effets d’un débordement. Les municipalités sont tenues d’aviser le MDDELCC de tels débordements ou défaillance d’équipements selon l’article 15.

La ville de Châteauguay occupe la seconde place du palmarès avec 258 débordements en 2015 et deux cas de non-respects des exigences du MDDELCC. Il s’agit d’une légère amélioration par rapport à 2014 (296 débordements) mais une détérioration par rapport à 2013 (189 débordements). On note que le poste de pompage Rodrigue-Caron qui reçoit 53 % des eaux de la Ville déborde fréquemment, soit environ 25 fois par année, tandis que le poste de pompage Reid, qui reçoit toutes les eaux de la Ville, est à surveiller, avec des avis de non-conformités ayant été émis en 2013 et 2014.

Traitement des eaux usées

Les stations d’épuration ont une excellente performance dans l’ensemble sauf à Beauharnois où la concentration en matières en suspension dépasse les limites permises de 25 mg/l atteignant 57,5 mg/l pour les trois premiers mois de 2015. Les moyennes ne sont pas respectées depuis des années. Le phosphore n’est pas enlevé des eaux et il n’y a aucun système de désinfection. Les stations d’épuration de Saint-Isidore et de Saint-Michel (station des Merles) sont également déficientes. La station de Saint-Isidore connaît des problèmes récurrents depuis 2012. Les objectifs en déphosphatation n’y ont jamais été rencontrés depuis 2012 et l’effluent dépassait la norme de 25 mg/l en DBO5C en 2015 avec une concentration moyenne de 36 mg/l, ce qui ne respecte pas la réglementation.
L’article 6 du ROMAEU exige que l’effluent de toute station d’épuration respecte une norme en demande biochimique en oxygène après 5 jours, partie carbonée, inférieure à 25 mg/l. L’article 23 prévoit une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 10 000 $ ou une sanction pénale de 30 000 $ à 6 000 000 $ pour l’exploitant d’un ouvrage municipal qui ne respecte pas la norme prévue à l’article 6.
Les données de la station des Merles de la municipalité de Saint-Michel, incomplètes en 2015,
montrent un non-respect des exigences en déphosphatation et en désinfection, avec trop de rejets
de coliformes fécaux, depuis 2010.

Absence de données

On note que les données sont manquantes pour plusieurs municipalités, ce qui ne respecte pas la réglementation, et, ainsi, les performances suivantes n’ont pu être évaluées:
• Débordements : Saint-Rémi 2015 et 2014, Sainte-Martine 2015;
• Traitement : Saint-Rémi – 2015 et 2014, Sainte-Martine – 2014, Sainte-Clotilde-deChâteauguay – 2015 et 2014, Howick – 2015 et 2014.

L’article 12 du ROMAEU stipule que l’exploitant d’un ouvrage municipal doit transmettre par voie électronique au plus tard 42 jours suivant la fin de chaque mois un rapport comprenant notamment les mesures de débit, les résultats d’échantillonnage des eaux et les relevés de débordements. L’article 20 prévoit une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 1 000 $ et l’article 24 une sanction pénale de 3 000 $ à 600 000 $ à un exploitant d’un ouvrage municipal qui refuse ou néglige de transmettre toute information ou qui ne respecte pas ces délais.

Le traitement des eaux en temps de pluie

Les réseaux d’égouts et les stations d’épuration des eaux usées doivent opérer à pleine capacité lors des grandes pluies. Or, il est parfois impossible d’acheminer toutes les eaux au système de traitement. Des déversements aux rivières sont alors nécessaires et ceux-ci doivent être minimisés lorsque des impacts environnementaux importants sont anticipés. En plus d’être nauséabondes et une grave menace pour la santé, les eaux usées affectent l’habitat du poisson, empêchent la baignade, nuisent aux activités nautiques et à la pêche, et modifient les écosystèmes.

Les rapports annuels

Le ROMAEU exige que les municipalités remettent le 1er avril de chaque année un rapport présentant toutes les informations concernant l’exploitation des ouvrages pour l’année précédente.

L’article 20 du règlement prévoit une sanction administrative ou pécuniaire de 1 000 $ pour les exploitants qui négligent de transmettre un tel rapport dans les délais, ou une sanction pénale de 3 000 $ à 600 000 $ pour l’exploitant d’un ouvrage municipal d’assainissement des eaux usées qui fait défaut de transmettre un rapport conformément aux articles 12 et 13 ou de respecter les délais ou les conditions fixés pour leur production;

Toutes les municipalités du Québec devraient donc avoir produit leur rapport annuel de
performance d’assainissement pour l’année 2015.

Les données utilisées pour ce bilan des rivières Châteauguay et Saint-Louis proviennent du système de suivi « Suivi des ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux » (SOMAE) du ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire.

– 30 –

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser