La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Rivière du Nord: Better wastewater treatment is needed before you can swim between Prévost and Saint-Jérôme

Rivière du Nord

PRESS RELEASE
FOR BROADCAST ON AUGUST 11 at 7 A.M.

Montreal, August 11, 2023 – The Fondation Rivières reveals the results of a study on the bacteriological quality of the water of the Rivière du Nord between Saint-Jérôme and Prévost. These Cities have mandated the non-profit organization to assess the potential for swimming and water activities in order to offer their population access to quality water for the practice of these activities.

Data collected in the summer of 2022 indicates levels ofEscherichia coli (E.coli) acceptable for the practice of indirect contact water activities (canoe, kayak, paddleboard, etc.) for all sites (only one exceedance). However, the potential for swimming turned out to be non-existent since this activity requires concentrations ofE.coli lower, i.e. a maximum of 200 CFU/100 mL while that of indirect contact activities is 1,000 CFU/100 mL.

What is the origin of the problem?

The sources of contamination contributing to degrading the water quality of the Rivière du Nord are of municipal origin. In particular, high levels of fecal coliforms in the effluent of the Sainte-Adèle station (Mont-Rolland) have resulted on numerous occasions in a significant degradation of the water quality of the river in the 2 to 3 days following these observations at the station.

This uses a treatment technology different from the six others discharging their treated water upstream of the sites under study (by activated sludge and UV, rather than by aerated ponds). The Ministry of the Environment issued a sanitation certificate in the fall of 2022 requiring that a corrective program be put in place. The municipality of Sainte-Adèle has since ensured cleaning of UV lamps every month, coupled with automatic sampling at the station. Lower concentrations of coliforms have since been observed.

Problems are also observed at the Régie de Piedmont, Saint-Sauveur and Saint-Sauveur-des-Monts. Optimizing the operation of the aerated ponds at the treatment plant would ensure the quality of the water in the Rivière du Nord downstream. 

“These results are very encouraging. It will be enough to optimize operations at the Régie station. This should allow to comply at all times with discharge standards and (see erratum below) to protect the water quality of the Rivière du Nord. » – André Bélanger, general director of Fondation Rivières. 

 

One more step towards swimming in downtown Saint-Jérôme

This study follows a study carried out in 2021, in which the City of Saint-Jérôme also participated. The 2021 study aimed to assess water quality with a view to making swimming safe in the city center, at Place du Curé-Labelle. Three sources of contamination had been detected. Two of them have since been eliminated, but one persists upstream of the Lajeunesse Boulevard bridge. The 2022 study made it possible to update and expand the water quality portrait, as well as to detect sources of pollution upstream of the city center. 

This study was carried out thanks to funding from Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing as part of the Support for regional outreach component of the Regions and Rurality Fund. The study developed by the Fondation Rivières is in collaboration with the Territorial Institute and the Quebec Federation of Hunters and Fishermen (Laurentides region), to highlight the Rivière du Nord. 

The Fondation Rivières is continuing its efforts to provide access to the Rivière du Nord by monitoring water quality between Mirabel and Saint-André-d'Argenteuil in the summer of 2023. 

Methodology

The Fondation Rivières collected a total of 149 surface water samples at four regular monitoring sites, twice a week, between July and September 2022. The analysis was based on the count ofEscherichia coli (E.coli). 

ERRATUM: The initial version of the press release alluded to non-compliance with the additional standard for discharge of fecal coliforms. In reality, although occasional exceedances of the discharge standard set at 2,000 CFU/100 mL were noted in 2022, the standard was respected since its application is based on a geometric average calculated over all of the summer period. Beyond compliance with the standard, it is however important to optimize the operation of the wastewater treatment plant in order to avoid these contamination peaks and to ensure that uses in the Rivière du Nord are preserved. 

- 30 -

Source
Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Communications and Mobilization Manager
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Rivière du Nord : un meilleur traitement des eaux usées est nécessaire avant de pouvoir se baigner entre Prévost et Saint-Jérôme

Rivière du Nord

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE 11 AOÛT à 7H

Montréal, le 11 août 2023 – La Fondation Rivières dévoile les résultats d’une étude sur la qualité bactériologique de l’eau de la rivière du Nord entre Saint-Jérôme et Prévost. Ces Villes ont mandaté l’organisme à but non lucratif afin d’évaluer le potentiel de baignade et d’activités nautiques afin d’offrir à leur population un accès à une eau de qualité pour la pratique de ces activités.

Les données recueillies à l’été 2022 indiquent des niveaux d’Escherichia coli (E. coli) acceptables pour la pratique d’activités nautiques de contact indirect (canot, kayak, planche à pagaie, etc.) pour l’ensemble des sites (un seul dépassement). Or, le potentiel de baignade s’est avéré inexistant puisque cette activité nécessite des concentrations d’E. coli plus basses, soit un maximum de 200 UFC/100 mL alors que le celui des activités de contact indirect est de 1 000 UFC/100 mL.

Quel est l’origine du problème?

Les sources de contamination contribuant à dégrader la qualité de l’eau de la rivière du Nord sont d’origine municipale. En particulier, des niveaux élevés de coliformes fécaux à l’effluent de la station de Sainte-Adèle (Mont-Rolland) se sont traduits à de nombreuses reprises par une dégradation importante de la qualité de l’eau de la rivière dans les 2 à 3 jours suivants ces observations à la station.

Celle-ci utilise une technologie de traitement différente des six autres rejetant leurs eaux traitées en amont des sites à l’étude (par boues activées et aux UV, plutôt que par étangs aérés). Le ministère de l’Environnement a émis à l’automne 2022 une attestation d’assainissement exigeant qu’un programme correcteur soit mis en place. La municipalité de Sainte-Adèle assure depuis procéder au nettoyage des lampes UV chaque mois, couplée à un échantillonnage automatique à la station. Des concentrations moins élevées de coliformes sont depuis observées.

Des problèmes sont aussi observés à la Régie de Piedmont, Saint-Sauveur et Saint-Sauveur-des-Monts. L’optimisation de l’opération des étangs aérés de la station d’épuration permettrait d’assurer la qualité de l’eau de la rivière du Nord en aval. 

« Ces résultats sont très encourageants. Il suffira d’optimiser les opérations à la station de la Régie. Ça devrait permettre de respecter en tout temps les normes de rejets et (voir erratum ci-bas) de protéger la qualité de l’eau de la rivière du Nord. » – André Bélanger, directeur général de la Fondation Rivières. 

 

Un pas de plus vers la baignade au centre-ville de Saint-Jérôme

Cette étude fait suite à une étude réalisée en 2021, à laquelle avait également participé la Ville de Saint-Jérôme. L’étude de 2021 visait à évaluer la qualité de l’eau dans la perspective de rendre la baignade sécuritaire au centre-ville, à la place du Curé-Labelle. Trois sources de contamination avaient été détectées. Deux d’entre elles ont été éliminées depuis, mais l’une persiste en amont du pont du boulevard Lajeunesse. L’étude de 2022 a permis de mettre à jour et d’étoffer le portrait de qualité de l’eau, ainsi que de déceler les sources de pollution en amont du centre-ville. 

Cette étude a été réalisée grâce au financement du ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation dans le cadre du volet Soutien au rayonnement des régions du Fonds régions et ruralité. L’étude développée par la Fondation Rivières est en collaboration avec l’Institut des territoires et la Fédération québécoise des chasseurs et pêcheurs (région Laurentides), pour mettre en valeur la rivière du Nord. 

La Fondation Rivières poursuit ses efforts en matière d’accès à la rivière du Nord en réalisant un suivi de la qualité de l’eau entre Mirabel et Saint-André-d’Argenteuil à l’été 2023. 

Méthodologie

La Fondation Rivières a prélevé un total de 149 échantillons d’eau de surface à quatre sites de suivi réguliers, deux fois par semaine, entre juillet et septembre 2022. L’analyse s’est faite sur la base du dénombrement d’Escherichia coli (E. coli). 

ERRATUM : La version initiale du communiqué faisait allusion à un non-respect de la norme supplémentaire de rejet en coliformes fécaux. En réalité, bien que des dépassements ponctuels de la norme de rejet fixée à 2 000 UFC/100 mL aient été constatés en 2022, la norme a été respectée puisque son application se fait à partir d’une moyenne géométrique calculée sur l’ensemble de la période estivale. Au-delà du respect de la norme, il est toutefois important d’optimiser le fonctionnement de la station d’épuration afin d’éviter ces pics de contamination et de s’assurer de préserver les usages dans la rivière du Nord. 

– 30 –

Source
Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informé de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec