La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Water quality in the Chambly basin: a study reveals very good swimming potential

PRESS RELEASE
FOR RELEASE JUNE 12 7AM

Montreal on June 12, 2023 – In this Water Month, Fondation Rivières and the City of Chambly are making public the results of a study which reveals that the water quality in the Chambly basin has very good swimming potential in dry weather. The results of this first portrait of the microbiological quality of the water in the basin open the way to new uses of the river, while respecting the environment.

Encouraging results

In dry weather, Quebec bathing standards, established at 200 CFU/100 mL, were reached 87 % of the time for the two sites studied: the Gervais-Désourdy Nautical Center and the municipal wharf. A period of dry weather corresponds to any day for which precipitation over the last three days, including the current day, is less than 5 mm. However, in rainy weather, the water quality deteriorates and is not suitable for swimming, since wastewater overflows can occur, as is the case in many places in Quebec.

The Chambly basin is popular with fans of motorized and non-motorized water sports. In this regard, the study confirms that in dry weather, water quality standards for non-contact water activities (1,000 CFU/100 mL in Quebec) have always been respected at both sites. 'study. In rainy weather, fans of non-motorized water sports are protected given the closure of the Nautical Center. 

A study consistent with the Chambly guidelines

In its 2022 Environmental Policy, the City of Chambly is committed to monitoring the quality of water on its territory and facilitating access to it. Monitoring of water quality will continue at the Nautical Center to ensure the safety of users, in addition to the awareness and monitoring efforts put in place to preserve this resource.

“The City of Chambly has adopted an environmental policy and an ambitious action plan, focused on the implementation of numerous actions surrounding the protection of the quality of waterways and banks. It is a priority for the municipal council, to put forward everything possible, in order to protect vital essential resources,” specifies Alexandra Labbé, mayor of the City of Chambly.

It is important to specify that the City of Chambly will continue its efforts annually to control water quality, through the analysis of water samples taken at the Gervais-Désourdy Nautical Center and in front of the municipal wharf.

For better sharing of the Richelieu River

Faced with the lack of public access to water in the Richelieu River, the Fondation Rivières was mandated by the City of Chambly to validate the swimming possibilities in its basin. “This study opens the way to sharing the river between its different users. The Richelieu is currently very popular with motorboat boaters, which has the effect of accelerating the erosion of the banks, among other things. A swimming area would allow the population to enjoy the river differently while limiting the impacts on its integrity. », Says the general director of Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger.

There is currently only one public beach intended for swimming on the Richelieu River, located in Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix.

A Big Splash in Chambly this summer

To demonstrate its commitment to continuing and improving its efforts to protect the Richelieu River, to highlight its recreational nautical potential and to provide possible safe access to its population, the City of Chambly will hold a Grand Splash at the Gervais-Désourdy Nautical Center this summer. 

Led by the Fondation Rivières, the Grand Splash is a form of event which aims to democratize access to waterways. The population is invited to get into the water in safe places, which do not have the status of public access to water, but which have the potential to become so.

Methodology

The Fondation Rivières, supported by the Gervais-Désourdy Nautical Center team, took samples at two regular monitoring sites (Gervais-Désourdy Nautical Center and municipal quay) between June 6 and August 25, 2022. It also carried out screening tours on 29 sites around the Chambly basin, between June 28 and September 10. The analysis was carried out on the basis of the enumeration ofEscherichia coli (E.coli).

- 30 -

Documentation
Source
Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Communications and Mobilization Manager
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307

Marie-Hélène Latreille
Communications advisor
City of Chambly
450 658-8788
mhlatreille@ville.chambly.qc.ca

Photo: Chambly Basin by the Fondation Rivières

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Qualité de l’eau du bassin de Chambly : une étude révèle un très bon potentiel de baignade

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE 12 JUIN 7H

Montréal le 12 juin 2023 – En ce Mois de l’eau, la Fondation Rivières et la Ville de Chambly rendent publics les résultats d’une étude qui révèle que la qualité de l’eau dans le bassin de Chambly a un très bon potentiel de baignade par temps sec. Les résultats de ce premier portrait de la qualité microbiologique de l’eau dans le bassin ouvre la voie à de nouveaux usages de la rivière, dans le respect de l’environnement.

Des résultats encourageants

Par temps sec, les normes de baignade québécoises, établies à 200 UFC/100 mL, ont été atteintes à 87 % du temps pour les deux sites à l’étude : le Centre nautique Gervais-Désourdy et le quai municipal. Une période de temps sec correspond à toute journée pour laquelle les précipitations des trois derniers jours, incluant la journée en cours, sont inférieures à 5 mm. Toutefois, par temps de pluie, la qualité de l’eau se dégrade et ne permet pas la baignade, puisque des surverses d’eaux usées peuvent survenir, comme c’est le cas à de nombreux endroits du Québec.

Le bassin de Chambly est prisé des adeptes de sports nautiques motorisés et non motorisés. À ce chapitre, l’étude confirme qu’en temps sec, les normes de qualité de l’eau pour les activités nautiques sans contact (1 000 UFC/100 mL au Québec) ont toujours été respectées et ce, aux deux sites à l’étude. Par temps de pluie, les adeptes de sports nautiques non motorisés sont protégés considérant la fermeture du Centre nautique. 

Une étude en cohérence avec les orientations de Chambly

Dans sa Politique environnementale 2022, la Ville de Chambly s’est engagée à surveiller la qualité de l’eau sur son territoire et à y faciliter son accès. Le suivi de la qualité de l’eau sera poursuivi au Centre nautique afin d’assurer la sécurité des utilisateurs et utilisatrices, en plus des efforts de sensibilisation et de surveillance mis en place pour préserver cette ressource.

« La Ville de Chambly s’est dotée d’une politique environnementale et d’un plan d’action ambitieux, axé sur la concrétisation de nombreux gestes entourant la protection de la qualité des cours d’eau et des berges. Il s’agit d’une priorité pour le conseil municipal, de mettre de l’avant tout ce qui est possible, afin de protéger les ressources essentielles vitales » précise Alexandra Labbé, mairesse de la Ville de Chambly.

Il importe de préciser que la Ville de Chambly poursuivra annuellement les efforts liés au contrôle de la qualité de l’eau, par le biais d’analyse d’échantillons d’eau effectués au Centre nautique Gervais-Désourdy et face au quai municipal.

Pour un meilleur partage de la rivière Richelieu

Face au manque d’accès public à l’eau dans la rivière Richelieu, la Fondation Rivières a été mandatée par la Ville de Chambly pour valider les possibilités de baignade dans son bassin. « Cette étude ouvre la voie au partage de la rivière entre ses différents usagers et usagères. Le Richelieu est actuellement très populaire auprès des plaisanciers de bateaux à moteur, ce qui a pour effet d’accélérer l’érosion des berges, entre autres. Une aire de baignade permettrait à la population de jouir de la rivière autrement tout en limitant les impacts sur son intégrité. », affirme le directeur général de Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger.

Il n’existe présentement qu’une seule plage publique destinée à la baignade sur la rivière Richelieu, située à Saint-Paul-de-l’Île-aux-Noix.

Un Grand Splash à Chambly cet été

Pour démontrer son engagement à poursuivre et à améliorer ses efforts de protection de la rivière Richelieu, à mettre en valeur son potentiel nautique récréatif et à inaugurer des accès éventuels sécuritaires à sa population, la Ville de Chambly tiendra un Grand Splash au Centre nautique Gervais-Désourdy cet été. 

Chapeauté par la Fondation Rivières, le Grand Splash est une forme de manifestation qui a pour but de démocratiser l’accès aux cours d’eau. La population est invitée à se lancer à l’eau à des endroits sécuritaires, qui n’ont pas le statut d’accès public à l’eau, mais qui ont le potentiel de le devenir.

Méthodologie

La Fondation Rivières, appuyée par l’équipe du Centre nautique Gervais-Désourdy, a prélevé des échantillons sur deux sites de suivi régulier (Centre nautique Gervais-Désourdy et quai municipal) entre le 6 juin et le 25 août 2022. Elle a aussi réalisé des tournées de dépistage sur 29 sites autour du bassin de Chambly, entre le 28 juin et le 10 septembre. L’analyse s’est faite sur la base du dénombrement d’Escherichia coli (E. coli).

– 30 –

Documentation
Source
Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307

Marie-Hélène Latreille
Conseillère en communication
Ville de Chambly
450 658-8788
mhlatreille@ville.chambly.qc.ca

Photo : Bassin de Chambly par la Fondation Rivières

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informé de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec