La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
Take part in the COP15 with Fondation Rivières

Take part in the COP15 with Fondation Rivières

Health of lakes, health of life

On the occasion of COP15 – Conference of the Parties on Biodiversity, Fondation Rivières organized the screening of the documentary Our lakes below the surface. The film highlights the deterioration in the quality of Quebec's waterways and its impacts, particularly on aquatic biodiversity. The screening was followed by a discussion between Pierre Brochu and Louis-Gilles Francoeur.

Pierre Brochu, director of the documentary

With more than 150 hours of documentaries directed or produced, he became passionate about the issue of water from the age of 15 with his film The source, an image of the music of Claude Léveillé and André Gagnon. He then produced the documentaries I have a lake for you (2001), Our lakes below the surface (2009) and is currently working on a new project provisionally titled Water stories.

 

Louis-Gilles Francoeur, former journalist for Le Devoir specializing in the environment

 

“Are we killing, through unconsciousness, in one generation, the vast majority of lakes located in the heart of inhabited Quebec? » This is the question the journalist asked himself after watching the documentary Our lakes below the surface, whose admirable and rigorous effort at synthesis he salutes. Mr. Francoeur is the author of the book The green deposit, relating to the disengagement of the Quebec state in environmental matters.

The Fondation Rivières at COP15

Sophie Lachance, Pierre Brochu, Louis-Gilles Francoeur et André Bélanger réunis à l'occasion de l'événement Nos lacs sous la surface
Pierre Brochu and Louis-Gilles Francoeur surrounded by members of the Fondation Rivières team, André Bélanger and Sophie Lachance

On the occasion of COP15, governments and civil society from around the world are meeting in Montreal to adopt a global framework to address the biodiversity crisis and ensure the protection of ecosystems.

In collaboration with the COP15 Collective which brings together around a hundred Quebec civil society organizations, the Fondation Rivières has produced recommendations for the fight against invasive exotic species, for the promotion of access to the banks for the population, in addition to organizing the screening-discussion on the theme of lakes, the life they host and the degradation of their quality in the face of government inaction.

Born from a massive and successful mobilization against a hydroelectric dam project which would endanger 36 falls and their ecosystems, the Fondation Rivières is fully involved in the protection of biodiversity.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Prenez part à la COP15 avec la Fondation Rivières

Prenez part à la COP15 avec la Fondation Rivières

Santé des lacs, santé du vivant

À l’occasion de la COP15 – Conférence des parties sur la biodiversité, la Fondation Rivières a organisé la projection du documentaire Nos lacs sous la surface. Le film met en relief la dégradation de la qualité des cours d’eau du Québec et ses impacts, notamment sur la biodiversité aquatique. La projection était suivie d’une discussion entre Pierre Brochu et Louis-Gilles Francoeur.

Pierre Brochu, réalisateur du documentaire

Avec plus de 150 heures de documentaires réalisées ou produites, il se passionne dès l’âge de 15 ans pour la question de l’eau avec son film La source, une mise en image de la musique de Claude Léveillé et André Gagnon. Il a ensuite produit les documentaires J’ai pour toi un lac (2001), Nos lacs sous la surface (2009) et travaille en ce moment sur un nouveau projet provisoirement intitulé Histoires d’eaux.

Louis-Gilles Francœur, ancien journaliste du Devoir spécialisé en environnement

« Sommes-nous en train de tuer, par inconscience, en une génération, la vaste majorité des lacs situés au cœur du Québec habité? » Voilà la question que s’est posée le journaliste après avoir visionné le documentaire Nos lacs sous la surface, dont il salue l’effort de synthèse admirable et rigoureux. M. Francoeur est l’auteur du livre La caution verte, portant sur le désengagement de l’État québécois en matière d’environnement.

Sophie Lachance, Pierre Brochu, Louis-Gilles Francoeur et André Bélanger réunis à l'occasion de l'événement Nos lacs sous la surface
Pierre Brochu et Louis-Gilles Francoeur entourés des membres de l'équipe de la Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger et Sophie Lachance

La Fondation Rivières à la COP15

À l’occasion de la COP15, les gouvernements et la société civile du monde entier se réunissent à Montréal pour adopter un cadre mondial afin de faire face à la crise de la biodiversité et assurer la protection des écosystèmes.

En collaboration avec le Collectif COP15 qui rassemble une centaine d’organisations de la société civile québécoise, la Fondation Rivières a produit des recommandations pour la lutte contre les espèces exotiques envahissantes, pour la promotion de l’accès aux berges pour la population, en plus d’organiser la projection-discussion sur le thème des lacs, de la vie qu’ils hébergent et de la dégradation de leur qualité face à l’inaction gouvernementale.

Née d’une mobilisation massive et couronnée de succès contre un projet de barrages hydroélectriques qui allait mettre en péril 36 chutes et leurs écosystèmes, la Fondation Rivières est pleinement impliquée dans la protection de la biodiversité.

Vous avez des questions?

Contactez-nous