La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
Watersheds of the Mille-Îles River – Update on the status of wastewater treatment systems

Watersheds of the Mille-Îles River – Update on the status of wastewater treatment systems

A new tool to capture sanitation performance in the Mille Îles River watershed

In 2020, Fondation Rivières achieved a first status report on wastewater treatment systems on the territory of the Mille-Îles Watershed Council (COBAMIL), which made it possible to identify issues for the 2017-2019 period.

Since then, new challenges related to wastewater treatment have emerged in the region. In particular, the development of a plan aimed at ensuring the protection of drinking water intakes as well as a craze for swimming at the new Berge des Quatre-Vents beach, suggesting a real need among the population for more of relaxation and refreshment areas along the Mille Îles River.

In response to these challenges, Fondation Rivières offered to update the situation report carried out in 2020 usingAuditEAU, a new tool that it developed to fully exploit data from the Monitoring of Municipal Wastewater Sanitation Works (SOMAEU). Thanks to AuditEAU, it is easier than ever to identify which sanitation systems are on track and those where sanitation performance is stagnating or deteriorating.

Mille Îles River, near Gagnon Island – August 2020

Services

  • Production of an interactive online report for viewing monitoring data
  • Analysis and presentation of findings

Our methodology

Treatment plants
0
Overflow structures
0
Recommendations
0

The raw data from SOMAEU were obtained from the MELCCFP and the works divided into five study areas. However, these steps were carried out using AuditEAU, which greatly facilitated the use of monitoring data, leading to much more in-depth evaluations of the performance of wastewater treatment plants and overflow networks and structures on the site. COBAMIL territory.

Duration of the study

The evaluation of wastewater treatment systems for the period 2020-2021 took place from the beginning of October until the end of November 2022.

Findings

01.

The treatment of ammoniacal nitrogen is not very effective in the Mascouche River sector.

02.

There are three places where the intensity of spills per capita stands out from the rest.

03.

The possible gains in phosphorus removal are relatively limited. Stations that exceed their discharge requirements have a low contribution.

There is an improvement for phosphorus removal in certain problem areas. There is also a decrease in sewage overflow frequencies in 2021, but this is due to low rainfall rather than improvements to the networks.

Our mandates for evaluating wastewater treatment systems

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
Bassins versants de la rivière des Mille-Îles –Mise à jour sur l’état des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées

Bassins versants de la rivière des Mille-Îles – Mise à jour sur l’état des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées

Un nouvel outil pour saisir les performances d’assainissement dans le bassin versant de la rivière des Mille Îles

En 2020, Fondation Rivières a réalisé un premier état de situation des systèmes de traitement d’eaux usées sur le territoire du Conseil des bassins versants des Mille-Îles (COBAMIL), qui a permis d’identifier des enjeux pour la période 2017-2019.

Depuis, de nouveaux défis en lien avec l’assainissement des eaux usées se sont dessinés dans la région. Notamment, l’élaboration d’un plan visant à assurer la protection des prises d’eau potable ainsi qu’un engouement pour la baignade à la nouvelle plage de la Berge des Quatre-Vents, laissant présager un réel besoin de la population pour plus d’espaces de détente et de rafraîchissement le long de la rivière des Mille Îles.

En réponse à ces défis, la Fondation Rivières a offert d’effectuer une mise à jour de l’état de situation réalisé en 2020 à l’aide d’AuditEAU, un nouvel outil qu’elle a développé pour valoriser pleinement les données du Suivi des ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées (SOMAEU). Grâce à AuditEAU, il est plus facile que jamais d’identifier les systèmes d’assainissement qui sont dans la bonne voie et ceux pour lesquels les performances d’assainissement stagnent ou se dégradent.

Rivière des Mille Îles, à proximité de l’île Gagnon – août 2020

Services

  • Production d’un rapport interactif en ligne pour la consultation de données de suivi
  • Analyse et présentation de constats

Notre méthodologie

Stations d’épuration
0
Ouvrages de surverse
0
Recommandations
0

Les données brutes du SOMAEU ont été obtenues auprès du MELCCFP et les ouvrages divisés sur cinq zones d’étude. Ces étapes ont cependant été faites à l’aide d’AuditEAU, ce qui a grandement facilité la valorisation des données de suivi, menant à des évaluations beaucoup plus poussées de la performance des stations d’épuration et des réseaux et ouvrages de surverse sur le territoire du COBAMIL.

Durée de l’étude

L’évaluation des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées pour la période 2020-2021 s’est échelonnée du début octobre jusqu’à fin novembre 2022.

Constats

01.

Le traitement de l’azote ammoniacal est peu efficace dans le secteur de la rivière Mascouche.

02.

Il y a trois endroits où l’intensité des déversements par habitant se démarque de l’ensemble.

03.

Les gains possibles en enlèvement du phosphore sont relativement limités. Les stations qui dépassent leurs exigences de rejets, ont une faible contribution.

Il y a une amélioration pour la déphosphatation à certains endroits problématiques. Il y a aussi une diminution des fréquences de débordement d’eaux usées en 2021, mais cela est dû à de faibles précipitations plutôt qu’à des améliorations sur les réseaux.

Nos mandats d'évaluation des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec