La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
Adopt a river - Richelieu River

River Richelieu

Photo credit : Thierry Lemaître – Unsplash

Adopt the Richelieu River to:

Your contribution allows us to continue to protect Quebec's rivers

The Richelieu River is well known: it serves as the backyard of many Quebecers... or even as a highway, which creates its share of collateral effects. Its bustle in spring and the pleasures it offers in summer make it famous. A gathering place, it can quickly become noisy. The Richelieu River is thus rarely discreet: without being eccentric, it is flashy, exuberant in spite of itself!

Do you know the Richelieu River?

Name Abenaki

Masesoliantegw (“river with lots of money”)

Length

113km

Source

Lake Champlain

Region

Montérégie

Total elevation

29m

Average flow

337 m3/s

Spring mood swings

Extending only 113 km between Lake Champlain and the St. Lawrence River, suffice to say that the Richelieu River is as high as three apples. Despite its smallness, it is the site of phenomena with devastating effects in the spring, when it leaves its bed. In 2011, flooding in Saint-Basile-le-Grand forced the evacuation of residents in addition to affecting the quality of water in the watershed, through a contribution of sediment and phosphorus into Lake Champlain. . His mood swings have become more timid since then.

Queen of nautical pleasures

During the warm season, motorboats go at full speed on the Richelieu, alongside canoes, kayaks and paddleboards which glide peacefully there. In the spring, when the water level is high enough, surfers and kayakers dominate the waves that naturally form in the Chambly rapids. The Richelieu is therefore an important playground… for better and for worse.

Photo credit : Gilles Croteau

What are the environmental issues?

Conflict of use between motorboats and all other nautical activities

The Richelieu turns into a real highway on summer weekends: too many motorboats travel there, and sometimes too fast. Sharing the river can then prove difficult. This reality comes with high decibels and a safety risk for water sports enthusiasts.

The Fondation Rivières participated in the process leading to new Transport Canada regulations, which came into force on December 20, 2023, on the Richelieu River. Boat speed is reduced at 10 km/h less than 50 m from the banks over a 20 km stretch, among others. 

The Foundation supported the Association of Residents and Friends of the Richelieu, the Montérégie Regional Environmental Council and the Richelieu River Basin Consultation and Development Committee (COVABAR) when mobilizing municipal elected officials who were attacked by the nautical industry lobby who opposed the regulation. It is finally the version resulting from a compromise which was adopted, good news for the habitats of threatened species, bank erosion and the safety of river users! 

The Fondation Rivières achieved a study in order to identify bacteriological contamination events in E.coli and their source in the Chambly basin to assess the potential to open swimming areas. Good news: the water quality is very good in dry weather!

The City of Chambly will continue its efforts to monitor water quality annually, through the analysis of water samples. 

On the Richelieu, boats take precedence over swimming. To restore the balance, the Fondation Rivières, the City of Chambly (2023) and the municipality of Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu (2022) are organizing a Grand Splash to claim the right to bathe there.

Previously, it was in Saint-Paul-de-l'île-aux-Noix and Mont-Saint-Hilaire that these mobilization events took place. Swimming not only allows us to adapt to heatwaves that are becoming more and more frequent with climate change: by opening a swimming site, a municipality undertakes to ensure the quality of the water there.

Fondation Rivières has joined forces with COVABAR to launch a large-scale consultation project aimed at enhancing the recreational tourism potential of the Richelieu River, by proposing water access facilities to allow everyone to access the river while respecting natural environments.

This project is financially supported by the government of Quebec as part of “Sustainable destination and concerted action”, a support measure coordinated by the Quebec Action Fund for Sustainable Development (FAQDD) arising from Plan for a green economy 2030 and the Action Plan for responsible and sustainable tourism 2020-2025. Following phase 1 of the project, the objective is for the consultation body that will be set up to continue its mandate for sustainable cohabitation on the river.

Water quality 

Wastewater spills and numerous pleasure boats are among the elements that affect the water quality of this emblematic river of Montérégie.

In addition to releasing hydrocarbons into the water, motorboats help to lift, with their propellers, sediments accumulated in the bottom of the water, which several microorganisms feast on. Aquatic fauna is also affected by these activities, particularly due to the noise caused by boats.

Faced with the risks posed by the establishment of the Northvolt plant for the water quality of the Richelieu River, among others, the Fondation Rivières joined a dozen organizations to demand the holding of a Public Hearings Office on the Environment (BAPE), or a strategic environmental assessment of the entire battery sector.

In 2017, canoeists noted worrying water quality on the Richelieu River during the annual event The Richelieu in 24 hours. This was all it took for the Fondation Rivières to identify the sources of pollution of municipal origin in the territory of the Richelieu River watershed and the Saint-Laurent zone. The results are unequivocal: wastewater spills are numerous and infrastructure management is haphazard. In collaboration with COVABAR, the Fondation Rivières recommends a series of measures to identify and reduce wastewater discharges in the watershed.

Since 2020, the Fondation Rivières has disclosed the list of municipalities that stand out in terms of the intensity of their wastewater discharges into waterways, including the Richelieu River. This exercise makes it possible to distinguish municipalities which have improved their situation in previous years from those where the situation has deteriorated. THE prize list serves as a lever to encourage elected officials to make the necessary corrections to improve the health of the rivers into which wastewater is discharged.

Bank erosion

The waves created by motorboats accelerate the natural erosion of the banks of the Richelieu. The eddies caused by these boats are often greater than those created by Mother Nature. The banks of the Richelieu are therefore increasingly eroded, a problem that is increasingly common on several rivers in Quebec.

The Fondation Rivières participated in the process leading to new Transport Canada regulations, which came into force on December 20, 2023, on the Richelieu River. Boat speed is reduced at 10 km/h less than 50 m from the banks over a 20 km stretch, among others. 

The Foundation supported the Association of Residents and Friends of the Richelieu, the Montérégie Regional Environmental Council and the Richelieu River Basin Consultation and Development Committee (COVABAR) when mobilizing municipal elected officials who were attacked by the nautical industry lobby who opposed the regulation. It is finally the version resulting from a compromise which was adopted, good news for the habitats of threatened species, bank erosion and the safety of river users! 

Loss of species habitat

The Richelieu River is one of the only rivers in Quebec where the copper redhorse swims. This is a threatened and endangered species that is only found in La Belle Province. Since this fish lives in aquatic grass beds at shallow depths, it is sensitive to the effects of movements in these areas, which can be caused by motorized boats, among others.

In 2018, Fondation Rivières partnered with the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society (CPAWS) and other organizations to form a Round Table for the Defense of the Copper Redhorse. Together, we asked Fisheries and Oceans Canada to issue a ministerial order to protect the habitat of the copper redhorse, as prescribed by the federal Species at Risk Act. for the protection of endangered species.

Photo credit : Gilles Croteau

Can you swim in the Richelieu River? 

There is currently only one public beach on the Richelieu River, in Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix. That said, Fondation Rivières carried out a study on water quality in the Chambly basin, which revealed that in dry weather, swimming is possible! All that remains is for the City to continue its efforts to eventually provide access to swimming. 

Help us by adopting the Richelieu River

The Fondation Rivières is mobilizing on this river to:

Donate and join an important mobilization movement!

Charity receipt

Fondation Rivières issues tax-deductible donation receipts, regardless of the amount. A receipt will be sent to you by email at the beginning of the year following the year of your adoption.

Organizations involved in the field

Share our actions on the Richelieu River

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
Adoptez une rivière – Rivière Richelieu

Rivière Richelieu

Crédit photo : Thierry Lemaître – Unsplash

Adoptez la rivière Richelieu pour :

Votre contribution nous permet de continuer à protéger les rivières du Québec

La rivière Richelieu est bien connue : elle fait office de cour arrière de nombreux Québécois et Québécoises… ou même d’autoroute, ce qui crée son lot d’effets collatéraux. Son agitation au printemps et les plaisirs qu’elle offre en été font sa renommée. Lieu de rassemblement, elle peut vite devenir bruyante. La rivière Richelieu se fait ainsi rarement discrète : sans être excentrique, c’est une tape-à-l’œil, une exubérante bien malgré elle!

Connaissez-vous la rivière Richelieu?

Nom Abénaquis

Masesoliantegw (« rivière avec beaucoup d’argent »)

Longueur

113 km

Source

Lac Champlain

Région

Montérégie

Dénivellation totale

29 m

Débit moyen

337 m3/s

Sautes d’humeur printanières

S’étendant seulement sur 113 km entre le lac Champlain et le fleuve Saint-Laurent, autant dire que la rivière Richelieu est haute comme trois pommes. Malgré sa petitesse, elle est le lieu de phénomènes aux effets ravageurs au printemps, lorsqu’elle sort de son lit. En 2011, des inondations à Saint-Basile-le-Grand avaient forcé l’évacuation de résident.e.s en plus d’affecter la qualité de l’eau dans le bassin versant, par un apport de sédiments et de phosphore dans le lac Champlain. Ses sautes d’humeur se sont faites plus timides depuis.

Reine des plaisirs nautiques

Pendant la saison chaude, les bateaux à moteur filent à toute vitesse sur le Richelieu, côtoyant canots, kayaks et planches à pagaie qui y glissent paisiblement. Au printemps, lorsque le niveau de l’eau est assez élevé, des surfeurs et des surfeuses ainsi que des kayakistes dominent les vagues qui se forment naturellement dans les rapides de Chambly. Le Richelieu, c’est donc un important terrain de jeu… pour le meilleur et pour le pire.

Crédit photo : Gilles Croteau

Quels sont les enjeux environnementaux?

Conflit d’usage entre les bateaux à moteur et toutes les autres activités nautiques

Le Richelieu se transforme en véritable autoroute les fins de semaine d’été : trop de bateaux à moteur y circulent, et parfois trop vite. Le partage de la rivière peut alors s’avérer difficile. Cette réalité s’accompagne de décibels élevés et d’un risque pour la sécurité des amateurs de sports nautiques.

La Fondation Rivières a participé aux démarches menant à une nouvelle réglementation de Transports Canada, entrée en vigueur le 20 décembre 2023, sur la rivière Richelieu. La vitesse des bateaux y est réduite à 10 km/h à moins de 50 m des berges sur un tronçon de 20 km, entre autres. 

La Fondation avait appuyé l’Association des riverains et amis du Richelieu, le Conseil régional de l’environnement de la Montérégie et le Comité de concertation et de valorisation du bassin de la rivière Richelieu (COVABAR) au moment de mobiliser des élus des municipalités qui ont été pris à partie par le lobby de l’industrie nautique qui s’opposaient au règlement. C’est finalement la mouture issue d’un compromis qui a été adoptée, une bonne nouvelle pour les habitats d’espèces menacées, l’érosion des berges et la sécurité des usagers et usagères de la rivière! 

La Fondation Rivières a réalisé une étude afin d’identifier les événements de contamination bactériologique aux E. coli et leur source dans le bassin de Chambly pour y évaluer le potentiel d’ouvrir des zones de baignade. Bonne nouvelle : la qualité de l’eau est de très bonne qualité par temps sec!

La Ville de Chambly poursuivra annuellement les efforts liés au contrôle de la qualité de l’eau, par le biais d’analyse d’échantillons d’eau. 

Sur le Richelieu, les bateaux ont préséance par rapport à la baignade. Pour rétablir l’équilibre, la Fondation Rivières, la Ville de Chambly (2023) et la municipalité de Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu (2022) organisent un Grand Splash pour y revendiquer le droit de s’y baigner.

Avant, c’était à Saint-Paul-de-l’île-aux-Noix et à Mont-Saint-Hilaire qu’avaient eu lieu ces événements de mobilisation. La baignade permet non seulement de s’adapter aux canicules de plus en plus fréquentes avec les changements climatiques : en ouvrant un site de baignade, une municipalité s’engage à y assurer la qualité de l’eau.

La Fondation Rivières s’est associée au COVABAR pour lancer un projet de concertation d’envergure visant à valoriser le potentiel récréotouristique de la rivière Richelieu, en proposant des aménagements d’accès à l’eau afin de permettre à tous et à toutes d’accéder à la rivière en respect des milieux naturels.

Ce projet est soutenu financièrement par le gouvernement du Québec dans le cadre de « Destination durable et action concertée », une mesure de soutien coordonnée par le Fonds d’action québécois pour le développement durable (FAQDD) découlant du Plan pour une économie verte 2030 et du Plan d’action pour un tourisme responsable et durable 2020-2025. Suite à la phase 1 du projet, l’objectif est que l’instance de concertation qui sera mise en place poursuive son mandat pour la cohabitation durable sur la rivière.

Qualité de l'eau 

Les déversements d’eaux usées et les nombreuses embarcations de plaisance font partie des éléments qui affectent la qualité de l’eau de cette rivière emblématique de la Montérégie.

En plus de relâcher des hydrocarbures dans l’eau, les bateaux à moteur contribuent à soulever, avec leurs hélices, des sédiments accumulés dans le fond de l’eau, dont se régalent plusieurs microorganismes. La faune aquatique est aussi affectée par ces activités, notamment en raison du bruit occasionné par les embarcations.

Face aux risques que pose l’implantation de l’usine de Northvolt pour la qualité de l’eau de la rivière Richelieu, entre autres, la Fondation Rivières s’est jointe à une douzaine organisations pour réclamer la tenue d’un Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE), ou une évaluation environnementale stratégique de l’ensemble de la filière batterie.

En 2017, des canoteurs constatent une qualité de l’eau inquiétante sur la rivière Richelieu lors de l’événement annuel Le Richelieu en 24h. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour que la Fondation Rivières identifie les sources de pollution d’origine municipale sur le territoire du bassin versant de la rivière Richelieu et de la zone Saint-Laurent. Les résultats sont sans équivoque : les déversements d’eaux usées sont nombreux et la gestion des infrastructures se fait de façon aléatoire. En collaboration avec le COVABAR, la Fondation Rivières recommande une série de mesures afin d’identifier et de réduire les déversements d’eaux usées dans le bassin versant.

Depuis 2020, la Fondation Rivières divulgue la liste des municipalités qui se démarquent quant à l’intensité de leurs déversements d’eaux usées dans les cours d’eau, incluant la rivière Richelieu. Cet exercice permet de distinguer les municipalités qui ont amélioré leur situation depuis les années précédentes de celles où la situation s’est détériorée. Le palmarès sert de levier afin d’inciter les élu.e.s à apporter les correctifs nécessaires pour améliorer la santé des rivières dans lesquelles sont rejetées les eaux usées.

Érosion des berges

Les vagues créées par les bateaux à moteurs accélèrent l’érosion naturelle des berges de la Richelieu. Les remous causés par ces embarcations sont souvent supérieurs à ceux créés par Dame nature. Les berges de la Richelieu se voient donc de plus en plus érodées, une problématique qui est de plus en plus fréquente sur plusieurs rivières du Québec.

La Fondation Rivières a participé aux démarches menant à une nouvelle réglementation de Transports Canada, entrée en vigueur le 20 décembre 2023, sur la rivière Richelieu. La vitesse des bateaux y est réduite à 10 km/h à moins de 50 m des berges sur un tronçon de 20 km, entre autres. 

La Fondation avait appuyé l’Association des riverains et amis du Richelieu, le Conseil régional de l’environnement de la Montérégie et le Comité de concertation et de valorisation du bassin de la rivière Richelieu (COVABAR) au moment de mobiliser des élus des municipalités qui ont été pris à partie par le lobby de l’industrie nautique qui s’opposaient au règlement. C’est finalement la mouture issue d’un compromis qui a été adoptée, une bonne nouvelle pour les habitats d’espèces menacées, l’érosion des berges et la sécurité des usagers et usagères de la rivière! 

Perte d'habitat d'espèces

La rivière Richelieu est l’un des seuls cours d’eau du Québec où nage le chevalier cuivré. Il s’agit d’une espèce menacée en voie de disparition qu’on ne retrouve d’ailleurs que dans la belle province. Puisque ce poisson vit dans les herbiers aquatiques en faible profondeur, il est sensible aux effets des mouvements dans ces secteurs, que peuvent causer les embarcations à moteur, entre autres.

En 2018, la Fondation Rivières s’est associée avec la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada (SNAP) et d’autres organisations en formant une Table ronde pour la défense du chevalier cuivré. Ensemble, nous avons demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada de faire un arrêté ministériel pour protéger l’habitat du chevalier cuivré, tel que prescrit par la Loi fédérale sur les espèces en péril. pour la sauvegarde des espèces en voie de disparition.

Crédit photo : Gilles Croteau

Peut-on se baigner dans la rivière Richelieu? 

Il existe actuellement une seule plage publique sur la rivière Richelieu, à Saint-Paul-de-l’Île-aux-Noix. Cela dit, la Fondation Rivières a réalisé une étude sur la qualité de l’eau dans le bassin de Chambly, qui révèle que par temps sec, la baignade est possible! Il ne reste qu’à la Ville de poursuivre ses efforts afin d’éventuellement offrir un accès à la baignade. 

Aidez-nous en adoptant la rivière Richelieu

La Fondation Rivières se mobilise sur cette rivière pour :

Donnez et rejoignez un mouvement de mobilisation important!

Reçu de charité

La Fondation Rivières émet des reçus de dons déductibles d’impôts, peu importe le montant. Un reçu vous sera envoyé par courriel au début de l’année suivant celle de votre adoption.

Les organisations qui s'impliquent sur le terrain

Partagez nos actions sur la rivière Richelieu

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec