La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.
Adopt a river - Bécancour River

River Bécancour

Photo credit : Katarzyna Skorek and Karine Dandeneault

Adopt the Bécancour River to:

Your contribution allows us to continue to protect Quebec's rivers

The Bécancour River has a broad back: more than 80 rivers flow into it, not counting the entire quantity of mining residues that erode towards it. Despite her injuries, she continued her journey, from the Appalachians to the St. Lawrence River, tireless.

Do you know the Bécancour River?

Name Abenaki

W8linaktegw (“river to the bay”)

Length

171km

Source

Lake Bécancour

Region

Chaudière-Appalaches, Center-du-Québec

Average flow

64 m3/s

Total elevation

215m

A river among the mines

The Bécancour River winds its way among the dumps, these piles of asbestos mining residues in the Thetford Mines region. Mining in the region lasted for over a hundred years between the discovery of chrysotile asbestos and the closure of the very last mine in 2012. This piece of history has unfortunately had repercussions on the river . Even if there are few studies on the impact of asbestos fibers on aquatic ecosystems, the sediments have their share of effects on downstream lakes (mainly Stater Pond and Lac à la Trout): they are enriched in heavy metals, their pH is increasing, and since they fill with sediment, they lose depth and surface area.

The “stinking” river

At the time of colonization, the Bécancour River was already mistreated: it was nicknamed “the stinking river” by the French. The most plausible reason for this name would be linked to the remains of the Abenakis and the Onnontcharonnon Iroquois who fell during a battle between them, according to the writings of the Jesuit Pierre François-Xavier de Charlevoix dating from 1744.

Thetford Mines Photo credit: Pier Gagné – La Semaine Verte 

What are the environmental issues?

Water quality

The water quality of the Bécancour River is deplorable and the mining industry is to blame. A plan to control asbestos residues in Haute-Bécancour was developed by the Bécancour zone watershed consultation group (GROBEC), which also set up a sedimentation basin on one of the mining sites.

Contaminants from agricultural pollution (phosphorus, nitrogen, nitrates) also have an impact on water quality. Moreover, withdrawals from agricultural industries reduce the flow of the river to the point of causing severe low water levels in Lake Joseph, limiting nautical activities. Due to all this contamination, some lakes along the watershed, such as Lake Bécancour, are at an advanced stage. eutrophication. Overflows from overflow structures, inadequate water treatment and poorly listed septic installations also have their share of effects on the water quality of Bécancour. 

At the request of GROBEC, the Fondation Rivières carried out a performance evaluation of municipal wastewater treatment works to identify sanitation issues between 2014 and 2018, intended for municipal decision-makers, interest groups and the public. Support was also provided to target intervention locations for a green infrastructure implementation project. The Foundation carried out a similar mandate for the citizens' committee of the Association for the Protection of the Irish Trout Lake (APLTI) in order to improve the water quality of the Irish Trout Lake and its tributaries. .

Strangely, the Ministry of the Environment (MELCCFP) does not consider the Bécancour River as a mining liability in its latest Action plan for the management of asbestos mining residues 2022-2025. In other words, the government is not committed to taking concrete action to clean up the river of its asbestos contaminants. The Fondation Rivières wishes to join forces with the Irish Trout Lake Protection Association (APLTI) and local organizations so that Bécancour is taken into consideration by the MELCCFP and its National Asbestos Observatory program.

Since 2020, the Fondation Rivières has disclosed the list of municipalities that stand out in terms of the intensity of their wastewater discharges into waterways, including the Bécancour River. This exercise makes it possible to distinguish municipalities which have improved their situation in previous years from those where the situation has deteriorated. THE prize list serves as a lever to encourage elected officials to make the necessary corrections to improve the health of the rivers into which wastewater is discharged.

Invasive species

The Bécancour River acts as a refuge for several endangered or precarious species, such as waterfowl and wood turtles. Conversely, some invasive exotic species are gaining momentum, such as Eurasian watermilfoil, purple loosestrife and common reed.

Bank erosion

Erosion is a real issue for the Bécancour River. There are very few vegetated riparian strips along the river and its tributaries, which has the effect of facilitating water contamination by runoff and causing slides and landslides.

Can you swim in the Bécancour River? 

Unfortunately, the lack of access to water and the quality of the water compromise swimming in the Bécancour River.

Is the Bécancour River navigable?

Yes! Discover the canoe routes of the Bécancour River in accessing the Canot Kayak Québec and Eau Vive Québec map

Parcours canotables - Eau vive Québec et Canot Kayak Québec

Help us by adopting the Bécancour River

The Fondation Rivières is mobilizing on this river to:

Donate and join an important mobilization movement!

Charity receipt

Fondation Rivières issues tax-deductible donation receipts, regardless of the amount. A receipt will be sent to you by email at the beginning of the year following the year of your adoption.

Organizations involved in the field

The Bécancour River was adopted by:

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
Adoptez une rivière – Rivière Bécancour

Rivière Bécancour

Crédit photo : Katarzyna Skorek et Karine Dandeneault

Adoptez la rivière Bécancour pour :

Votre contribution nous permet de continuer à protéger les rivières du Québec

La rivière Bécancour a le dos large : plus de 80 cours d’eau s’y déversent, sans compter toute la quantité de résidus miniers qui s’érodent vers elle. Malgré ses blessures, elle poursuit sa route, des Appalaches jusqu’au fleuve Saint-Laurent, infatigable.

Connaissez-vous la rivière Bécancour?

Nom Abénaquis

W8linaktegw (« rivière à la baie »)

Longueur

171 km

Source

Lac Bécancour

Région

Chaudière-Appalaches, Centre-du-Québec

Débit moyen

64 m3/s

Dénivellation totale

215 m

Une rivière parmi les mines

La rivière Bécancour se faufile parmi les haldes, ces amas de résidus miniers amiantés dans la région de Thetford Mines. L’exploitation minière dans la région a duré plus d’une centaine d’années entre la découverte de l’amiante chrysotile et la fermeture de la toute dernière mine en 2012. Ce pan de l’histoire a malheureusement eu des répercussions sur la rivière. Même s’il existe peu d’études sur l’impact des fibres d’amiante sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, les sédiments, eux, entraînent leur lot d’effets sur les lacs en aval (principalement l’étang Stater et le lac à la Truite) : ils s’enrichissent en métaux lourds, leur pH est à la hausse, et puisqu’ils se remplissent de sédiments, ils perdent en profondeur et en superficie.

La rivière « puante »

Au temps de la colonisation, la rivière Bécancour était déjà malmenée : elle était surnommée « la rivière puante » par les Français. La raison la plus plausible de cette appellation serait liée aux dépouilles des Abénaquis et des Iroquois Onnontcharonnons tombés lors d’une bataille qui les opposait, selon les écrits du jésuite Pierre François-Xavier de Charlevoix datant de 1744.

Thetford Mines Crédit photo : Pier Gagné – La Semaine Verte 

Quels sont les enjeux environnementaux?

Qualité de l’eau

La qualité de l’eau de la rivière Bécancour est déplorable et l’industrie minière est en cause. Un plan de contrôle des résidus amiantés de la Haute-Bécancour a été développé par le Groupe de concertation des bassins versants de la zone Bécancour (GROBEC), qui a aussi aménagé un bassin de sédimentation sur l’un des sites miniers.

Des contaminants issus de la pollution agricole (phosphore, azote, nitrates) ont également un impact sur la qualité de l’eau. D’ailleurs, les prélèvements des industries agricoles diminuent le débit de la rivière jusqu’à causer des étiages sévères dans le lac Joseph, limitant les activités nautiques. Dû à toute cette contamination, certains lacs le long du bassin versant, tel que le lac Bécancour, sont à un stade avancé d’eutrophisation. Des débordements d’ouvrages de surverse, un traitement inadéquat de l’eau et des installations septiques mal répertoriées ont aussi leur lot d’effets sur la qualité de l’eau de la Bécancour. 

À la demande du GROBEC, la Fondation Rivières a réalisé une évaluation de performance des ouvrages municipaux de traitement des eaux usées pour identifier les problématiques d’assainissement entre 2014 et 2018, destinée aux décideurs municipaux, aux groupes d’intérêt et au public. Du soutien a aussi été apporté afin de cibler des lieux d’interventions pour un projet de mise en place d’infrastructures vertes. La Fondation a réalisé un mandat similaire pour le comité citoyen de l’Association de Protection du Lac à la Truite d’Irlande (APLTI) afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’eau du Lac à la Truite d’Irlande et de ses tributaires.

Étrangement, le ministère de l’Environnement (MELCCFP) ne considère pas la rivière Bécancour en tant que passif minier dans son dernier Plan d’action de gestion des résidus miniers amiantés 2022-2025. En d’autres mots, le gouvernement ne s’engage pas à prendre d’actions concrètes pour dépolluer la rivière de ses contaminants amiantés. La Fondation Rivières souhaite s’associer à l’Association de Protection du Lac à la Truite d’Irlande (APLTI) et des organismes locaux pour que la Bécancour soit prise en considération par le MELCCFP et son programme l’Observatoire national de l’amiante.

Depuis 2020, la Fondation Rivières divulgue la liste des municipalités qui se démarquent quant à l’intensité de leurs déversements d’eaux usées dans les cours d’eau, incluant la rivière Bécancour. Cet exercice permet de distinguer les municipalités qui ont amélioré leur situation depuis les années précédentes de celles où la situation s’est détériorée. Le palmarès sert de levier afin d’inciter les élu.e.s à apporter les correctifs nécessaires pour améliorer la santé des rivières dans lesquelles sont rejetées les eaux usées.

Espèces envahissantes

La rivière Bécancour agit à titre de refuge pour plusieurs espèces en voie de disparition ou à statut précaire, telle que la sauvagine et la tortue des bois. À l’inverse, certaines espèces exotiques envahissantes prennent de l’ampleur, comme le myriophylle à épi, le salicaire pourpre et le roseau commun.

Érosion des berges

L’érosion est un réel enjeu pour la rivière Bécancour. On retrouve très peu de bandes riveraines végétalisées le long de la rivière et de ses tributaires, ce qui a pour effet de faciliter la contamination de l’eau par le ruissellement et de causer des décrochements et des glissements de terrain.

Peut-on se baigner dans la rivière Bécancour? 

Malheureusement, le peu d’accès à l’eau et la qualité de l’eau compromettent la baignade dans la rivière Bécancour.

Est-ce que la rivière Bécancour est navigable?

Oui! Découvrez les parcours canotables de la rivière Bécancour en accédant à la carte de Canot Kayak Québec et Eau Vive Québec

Parcours canotables - Eau vive Québec et Canot Kayak Québec

Aidez-nous en adoptant la rivière Bécancour

La Fondation Rivières se mobilise sur cette rivière pour :

Donnez et rejoignez un mouvement de mobilisation important!

Reçu de charité

La Fondation Rivières émet des reçus de dons déductibles d’impôts, peu importe le montant. Un reçu vous sera envoyé par courriel au début de l’année suivant celle de votre adoption.

Les organisations qui s'impliquent sur le terrain

La rivière Bécancour a été adoptée par :

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informé de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec