La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydroelectric projects: the Commission's report on energy issues echoes the recommendations of the Fondation Rivières

Rivière La Romaine

The Fondation Rivières is pleased to note that several recommendations from the Report of the Commission on Quebec's energy issues, titled Mastering our energy future, echo his repeated requests for several years, in particular:

  • Immediately suspend the Romaine 3 and 4 hydroelectric projects in order to assess the financial interest of completely stopping less advanced construction phases – Recommendation 41.1;
  • Stop new calls for tenders for electricity production (including small power plants) and cancel contracts being renewed, or renegotiate them based on the value of electricity in the off-peak export market, also with regard to the renewal of all APR 91 – Recommendation 40 contracts.

Recommendations to apply without further delay

The Romaine 3 and 4 projects will soon be too advanced to be stopped and certain contracts for small private hydroelectric power stations APR 91 are already being renewed. Considering the urgency to intervene quickly in these two files, the Fondation Rivières demands that the government immediately implement these recommendations tabled by Roger Lanoue and Normand Mousseau. In addition, recommendations aimed at protecting rivers were included in the briefs of several stakeholders and are highlighted in the report, in particular:

  • Resume the exercise of river classification, initiated by the Quebec Ministry of the Environment in the 1990s, [would be an exercise] healthy and would encourage investment for recreational tourism or conservation purposes for future generations;
  • Protect ecological flows and aquatic ecosystems in future hydroelectric developments, including the recommendation to integrate the systematic and quantified evaluation of the existence value of wild rivers and the whitewater heritage of Quebec in the development of the hydroelectric sector;
  • Establish a river classification system and accelerate the process of designating aquatic reserves.

To know more

Photo: La Romaine – The Coastal North

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Projets hydroélectriques : le rapport de la Commission sur les enjeux énergétiques fait écho aux recommandations de la Fondation Rivières

Rivière La Romaine

La Fondation Rivières est heureuse de constater que plusieurs recommandations du Rapport de la Commission sur les enjeux énergétiques du Québec, intitulé Maîtriser notre avenir énergétique, font écho à ses demandes répétées depuis plusieurs années, notamment :

  • Suspendre immédiatement les projets hydroélectriques Romaine 3 et 4 afin d’évaluer l’intérêt financier de l’arrêt complet des phases de construction moins avancées – Recommandation 41.1;
  • Cesser les nouveaux appels d’offres pour la production d’électricité (incluant les petites centrales) et annuler les contrats en cours de renouvellement, ou alors les renégocier en se basant sur la valeur de l’électricité sur le marché d’exportation hors pointe, également en ce qui concerne le renouvellement de l’ensemble des contrats APR 91 – Recommandation 40.

Des recommandations à appliquer sans plus tarder

Les chantiers Romaine 3 et 4 seront bientôt trop avancés pour être arrêtés et certains contrats de petites centrales hydroélectriques privées APR 91 sont déjà en train d’être renouvelés. Considérant l’urgence d’intervenir rapidement dans ces deux dossiers, la Fondation Rivières exige que le gouvernement applique immédiatement ces recommandations déposées par Roger Lanoue et Normand Mousseau. De plus, des recommandations visant la protection des rivières ont été amenées dans les mémoires de plusieurs intervenants et sont soulignées dans le rapport, notamment :

  • Reprendre l’exercice de la classification des rivières, amorcé par le ministère de l’environnement du Québec dans les années 1990, [serait un exercice] sain et encouragerait l’investissement à des fins récréotouristiques ou de conservation pour les générations futures;
  • Protéger les débits écologiques et les écosystèmes aquatiques dans les futurs développements hydroélectriques, incluant la recommandation d’intégrer l’évaluation systématique et chiffrée de la valeur d’existence des rivières sauvages et du patrimoine d’eau-vive du Québec dans le développement de la filière hydroélectrique;
  • Mettre en place un système de classement des rivières et accélérer la démarche de désignation des réserves aquatiques.

Pour en savoir plus

Photo : La Romaine – Le Nord Côtier

Étiquettes

Nos récentes actualités

Contribuez à la protection des rivières du Québec

En plus de soutenir notre équipe à protéger les rivières, votre don vous donne droit à un reçu de charité pour vos impôts.

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec