La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Pilot project for continuous monitoring of water quality in the L’Assomption River

Plage L'Assomption Léo Jacques - Fondation Rivières

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, September 2, 2020 – The Fondation Rivières and the City of L'Assomption are currently carrying out an unprecedented study to measure the impacts of wastewater overflows and other sources of pollution on the bacteriological quality of water at the municipal drinking water intake and in the relaxation area of the Léo-Jacques Park ; both located on the banks of the L'Assomption River, in L'Assomption.

Context

Like hundreds of municipalities in Quebec, the City of L'Assomption obtains its water from a river. However, we note the presence of contaminants, particularly of fecal origin, which come from upstream of the river. These contaminants are of course eliminated by the City's drinking water plant, but many citizens take advantage of a relaxation area along the river to swim during the summer and the City wants to ensure safety. bathers. “ We want to know more precisely and quickly the variation in contaminant concentrations over time, but also the sources of pollution that affect the quality of the water at our drinking water intake. » – Sébastien Nadeau, mayor of the Town of L’Assomption

In response to these concerns, Fondation Rivières developed a continuous monitoring project for the presence of fecal coliforms in order to enable effective risk management. The rapid detection of peaks of bacteriological contamination will thus allow operators of thefiltration plant to react more quickly in the event of an abnormal situation.

The project

The project consists of carrying out analyzes automatically at intervals varying from 30 minutes to four hours depending on the conditions observed. These are carried out with a device ColiMinder deployed in the factory which makes it possible to detect the presence and quantity of E.Coli in water in 15 minutes. The results are then transmitted in real time on the Web and to the operators of the drinking water treatment plant who can trigger other samples for additional, more in-depth analyses. Four partners participate in the project: the Town of L’Assomption, Nordikeau, the Fondation Rivières and thePolytechnic School of Montreal, which provides a ColiMinder device and scientific advice free of charge. The Fondation Rivières can thus carry out real-time monitoring of the bacteriological quality of the water at the collection point.

“As soon as the ColiMinder device detects a case of high contamination, our team is dispatched to take water samples at strategic locations upstream of the river. These samples are then subjected to the ColiMinder analysis which will detect the bacteriological quality in 15 minutes, which therefore makes it possible to detect the origin of the sources of pollution. Analyzes are also carried out at the Léo-Jacques relaxation area by the City team with ColiMinder analyses. Other analyzes make it possible to determine whether the coliforms are of human or animal source. This information is then aggregated into a database which collects information on sewage overflows upstream, the level of precipitation observed and the flow in the river, which should allow us to fully understand the impact of overflows on the water quality of the L'Assomption River. » – Alain Saldzius, president of the Fondation Rivières.

This pilot project for continuous monitoring of water quality lasts 16 weeks from August to November 2020.

- 30 -

For informations :

Sophie Lachance
Responsible for communications and mobilization

Émilie Forget
Communications Advisor, Ville de l’Assomption

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Projet-pilote de surveillance en continu de la qualité de l’eau de la rivière L’Assomption

Image-LAssomption

Montréal, le 2 septembre 2020 – La Fondation Rivières et la Ville de L’Assomption réalisent actuellement une étude inédite pour mesurer les impacts des surverses d’eaux usées et d’autres sources de pollution sur la qualité bactériologique de l’eau à la prise d’eau potable municipale et sur l’aire de détente du parc Léo-Jacques ; toutes deux situées sur les rives de la rivière L’Assomption, à L’Assomption.

Contexte

Comme des centaines de municipalités au Québec, la Ville de L’Assomption s’approvisionne en eau dans une rivière. Or, on y constate la présence de contaminants, notamment d’origine fécale, qui proviennent de l’amont de la rivière. Ces contaminants sont bien sûr éliminés par l’usine d’eau potable de la Ville, mais plusieurs citoyens profitent d’une aire de détente en bordure de la rivière pour se baigner durant l’été et la Ville veut s’assurer de la sécurité des baigneurs. « Nous souhaitons connaître avec plus de précision et de rapidité la variation des concentrations des contaminants dans le temps, mais également les sources de pollution qui affectent la qualité de l’eau à notre prise d’eau potable. » – Sébastien Nadeau, maire de la Ville de L’Assomption

En réponse à ces préoccupations, la Fondation Rivières a développé un projet de surveillance en continu de la présence de coliformes fécaux afin de permettre une gestion efficace des risques. La détection rapide des pointes de contamination bactériologique permettra ainsi aux opérateurs de l’usine de filtration de réagir plus rapidement en cas de situation anormale.

Le projet

Le projet consiste à effectuer des analyses de manière automatisée à des intervalles variant de 30 minutes à quatre heures selon les conditions observées. Celles-ci sont réalisées avec un appareil ColiMinder déployé dans l’usine qui permet de détecter en 15 minutes la présence et la quantité de E.Coli dans l’eau. Les résultats sont ensuite transmis en temps réel sur le Web et aux opérateurs de l’usine de traitement d’eau potable qui peuvent déclencher d’autres prélèvements pour des analyses supplémentaires plus poussées. Quatre partenaires participent au projet: la Ville de L’Assomption, Nordikeau, la Fondation Rivières et l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, qui fournit gracieusement un appareil ColiMinder et des conseils scientifiques. La Fondation Rivières peut ainsi effectuer un suivi en temps réel de la qualité bactériologique de l’eau au point de captage.

« Dès que l’appareil ColiMinder a détecté un cas de contamination élevée, notre équipe est dépêchée pour prélever des échantillons d’eau à des endroits stratégiques en remontant la rivière vers l’amont. Ces prélèvements sont ensuite soumis à l’analyse ColiMinder qui détectera en 15 minutes la qualité bactériologique ce qui permet dès lors de dépister l’origine des sources de pollution. Des analyses sont aussi faites à l’aire de détente Léo-Jacques par l’équipe de la Ville avec des analyses ColiMinder. D’autres analyses permettent de déterminer si les coliformes sont de source humaine ou animale. Ces informations sont ensuite agrégées dans une base de données qui collige les informations sur les débordements d’eaux usées en amont, le niveau des précipitations observées et le débit dans la rivière, ce qui devrait nous permettre de bien comprendre l’impact des surverses sur la qualité de l’eau de la rivière L’Assomption. » – Alain Saladzius,président de la Fondation Rivières.

Ce projet-pilote de surveillance en continu de la qualité de l’eau est d’une durée de 16 semaines du mois d’août à novembre 2020.

Télécharger le communiqué.

-30-

Sources

Geneviève Tardy, Responsable des communications, Fondation Rivières, 514 424-3556

Émilie Forget, Conseillère en communication, Ville de l’Assomption, 450 589-5671 #202

X