La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Bill on the supervision of clean energies: nearly two hundred signatories from civil society unite and deliver a Manifesto for a fair and viable energy future

Manifeste pour un avenir énergétique juste-et-viable_foncé_14 revendications_énergies propres

PRESS RELEASE
FOR BROADCAST ON WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 30, 10AM

Montreal, November 30, 2023 – With a view to the tabling of bills aimed at modernizing the energy sector, the Hydro-Québec Act and the Energy Board Act, planned in the coming weeks, around a hundred citizen groups, environmentalists, unions , community, as well as approximately ninety scientists, professionals, specialists and public figures from various backgrounds unite and present 14 demands to the government of Quebec in their Manifesto for a just and viable energy future.

The signatories denounce the lack of social dialogue, vision and planning in the energy sector. They insist on the disastrous consequences on the territory, on our capacity to provide affordable energy to the population and to electrify the economy that could result from the sale of terawatt hours (TWh) of “clean” and low-cost energy by the Minister of Economy, Innovation and Energy to attract energy-intensive foreign companies.

14 demands

The Manifesto calls for public energy under democratic control; to a debate on energy in Quebec (following the botched public consultations carried out in the summer of 2023); a new energy policy in Quebec; integrated resource planning; measures that promote the reduction of energy demands; binding plans aimed at a gradual and predictable, but rapid, exit from fossil fuels; to safeguard and strengthen the powers of the Energy Authority; to the protection of the territory; recognition of the rights of indigenous peoples and the consent of local populations; opposes the polluter-pays principle; opposes the total or partial privatization of Hydro-Québec; calls for a just transition for workers and to avoid an increase in electricity prices which would increase precariousness and risk slowing down the energy transition.

“Faced with the threats to our energy future, we are ready to intensify our mobilization to put more pressure on public office holders. We are determined to make our voices heard and demand a legislative framework that will be adapted to the current and future context. Together, we will work tirelessly to defend a viable future, based on coherent and democratic energy choices. » – Excerpt from the manifesto

For more quotes, check out press kit complete.

The manifesto is the result of several months of research, discussions and consultation efforts. It is available at futurenergetique.org.

– 30 –

For more information or to obtain interviews with the signatories of the press release, please contact:

Melanie Busby
Responsible for community life
Common front for the energy transition
(514) 233-8941
melanie.busby@pourlatransitionenergetique.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Projet de loi sur l’encadrement des énergies propres : près de deux cent signataires de la société civile s’unissent et livrent un Manifeste pour un avenir énergétique juste et viable

Manifeste pour un avenir énergétique juste-et-viable_foncé_14 revendications_énergies propres

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE MERCREDI 30 NOVEMBRE 10H

Montréal, le 30 novembre 2023 – En vue du dépôt de projets de loi visant à moderniser le secteur de l’énergie, la Loi sur Hydro-Québec et la Loi sur la Régie de l’énergie, prévu dans les prochaines semaines, une centaine de groupes citoyens, écologistes, syndicaux, communautaires, ainsi qu’environ quatre-vingt-dix scientifiques, professionnel.les, spécialistes et personnalités publiques de divers horizons s’unissent et présentent 14 revendications au gouvernement du Québec dans leur Manifeste pour un avenir énergétique juste et viable.

Les signataires dénoncent le manque de dialogue social, de vision et de planification dans le secteur énergétique. Ils et elles insistent sur les conséquences désastreuses sur le territoire, sur notre capacité à fournir une énergie abordable à la population et à électrifier l’économie que pourrait engendrer le bradage des térawattheures (TWh) d’énergie « propre » et à bas coût par le ministre de l’Économie, de l’Innovation et de l’Énergie pour attirer des entreprises étrangères énergivores.

14 revendications

Le Manifeste appelle à une énergie publique sous contrôle démocratique; à un débat sur l’énergie au Québec (suite aux consultations publiques bâclées menées à l’été 2023); à une nouvelle politique énergétique au Québec; à une planification intégrée des ressources; à des mesures qui favorisent la réduction des demandes en énergie; à des plans contraignants visant une sortie graduelle et prévisible, mais rapide, des énergies fossiles; à la sauvegarde et au renforcement des pouvoirs de la Régie de l’énergie; à la protection du territoire; à la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones et au consentement des populations locales; s’oppose au principe du pollueur-payé; s’oppose à la privatisation totale ou partielle d’Hydro-Québec; demande une transition juste pour les travailleurs et travailleuses et d’éviter une augmentation des tarifs d’électricité qui accentuerait la précarité et risquerait de ralentir la transition énergétique.

« Face aux menaces qui pèsent sur notre avenir énergétique, nous sommes prêt·es à intensifier notre mobilisation pour mettre davantage de pression sur les titulaires de charges publiques. Nous sommes déterminé·es à faire entendre nos voix et à exiger un cadre législatif qui sera adapté au contexte actuel et futur. Ensemble, nous travaillerons sans relâche pour défendre un avenir viable, basé sur des choix énergétiques cohérents et démocratiques. » – Extrait du manifeste

Pour plus de citations, consultez le dossier de presse complet.

Le manifeste est le résultat de plusieurs mois de recherche, d’échanges et d’efforts de concertation. Il est disponible au avenirenergetique.org.

– 30 –

Pour plus d’informations ou pour obtenir des entretiens avec les signataires du communiqué, veuillez contacter :

Mélanie Busby
Responsable de la vie associative
Front commun pour la transition énergétique
(514) 233-8941
melanie.busby@pourlatransitionenergetique.org

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec