La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Nearly a hundred people participated in the Grand Splash at the Old Port of Montreal

Grand Splash 2022 - nos événements - baignade à Montréal

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, July 1, 2022 – Many citizens took to the water at the Old Port of Montreal for the traditional Grand Splash, an initiative of Fondation Rivières. While the Port of Quebec today inaugurates the very first port bath in North America, the mobilization in Montreal aims to demand the equivalent at the Quai Jacques-Cartier, where the water is practically always clean and access safe.

The advisor associated with the mayor, Alia Hassan-Cournol, was on site: “We have always believed in access to the banks. Thanks to Fondation Rivières, we have more and more data on water quality and [access to swimming] in the city center, we believe in it. But it must also be done elsewhere in Montreal, in a safe manner and that is our priority. ”, she mentioned.

The former member of Québec Solidaire, Amir Khadir, got involved in the cause: “What the Foundation is doing is great, but it will not be able to solve the problem alone. How can we deal with private property that blocks citizens’ access to the banks? It requires a legislative change and an important political decision. ". Despite the island character of Montreal, its banks still remain largely inaccessible: of nearly 170 km of banks, 120 km are private and only 50 km are accessible to the public.

On the artistic side, the singer and founder of the group Clay and Friends, Mike Clay, was one of the first to take to the water. The group assumed the honorary presidency of this edition. The theme of water is a central element in the approach of the training, which has established its headquarters in Verdun, the only place with a public beach near the center of Montreal.

Huge swimming potential in the Old Port

The water in the Jacques-Cartier basin is of excellent quality in dry weather, that is to say a period without rain at least 48 hours before sampling. According to data from the Aquatic Environments Monitoring Network (RSMA) of the City of Montreal, it met swimming standards (maximum of 200 CFU/100mL) in more than 95 % samples during the summer period, from 2003 to 2021. After an episode of heavy rain, it would be enough to close access to the swimming area over a period of 24 to 72 hours, as at Verdun beach – the duration of closure varying depending on the importance of overflows from the sewer networks .

“A port basin at the Old Port would have the potential to become a real tourist icon for Montreal. The inauguration of a swimming area at this location would represent a significant gesture on the part of the City in terms of ecological transition and adaptation to climate change. » underlines André Bélanger, director of Fondation Rivières.

The Foundation and Earth Day – at the origin of the Grand Splash de Montréal in 2003 – requested a meeting with the directors of the Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal to understand the obstacles they see in opening of a swimming area. At present, Fondation Rivières has not heard back.

Remember that a port bath project at the end of the Quai de l'Horloge was abandoned in the summer of 2020. Installed in the St. Lawrence River, outside the protected zone of the Old Port, this port bath project was exposed to a strong current, unlike the Jacques-Cartier basin.

Quality water in more than 50 locations around the island

It is not only at Quai Jacques-Cartier where the water is of good quality: the Foundation noted, earlier this week, the existence of 51 sites accessible from the shores of the island of Montreal where the The water is of good quality for swimming in dry weather. The City has everything it takes to become a North American model of access to the banks, even though it only has three free public access points to natural bodies of water: Verdun Beach, the Parc- nature of Cap-Saint-Jacques and the beach of the Bois-de-L'Île-Bizard nature park (currently closed).

The start of a series of Grand Splash

Several Grand Splashes will take place across the province, between July 1 and 10, in order to challenge elected officials and decision-makers about the importance of providing free public access to swimming and ensuring quality. some water. The population is invited to jump into the water in several locations: in addition to the main event at the Old Port of Montreal, Trois-Rivières, Saint-Lambert, Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, Sainte-Martine and Saint- Denis-sur-Richelieu, and will also be in this edition.

About Fondation Rivières

For 20 years, Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water for the Quebec population. Since 2019, the Foundation has been organizing the Grand Splash week.

-30-

Source :
Sophie Lachance
Communications and Mobilization Leader
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Près d’une centaine de personnes ont participé au Grand Splash au Vieux-Port de Montréal

Grand Splash 2022 - nos événements

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 1er juillet 2022 – De nombreux et nombreuses citoyen.ne.s se sont lancé.e.s à l’eau au Vieux-Port de Montréal pour le traditionnel Grand Splash, une initiative de Fondation Rivières. Alors que le Port de Québec inaugure aujourd’hui le tout premier bain portuaire en Amérique du Nord, la mobilisation à Montréal a pour but de réclamer l’équivalent au Quai Jacques-Cartier, où l’eau est pratiquement toujours propre et l’accès sécuritaire.

La conseillère associée à la mairesse, Alia Hassan-Cournol, était sur place : « L’accès aux berges, on y croit depuis toujours. Grâce à Fondation Rivières, on a de plus en plus de données sur la qualité de l’eau et [l’accès à la baignade] au centre-ville, on y croit. Mais ça doit se faire aussi ailleurs à Montréal, de façon sécuritaire et ça, c’est notre priorité. », a-t-elle mentionnée.

L’ancien député de Québec Solidaire, Amir Khadir, s’est mouillé pour la cause : « Ce que fait la Fondation est génial, mais elle ne pourra pas à elle seule régler le problème. Comment composer avec la propriété privée qui bloque l’accès aux berges aux citoyens? Ça prend un changement législatif et une décision politique importante. ». Malgré le caractère insulaire de Montréal, ses berges restent encore largement inaccessibles : sur près de 170 km de rives, 120 km sont privées et 50 km seulement sont accessibles au public.

Du côté de la scène artistique, le chanteur et fondateur du groupe Clay and Friends, Mike Clay, a été l’un des premiers à se lancer à l’eau. Le groupe assurait la présidence d’honneur de cette édition. La thématique de l’eau est un élément central dans la démarche de la formation, qui a établi son quartier général à Verdun, le seul endroit muni d’une plage publique près du centre de Montréal.

Un énorme potentiel de baignade dans le Vieux-Port

L’eau du bassin Jacques-Cartier est d’excellente qualité par temps sec, c’est-à-dire une période sans pluie au minimum 48 heures avant l’échantillonnage. Selon les données du Réseau de suivi des milieux aquatiques (RSMA) de la Ville de Montréal, elle a rencontré les normes de baignade (maximum de 200 UFC/100mL) dans plus 95 % des prélèvements en période estivale, de 2003 à 2021. Après un épisode de forte pluie, il suffirait de fermer l’accès à la zone de baignade sur une période de 24 à 72 h, comme à la plage de Verdun – la durée de fermeture variant selon l’importance des débordements des réseaux d’égout.

« Un bassin portuaire au Vieux-Port aurait le potentiel de devenir un réel icône touristique pour Montréal. L’inauguration d’un lieu de baignade à cet endroit représenterait un geste significatif de la part de la Ville en matière de transition écologique et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques. » souligne André Bélanger, directeur de Fondation Rivières.

La Fondation et le Jour de la Terre – à l’origine du Grand Splash de Montréal en 2003 – ont sollicité une rencontre avec les dirigeant.e.s de la Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal pour comprendre les freins qu’ils voient à l’ouverture d’une zone de baignade. À l’heure qu’il est, Fondation Rivières n’a pas eu de retour.

Rappelons qu’un projet de bain portuaire au bout du Quai de l’Horloge avait été abandonné à l’été 2020. Installé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à l’extérieur de la zone protégée du Vieux-Port, ce projet de bain portuaire était exposé à un fort courant, contrairement au bassin Jacques-Cartier.

Une eau de qualité à plus de 50 endroits autour de l’île

Ce n’est pas qu’au Quai Jacques-Cartier où l’eau est de bonne qualité : la Fondation a relevé, plus tôt cette semaine, l’existence de 51 sites accessibles à partir des rives de l’île de Montréal où l’eau est de bonne qualité pour la baignade en temps sec. La Ville a tout ce qu’il faut pour devenir un modèle nord-américain d’accès aux berges, alors qu’elle ne compte que trois accès publics gratuits au public sur plan d’eau naturel : la plage de Verdun, le Parc-nature du Cap-Saint-Jacques et la plage du parc-nature du Bois-de-L’Île-Bizard (fermée présentement).

Le début d’une série de Grand Splash

Plusieurs Grand Splash auront lieu à travers la province, entre le 1er et le 10 juillet, afin d’interpeller les élu.e.s et les décideurs à l’importance d’aménager des accès publics gratuits à la baignade et d’y assurer la qualité de l’eau. La population est invitée à sauter à l’eau dans plusieurs endroits : en plus de l’événement principal au Vieux-Port de Montréal, Trois-Rivières, Saint-Lambert, Sainte-Anne-de-Sorel, Sainte-Martine et Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu, et seront aussi de cette édition.

À propos de Fondation Rivières

Depuis 20 ans, Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières et contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise. La Fondation organise depuis 2019 La semaine du Grand Splash.

-30-

Consulter les sites où la qualité de l’eau permet la baignade sur les berges de Montréal :
https://fondationrivieres.org/carte-potentiel-de-baignade-montreal/

Programmation complète : https://grandsplash.ca/deuxieme-edition/

Photos : https://bit.ly/3nMPGNn

Source :
Sophie Lachance
Chargée aux communications et à la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.

French