La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Agricultural pollution of waterways: why should we be concerned?

Bétail près d'un cours d'eau

In Quebec, there are nearly 30,000 agricultural operations. What's more, more than 40,000 people work in this sector. This therefore means that agriculture occupies a preponderant place in our economy. Unfortunately, it also occupies an important place in the list of sources of contamination of our waterways. But how exactly does agriculture have a damaging effect on lakes and rivers? 

Water samples

Many agricultural lands in Quebec have direct access to watercourses. While consulting the regional profile of the biofood industry in Quebec, we notice that several are close to the St. Lawrence River or Lac-Saint-Jean, for example. This phenomenon can be explained by historical reasons and by the fact that agriculture requires large quantities of water.

Répartition des exploitations agricoles dans les régions du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (à gauche) et de la Mauricie (à droite)
Distribution of agricultural operations in the Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (left) and Mauricie (right) regions. Source : Regional profile of the biofood industry in Quebec for the year 2019

In fact, agriculture requires more water than any industry: globally, water for agricultural irrigation purposes monopolizes 70 % to 80 % of all the fresh water consumed on the planet. The animal products sectors are the most voracious. Quebec is also fertile ground for the pork industry: it provides 6 % of all pork consumed in the world. In 2019, this represented a production of 7.1 million animals! Watering the cereals used to feed the animal, hydration, cleaning of facilities: when we consider all of Quebec's animal production, we understand why water consumption is increasing so quickly.

Where does the water taken come from? 

This water, just like drinking water, is drawn from groundwater or simply surface water (in lakes and rivers). It even happens that water is drawn from certain wetlands. 

Some farmers manage to make do with rainwater collected in a well to irrigate their land; their actions are therefore not taken into consideration in the calculation of the levy. On the other hand, with climate change and periods of drought and flooding, these farmers risk turning to sources other than rainfed and inflating the current figures. 

Credit: Lise1011/Flickr

Consequences of water withdrawals 

When a significant quantity of water is withdrawn, this risks creating low water (the lowest water level) and modifying the natural flow of the watercourse. In the event of a weakened flow, the contaminants are therefore less well diluted. During low water periods, nautical and swimming activities are affected.

The most worrying thing is that drinking water and agricultural water are, in a way, in competition : we will have to make a choice considering that we plan to reach a population of 9.6 billion humans in 2050, that global food demand will double, that climate change will alter the quantity of available water by generating droughts and floods, and that certain regions already have drinking water shortage issues.

Contaminants: phosphorus, nitrogen and fecal coliforms

Agricultural production has several other impacts on waterways. Among other things, it causes a high level of phosphorus and nitrogen in the water as well as a higher presence of fecal coliforms. 

According to many experts, the presence of phosphorus in water is not alarming in itself. It is even essential to the productivity of freshwater ecosystems. On the other hand, due to human activities such as agriculture, there is far too much phosphorus in our waterways. Indeed, according to researchers in a study from the University of Montreal and McGill University studying data between 1985 and 2011, 19 of 23 Watershed studied crossed the threshold of 2.1 tonnes per square kilometer. According to their estimates, it would take hundreds (perhaps even thousands) of years to return below an acceptable threshold. 

The nitrogen contamination level is less important than for phosphorus, but it should still not be neglected. In 1981, “80 % of agricultural land in Canada was in the “very low” risk category for the risk of nitrogen water contamination”. In 2016, only 49 %s were at “very low” risk. Unsurprisingly, the regions that have undergone more intense densification in recent years are those where the risk is greatest. The following map shows some of the most at-risk regions in a darker color. 

Risque de contamination de l'eau de surface par l'azote au Canada en 2016
Risk of surface water contamination by nitrogen in Canada in 2016. Source : Nitrogen indicator

Consequences of contaminants

Phosphorus and nitrogen are in fact found in several fertilizers, which sometimes also include potassium, and in manure. During spreading periods, farmers cover their land with a layer of fertilizer and manure. Phosphorus and nitrogen then become fixed in the soil, sometimes saturating it. When there is rain, or any other water discharge, the precipitation runs off and flows, carrying contaminants with it until they reach surface and groundwater. 

Similarly, during erosion, saturated soils contaminate banks and water. Then, present in too large quantities in water, nitrogen can be harmful to human health while phosphorus rather causeseutrophication. Remember that agricultural land is often located near watercourses; the streaming drops therefore have a higher concentration than if the drops took a longer trip. 

Moreover, in addition to generating phosphorus, spreading practices also contaminate water with fecal coliforms. Indeed, fecal coliforms are bacteria contained in excrement. By the same principles of runoff and erosion, manure contaminates waterways. Thus, it becomes impossible to swim or navigate in water with too high levels of fecal coliforms.

Credit: Olivier Duval/Flickr

Cumulative effects 

With these forms of contamination, we often notice a cumulative effect. Since the farms are often quite close to each other, the contaminants emitted by each of them are added to the others. In other words, by having several farms rather than one farm, we increase the total volume of phosphorus emitted within a 10 km radius. Moreover, there is currently no obligation to characterize the location of all farms in Quebec. The regional county municipalities (MRC) will do this in their development plan for the agricultural zone. Thus, the permits granted do not take into consideration the activity of the neighborhood.

This proximity effect also has an effect on withdrawals, because if there is only one farm within a 10 km radius, its withdrawals are not likely to affect the watercourses. However, a region with a hundred farms within a 10 km radius can have serious repercussions. Unlike contaminants, water samples are declared to the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) and are therefore counted. 

In addition, between them, the different contaminants can have a cumulative effect. Indeed, the presence of fecal coliforms will, for example, deprive water of oxygen just like phosphate. Thus, when several different contaminants are found, eutrophication can be even more rapid.  

Let us understand clearly: agriculture is essential to meeting the needs of society, but in the interests of environmental protection and social justice, its practices deserve to be reviewed and better supervised. Reducing exports, diversifying our industries for greater autonomy, limiting the quantity of large farms and prioritizing human-scale farms that promote local agriculture are avenues to explore. 

Main photo: Hindrik Sijens


About the author

Labels

Our recent columns

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Our columnists

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Pollution agricole des cours d’eau : pourquoi faut-il s’en préoccuper?

Bétail près d'un cours d'eau

Au Québec, il existe près de 30 000 exploitations agricoles. Qui plus est, au-delà de 40 000 personnes travaillent dans ce secteur. C’est donc dire que l’agriculture occupe une place prépondérante dans notre économie. Malheureusement, elle occupe aussi une place importante dans le palmarès des sources de contamination de nos cours d’eau. Mais comment l’agriculture a-t-elle un effet dommageable sur les lacs et rivières, exactement? 

Prélèvements d’eau

Plusieurs terres agricoles au Québec ont un accès direct aux cours d’eau. En consultant le profil régional de l’industrie bioalimentaire au Québec, on remarque que plusieurs sont à proximité du fleuve Saint-Laurent ou du Lac-Saint-Jean, par exemple. Ce phénomène s’explique par des raisons historiques et par le fait que l’agriculture requiert de grandes quantités d’eau.

Répartition des exploitations agricoles dans les régions du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (à gauche) et de la Mauricie (à droite)
Répartition des exploitations agricoles dans les régions du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (à gauche) et de la Mauricie (à droite). Source : Profil régional de l’industrie bioalimentaire au Québec pour l’année 2019

De fait, l’agriculture requiert plus d’eau que toute industrie : au niveau mondial, l’eau à des fins d’irrigation agricole accapare 70 % à 80 % de toute l’eau douce consommée sur la planète. Les secteurs des produits animaliers sont les plus voraces. Le Québec est d’ailleurs un terreau fertile pour l’industrie porcine : elle fournit 6 % de tous les porcs consommés dans le monde. En 2019, cela représentait une production de 7,1 millions de bêtes! Arrosage des céréales servant à nourrir l’animal, hydratation, nettoyage des installations : lorsqu’on considère l’ensemble de la production animale du Québec, on comprend pourquoi la consommation d’eau augmente si rapidement.

D’où provient l’eau prélevée? 

Cette eau, tout comme l’eau potable, est puisée des nappes d’eau souterraines ou simplement d’eau de surface (dans les lacs et rivières). Il arrive même que l’eau soit puisée à même certains milieux humides. 

Certains agriculteurs et agricultrices arrivent à se contenter de l’eau pluviale récoltée dans un puits pour arroser leurs terres; leurs actions ne sont ainsi pas prises en considération dans le calcul de prélèvement. Par contre, avec les changements climatiques et les périodes de sécheresse et d’inondation, ces agricultrices et agriculteurs risquent de se tourner vers des d’autres sources que pluviales et de faire gonfler les chiffres actuels. 

Crédit : Lise1011/Flickr

Conséquences des prélèvements d’eau 

Lorsqu’une quantité significative d’eau est prélevée, cela risque de créer de l’étiage (le plus bas niveau des eaux) et de modifier le débit naturel du cours d’eau. En cas de débit affaibli, les contaminants sont dès lors moins bien dilués. En période d’étiage, les activités nautiques et de baignade sont affectées.

Le plus préoccupant, c’est que l’eau potable et l’eau d’agriculture sont, en quelque sorte, en compétition : on devra faire un choix considérant que l’on prévoit atteindre une population de 9,6 milliards d’humains en 2050, que la demande mondiale alimentaire doublera, que les changements climatiques altéreront la quantité d’eau disponible en générant des sécheresses et des inondations, et que certaines régions ont déjà des enjeux de pénurie d’eau potable.

Contaminants : phosphore, azote et coliformes fécaux

La production agricole a plusieurs autres répercussions sur les cours d’eau. Elle cause entre autres un fort taux de phosphore et d’azote dans l’eau ainsi qu’une présence plus élevée de coliformes fécaux. 

La présence de phosphore dans l’eau n’est pas alarmante en soi. Elle est même essentielle à la productivité des écosystèmes d’eau douce. Par contre, dû aux activités humaines comme l’agriculture, il y a beaucoup trop de phosphore dans nos cours d’eau. En effet, selon des chercheurs d’une étude de l’Université de Montréal et l’Université McGill étudiant des données entre 1985 et 2011, 19 des 23 bassins versants étudiés ont franchi le seuil des 2,1 tonnes par kilomètre carré. Selon leurs estimations, cela prendrait des centaines (peut-être même des milliers) d’années pour revenir sous un seuil acceptable. 

Le niveau de contamination en azote est moins important que pour le phosphore, mais il ne faut tout de même pas le négliger. En 1981, « 80 % des terres agricoles au Canada se retrouvaient dans la catégorie de risque “très faible” pour le risque de contamination de l’eau par l’azote ». En 2016 ce sont seulement 49 % qui étaient à « très faible » risque. Sans surprise, les régions ayant subi une densification plus intense depuis les dernières années sont celles où le risque est le plus grand. La carte suivante démontre quelques régions des plus à risque par une couleur plus foncée. 

Risque de contamination de l'eau de surface par l'azote au Canada en 2016
Risque de contamination de l’eau de surface par l’azote au Canada en 2016. Source : Indicateur de l’azote

Conséquences des contaminants

Le phosphore et l’azote se retrouvent en effet dans plusieurs fertilisants, qui comprennent parfois en plus du potassium, et dans le fumier. Lors des périodes d’épandage, les agriculteurs et agricultrices recouvrent leurs terres d’une couche d’engrais et de fumier. Le phosphore et l’azote se fixent alors dans le sol jusqu’à parfois le saturer. Lorsqu’il y a des pluies, ou tout autre déversement d’eau, les précipitations ruissellent et s’écoulent en emportant les contaminants avec elles jusqu’à ce que ceux-ci rejoignent les eaux de surface et souterraines. 

De façon similaire, lors d’érosion, les sols saturés contaminent les berges et l’eau. Puis, présent en trop grande quantité dans l’eau, l’azote peut être nocif pour la santé humaine alors que le phosphore cause plutôt de l’eutrophisation. Rappelons que les terres agricoles sont souvent situées près des cours d’eau; les gouttes ruisselées ont donc une concentration plus élevée que si les gouttes faisaient un plus long voyage. 

D’ailleurs, en plus de générer du phosphore, les pratiques d’épandage contaminent aussi les eaux de coliformes fécaux. En effet, les coliformes fécaux sont des bactéries contenues dans les excréments. Par les mêmes principes de ruissellement et d’érosion, le fumier contamine les cours d’eau. Ainsi, il devient impossible de nager ou de naviguer une eau ayant des taux trop élevés de coliformes fécaux.

Crédit : Olivier Duval/Flickr

Effets cumulatifs 

Avec ces formes de contamination, on remarque souvent un effet cumulatif. Puisque les fermes sont souvent assez proches les unes des autres, les contaminants émis par chacune d’elles sont additionnés aux autres. Autrement dit, en ayant plusieurs fermes plutôt qu’une ferme, on augmente le volume total de phosphore émis dans un rayon de 10 km. D’ailleurs, il n’y a actuellement aucune obligation de caractériser l’emplacement de toutes les fermes du Québec. Les municipalités régionales de comté (MRC), elles, vont le faire dans leur plan de développement de la zone agricole. Ainsi, les permis octroyés ne prennent pas en considération l’activité du voisinage.

Cet effet de proximité a aussi un effet sur les prélèvements, car s’il n’existe qu’une seule ferme dans un rayon de 10 km, ses prélèvements ne risquent pas d’affecter les cours d’eau. Cependant, une région ayant une centaine de fermes dans un rayon de 10 km peut avoir de sérieuses répercussions. Contrairement aux contaminants, les prélèvements d’eau sont déclarés au Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) et sont donc comptabilisés. 

De plus, entre eux, les différents contaminants peuvent avoir un effet cumulatif. En effet, la présence de coliformes fécaux va, par exemple, priver une eau d’oxygène tout comme le phosphate. Ainsi, lorsqu’on retrouve plusieurs contaminants différents, l’eutrophisation peut être encore plus rapide.  

Comprenons-nous bien : l’agriculture est essentielle pour subvenir aux besoins de la société, mais dans une logique de protection de l’environnement et de justice sociale, ses pratiques méritent d’être revues et mieux encadrées. Réduire les exportations, diversifier nos industries pour une meilleure autonomie, limiter la quantité de grandes fermes d’exploitation et prioriser les fermes à dimension humaine qui favorisent l’agriculture de proximité sont des avenues à explorer. 

Photo principale : Hindrik Sijens


À propos de l’auteure

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser