La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydro-Québec's 2035 action plan: moratorium requested on the granting of electricity for industrial development

Pylône_casey-horner_unsplash_Plan d’action 2035 d'Hydro-Québec : moratoire demandé sur l’octroi d’électricité pour le développement industriel

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, November 9, 2023 – A group of more than 20 civil society organizations welcomes with concern the 2035 Action Plan presented last week by the CEO of Hydro-Québec, Michael Sabia, and asks the Legault government to immediately stop all granting of new energy blocks to industrial projects until Quebec has adopted a policy credible, coherent energy and supported by the population. These environmental organizations and ecological citizens believe that the massive development plan for energy infrastructure submitted by Hydro-Québec obviously aims to meet the expectations of the government, which prioritizes the industry, ignoring ecological issues as well as major constraints of time, labor and social acceptability which make its realization more than uncertain.

“By guaranteeing energy-intensive companies electrical capacities that do not exist and that it is probably neither wise nor realistic to attempt to build, while failing to seriously invest in reducing energy demands, the Government of Quebec risks itself creating an electricity shortage which will irremediably compromise the decarbonization of Quebec in a timely manner. This is why we are calling for an immediate moratorium on the granting of electricity for new industrial projects,” declare the signatories of the press release.

A pharaonic project to increase supply without structuring sobriety measures

“Even if it aims to double the energy savings already planned, mainly through efficiency measures, Hydro-Québec's 2035 Plan is part of the vision of an energy transition free from structuring measures of sobriety and “first and foremost, we are focusing on a huge project to increase energy supply,” say the groups. This plan provides, over 12 years, for the addition of 60 terawatt hours (TWh) of energy and 8,000 to 9,000 megawatts (MW) of power, the equivalent of the combined power of the Robert-Bourassa development ( LG-2), the Manic-5 power plant and the Romaine complex. These facilities would require investments of $155 to $185 billion, the construction of 5,000 km of transmission lines and the contribution of approximately 35,000 workers on average each year by 2035.

In a global context where the climate crisis and the biodiversity crisis feed each other, the decision to build vast hydroelectric complexes in the boreal and northern environments would have serious environmental consequences. In addition, the groups doubt that the harnessing of new rivers benefits from social acceptability and emphasize that projects on indigenous territories should involve the communities affected by the projects. They also observe that several wind farm projects are causing outcry, particularly in the agricultural world. Finally, the plan envisages the Gentilly-2 site to accommodate a nuclear power plant or small modular reactors, while this sector is strongly rejected by the population of Quebec.

A Plan that seriously underestimates the transformations necessary for the decarbonization of Quebec

The International Energy Agency estimates that “developed economies” like Quebec must reduce their greenhouse gas emissions by 80 % by 2035. The Legault government and Hydro-Québec seriously underestimate the extent of the electricity needs required to decarbonize Quebec's economy by 2035. Worse still, they intend to devote 25% of the additional electricity planned, or at least 2000 MW, for economic growth without being able to demonstrate that the electricity necessary for decarbonization will be available. The groups deplore that the Plan allocates currently non-existent energy blocks to future industries that will want to benefit from low-cost clean electricity and thus maintains the illusion that Quebec could both accommodate strong energy-intensive industrial development, decarbonize and do without the systemic transformations essential to achieve energy sobriety. Due to the climate crisis, decarbonization must take priority over industrial development.

Who will pay the bill?

The costs of new supplies will be significantly higher than current costs, creating upward pressure on tariffs, while the government persists in wanting to attract industrial projects by offering them attractive prices (tariff L or even lower tariff). . The groups fear that it is the most economically fragile people, who do not have the means to benefit from subsidies for renovation or the purchase of energy-efficient equipment, and middle-class households who will suffer since the sector residential will most likely, sooner or later, absorb part of Hydro-Québec's shortfall. This upward pressure on prices could serve as a pretext for the deregulation and denationalization of electricity.

Need for adequate planning which would result from a societal debate

The signatories emphasize that the submission of a plan by Hydro-Québec cannot exempt us from the democratic processes required by such important societal choices. The economic, ecological and social shortcomings of this plan confirm the need for adequate planning which would result from a social dialogue approach. They demand that the government of Quebec put in place a moratorium on the granting of additional power for industrial projects of more than 5 MW until a frank, broad and structured societal debate on the energy future. of Quebec has been carried out. This debate must lead to an energy policy and a real integrated planning of energy resources (PIRE), according to a systemic approach including in particular the environmental and social impacts on the entire life cycle of the different energy solutions, and this, above all modification to the regulatory framework in force.

– 30-

For more information or to obtain interviews with the signatories of the press release, please contact:

Melanie Busby
Responsible for community life
Common front for the energy transition
(514) 233-8941

 


 

Signatories (in alphabetical order of organization):

  • Émilie Laurin-Dansereau, ACEF of North Montreal
  • Lucie Massé, Action Environnement Bassees-Laurentides
  • David Roy, Workshops for biodiversity
  • Jean-François Boisvert, Montreal Climate Coalition
  • Jean-Philippe Waaub, Scientific collective on energy issues in Quebec
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours
  • Pascal Bergeron, Green Environment Plus
  • Éric Ferland, Écosphere Fair
  • Jean Paradis, Fondation Coule pas chez nous
  • Stéphanie Harnois, David Suzuki Foundation
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières
  • Patrick Bonin, Greenpeace Canada
  • Jacques Benoit, GMob (GroupMobilization)
  • Myriam Thériault, Mothers at the front
  • Jacques Lebleu, Ahuntsic-Cartierville Environmental Mobilization (MEAC)
  • Carole Dupuis, UNEplanète eco-citizen movement
  • Alice-Anne Simard, Nature Quebec
  • Jean-Pierre Finet, Grouping of environmental energy organizations (ROEÉ)
  • Bruno Detuncq, Quebec Hydrocarbon Vigilance Group (RVHQ)
  • Maude Prud'homme, Quebec Network of Environmental Groups (RQGE)
  • Sylvie Berthiaume, Sutton Environmental Solidarity
  • Ève Duhaime, TerraVie
  • Krystel Marylène Papineau, Coalition Let’s get out of the Carbon Fund

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Plan d’action 2035 d’Hydro-Québec : moratoire demandé sur l’octroi d’électricité pour le développement industriel

Pylône_casey-horner_unsplash_Plan d’action 2035 d'Hydro-Québec : moratoire demandé sur l’octroi d’électricité pour le développement industriel

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 9 novembre 2023 – Un regroupement de plus de 20 organisations de la société civile accueille avec inquiétude le Plan d’action 2035 présenté la semaine dernière par le PDG d’Hydro-Québec, Michael Sabia, et demande au gouvernement Legault de cesser immédiatement tout octroi de nouveaux blocs d’énergie à des projets industriels jusqu’à ce que le Québec se soit doté d’une politique énergétique crédible, cohérente et soutenue par la population. Ces organisations environnementales et citoyennes écologistes estiment que le plan de développement massif des infrastructures énergétiques déposé par Hydro-Québec vise de toute évidence à répondre aux attentes du gouvernement, qui priorise l’industrie, en faisant fi des enjeux écologiques ainsi que des contraintes majeures de temps, de main d’œuvre et d’acceptabilité sociale qui rendent sa réalisation plus qu’incertaine.

« En garantissant à des entreprises énergivores des capacités électriques qui n’existent pas et qu’il n’est probablement ni sage, ni réaliste de tenter de construire, tout en omettant d’investir sérieusement dans la baisse des demandes d’énergie, le gouvernement du Québec risque de créer lui-même une pénurie d’électricité qui compromettra irrémédiablement la décarbonation du Québec en temps opportun. C’est pourquoi nous réclamons un moratoire immédiat sur l’octroi d’électricité pour les nouveaux projets industriels », déclarent les signataires du communiqué.

Un projet pharaonique d’augmentation de l’offre sans mesures structurantes de sobriété

« Même s’il vise à doubler les économies d’énergie déjà planifiées, essentiellement par des mesures d’efficacité, le Plan 2035 d’Hydro-Québec s’intègre à la vision d’une transition énergétique exempte de mesures structurantes de sobriété et mise d’abord et avant tout sur un énorme projet d’augmentation de l’offre énergétique » affirment les groupes. Ce plan prévoit, en 12 ans, l’ajout de 60 térawattheures (TWh) d’énergie et de 8 000 à 9 000 mégawatts (MW) de puissance, soit l’équivalent de la puissance combinée de l’aménagement Robert-Bourassa (LG-2), de la centrale Manic-5 et du complexe de la Romaine. Ces installations exigeraient des investissements de 155 à 185 milliards de dollars, la construction de 5 000 km de lignes de transport et la contribution d’environ 35 000 travailleurs et travailleuses en moyenne chaque année d’ici 2035.

Dans un contexte planétaire où la crise climatique et la crise de la biodiversité se nourrissent mutuellement, la décision de construire de vastes complexes hydroélectriques en milieu boréal et nordique serait lourde de conséquences environnementales. De plus, les groupes doutent que le harnachement de nouvelles rivières bénéficie de l’acceptabilité sociale et soulignent que les projets sur des territoires autochtones devraient impliquer les communautés affectées par les projets. Ils observent aussi que plusieurs projets de parcs éoliens soulèvent des levées de boucliers, notamment dans le monde agricole. Enfin, le plan envisage le site Gentilly-2 pour accueillir une centrale nucléaire ou de petits réacteurs modulaires, alors que cette filière est vivement rejetée par la population du Québec.

Un Plan qui sous-estime gravement les transformations nécessaires à la décarbonation du Québec

L’Agence internationale de l’énergie estime que les « économies développées » comme le Québec doivent réduire leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 80 % d’ici 2035. Le gouvernement Legault et Hydro-Québec sous-estiment gravement l’ampleur des besoins requis en électricité pour décarboner l’économie du Québec d’ici 2035. Pire encore, ils comptent consacrer 25% de l’électricité additionnelle prévue, soit au moins 2000 MW, pour la croissance économique sans être en mesure de démontrer que l’électricité nécessaire à la décarbonation sera disponible. Les groupes déplorent que le Plan alloue des blocs d’énergie actuellement inexistants aux futures industries qui voudront bénéficier d’électricité propre à bas prix et entretienne ainsi l’illusion que le Québec pourrait à la fois accueillir un fort développement industriel énergivore, se décarboner et se passer des transformations systémiques indispensables pour atteindre la sobriété énergétique. En raison de la crise climatique, la décarbonation doit avoir la priorité sur le développement industriel.

Qui paiera la facture?

Les coûts des nouveaux approvisionnements seront sensiblement plus élevés que les coûts présents, créant une pression à la hausse sur les tarifs, alors que le gouvernement persiste à vouloir attirer des projets industriels en leur offrant des prix alléchants (tarif L ou tarif encore plus bas). Les groupes craignent que ce soient les personnes les plus fragiles économiquement, qui n’ont pas les moyens de profiter des subventions à la rénovation ou à l’achat d’équipements écoénergétiques, et les ménages de la classe moyenne qui en souffriront puisque le secteur résidentiel devra fort probablement, tôt ou tard, absorber une partie du manque à gagner d’Hydro-Québec. Cette pression à la hausse sur les tarifs pourrait servir de prétexte à la déréglementation et à la dénationalisation de l’électricité.

Besoin d’une planification adéquate qui résulterait d’un débat de société

Les signataires soulignent que le dépôt d’un plan par Hydro-Québec ne saurait nous dispenser des processus démocratiques qu’appellent des choix de société aussi importants. Les lacunes économiques, écologiques et sociales de ce plan confirment le besoin d’une planification adéquate qui résulterait d’une démarche de dialogue social. Ils et elles demandent que le gouvernement du Québec mette en place un moratoire sur l’octroi de puissance additionnelle pour les projets industriels de plus de 5 MW jusqu’à ce qu’un débat de société franc, large et structuré sur l’avenir énergétique du Québec ait été mené. Ce débat devra aboutir sur une politique énergétique et sur une véritable planification intégrée des ressources énergétiques (PIRE), selon une approche systémique incluant notamment les impacts environnementaux et sociaux sur l’ensemble du cycle de vie des différentes solutions énergétiques, et ce, avant toute modification au cadre réglementaire en vigueur.

– 30-

Pour plus d’informations ou pour obtenir des entretiens avec les signataires du communiqué, veuillez contacter :

Mélanie Busby
Responsable de la vie associative
Front commun pour la transition énergétique
(514) 233-8941

 


 

Signataires (par ordre alphabétique d’organisation):

  • Émilie Laurin-Dansereau, ACEF du Nord de Montréal
  • Lucie Massé, Action Environnement Bassees-Laurentides
  • David Roy, Ateliers pour la biodiversité
  • Jean-François Boisvert, Coalition climat Montréal
  • Jean-Philippe Waaub, Collectif scientifique sur les enjeux énergétiques au Québec
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours
  • Pascal Bergeron, Environnement Vert Plus
  • Éric Ferland, Foire Écosphère
  • Jean Paradis, Fondation Coule pas chez nous
  • Stéphanie Harnois, Fondation David Suzuki
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières
  • Patrick Bonin, Greenpeace Canada
  • Jacques Benoit, GMob (GroupMobilisation)
  • Myriam Thériault, Mères au front
  • Jacques Lebleu, Mobilisation environnement Ahuntsic-Cartierville (MEAC)
  • Carole Dupuis, Mouvement écocitoyen UNEplanète
  • Alice-Anne Simard, Nature Québec
  • Jean-Pierre Finet, Regroupement des organismes environnementaux en énergie (ROEÉ)
  • Bruno Detuncq, Regroupement vigilance hydrocarbure Québec (RVHQ)
  • Maude Prud’homme, Réseau québécois des groupes écologistes (RQGE)
  • Sylvie Berthiaume, Solidarité environnement Sutton
  • Ève Duhaime, TerraVie
  • Krystel Marylène Papineau, Coalition Sortons la Caisse du carbone

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec