La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

A beach for swimming in the Rivière du Nord?

The Rivière du Nord winds its way through downtown Saint-Jérôme for around ten kilometers: a true oasis of freshness in an urban environment! However, even in the heatwave, few people dare to swim there and there is currently no public beach. Formerly very popular for swimming, the reputation of the river near Saint-Jérôme is today unenviable. The city's sewer system is known to overflow during rainy weather and contaminate the river, making safe swimming impossible.

On the other hand, a few days after the rain and the overflows, we could expect that the pollution will gradually fade and that swimming will then be possible, even if it means wanting to imagine a beach, and this more and more with recent summers. And you, would you swim in the Rivière du Nord? It is to better answer this question that the City of Saint-Jérôme commissioned us this summer.

On the trail of bacteria

Our first results collected at the urban beach site studied by the City were not very encouraging: there were clearly sources of pollution higher up in the river which made swimming impossible. We were going to have to investigate! How? By following the trail of bacteria of fecal origin such as E.coli!

To do this, we take water from different strategic locations along the river and, when we see a spike in bacteria in our results, we know we are getting closer to the source. Scientific analyzes are therefore our favorite tool in this fecal investigation but I admit that, the closer we get to the source, the more it is the nose that takes over!

Saint-Jérôme - Rivière du Nord - Échantillonnage - Philippe
Philippe Maisonneuve, sampling on the Du Nord River

No wipes in the toilet!

Our investigation allowed us to discover the kind of disaster that cleaning wipes thrown down the toilet can cause. We have used them a lot since the start of the pandemic, but when they end up in our sewer systems, rather than degrading like toilet paper, they clump together with greasy substances and become a real scourge. A good example is a clogged sewer line that overflows into a stream.

This type of blockage is very unpredictable and poses a real threat to beach swimming and the health of our rivers. Continuous water quality monitoring devices make it possible to detect them and act quickly, but they are still not widely used.

An “underwater” drone near the beach

Of course, the Rivière du Nord is not just brown and foul-smelling. It’s also majestic falls, lush vegetation and captivating morning drizzle. It was to show you all this that my colleague Christian and I went to film images with a drone a few weeks ago.

The morning was progressing well and I was busy collecting my last samples (being careful not to look too much at the camera, in order to look natural). When suddenly, a rustling of leaves, followed by a splash! The drone had been carried away by a gust of wind and got stuck in a tree branch before plunging to the bottom of the river, before our eyes. My colleague will tell you about this incredible adventure shortly…

No beach this year, but there is hope

The summer of 2021 was ultimately not at all conducive to swimming, but our results still made it possible to identify several sources of pollution in the Rivière du Nord. When they have all been eliminated, perhaps one day we will be able to open a beach there without fear. Until then, there's work to be done! Come on, I'm going back!

Are you interested in our services?


About the Author

Labels

Our recent columns

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Our columnists

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Plage Saint-Jérôme

Une plage pour la baignade dans la rivière du Nord?

La rivière du Nord sillonne le centre-ville de Saint-Jérôme sur une dizaine de kilomètres : une véritable oasis de fraîcheur en milieu urbain! Pourtant, même par grande canicule, rares sont les gens qui osent y faire saucette et il n’y a pas de plage publique actuellement. Autrefois très prisée pour la baignade, la réputation de la rivière à la hauteur de Saint-Jérôme est aujourd’hui peu enviable. On sait que le réseau d’égouts de la ville déborde par temps de pluie et contamine la rivière, ce qui rend la baignade sécuritaire impossible.

Par contre, quelques jours après la pluie et les débordements, on pourrait s’attendre à ce que la pollution s’estompe graduellement et que la baignade y soit alors envisageable, quitte à vouloir s’imaginer une plage, et ce de plus en plus avec les étés derniers. Et vous, vous baigneriez-vous dans dans la rivière du Nord? C’est pour mieux répondre à cette question que la Ville de Saint-Jérôme nous a mandaté cet été.

Sur la piste des bactéries

Nos premiers résultats récoltés au site de plage urbaine étudié par la Ville n’étaient pas très encourageants : il y avait clairement des sources de pollution plus haut dans la rivière qui rendaient la baignade impossible. Il allait falloir enquêter! Comment? En suivant la piste des bactéries d’origines fécales de type E. coli!

Pour ce faire, on prélève de l’eau à différents endroits stratégiques le long de la rivière et, quand on voit un pic de bactéries dans nos résultats, on sait qu’on se rapproche de la source. Les analyses scientifiques sont donc notre outil de prédilection dans cette enquête fécale mais je vous avoue que, plus on se rapproche de la source, plus c’est le nez qui prend le relais!

Échantillonnage à la rivière du Nord au site de plage potentielle.
La chasse aux bactéries est ouverte!

Pas de lingettes dans la toilette!

Notre enquête nous a permis de découvrir le genre de désastre que peuvent causer les lingettes nettoyantes jetées aux toilettes. On les utilise beaucoup depuis le début de la pandémie, mais quand elles se retrouvent dans nos réseaux d’égouts, plutôt que de se dégrader comme le papier de toilette, elles s’agglutinent avec les substances graisseuses et deviennent un vrai fléau. En voici un bon exemple, soit une conduite d’égout bouchée qui déborde dans un ruisseau.

Ce genre de blocage est très imprévisible et représente une menace réelle pour la baignade sur une plage et pour la santé de nos rivières. Des appareils de suivi en continu de la qualité de l’eau permettent de les détecter et d’agir rapidement, mais ils sont encore trop peu répandus.

Un drone « sous-marin » près de la plage

Bien sûr, la rivière du Nord n’est pas que brune et nauséabonde. C’est aussi des chutes majestueuses, une végétation luxuriante et une bruine matinale envoûtante. C’est pour vous montrer tout ça que mon collègue Christian et moi sommes allés filmer des images avec un drone il y a quelques semaines.

La matinée avançait bien et j’étais occupé à récolter mes derniers échantillons (en faisant attention à ne pas trop regarder la caméra, question d’avoir l’air naturel). Quand soudainement, un bruissement de feuilles, suivi d’un plouf! Le drone avait été emporté par une bourrasque de vent et s’était embourbé dans une branche d’arbre avant de plonger tout au fond de la rivière, devant nos yeux. Mon collègue vous parlera de cette aventure rocambolesque sous peu…

Philippe vu du drone
Vue du drone quelques instants avant le plongeon fatidique

Pas de plage cette année, mais il y a de l’espoir

L’été 2021 n’était finalement pas du tout propice à la baignade, mais nos résultats auront tout de même permis d’identifier plusieurs sources de pollution dans la rivière du Nord. Quand elles auront toutes été éliminées, on pourra peut-être un jour y ouvrir une plage sans crainte. D’ici là, il y a du boulot! Allez, j’y retourne!

Baignade dans la rivière du Nord vers 1950
Baignade dans la rivière du Nord vers 1950 – Crédit : Société d’histoire de la Rivière-du-Nord
Philippe sur le terrain

Philippe Maisonneuve

Chargé de projet en qualité de l’eau

Signature PM

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *