La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

PL 61: the recovery program should help municipalities clean up their water

Eau

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, June 4, 2020 – Fondation Rivières is calling on the Quebec government to include investments in water sanitation in the priority projects provided for in Bill 61 on economic recovery. The current bill does not provide for a measure that would allow municipalities to take rapid action to reduce water pollution.

Earlier this week, the Foundation revealed in particular that 7 municipalities out of 10 should take action to reduce pollution emitted into rivers. The study of 130 wastewater treatment plants evaluated over the last three years also indicates that the treatment capacity of 24 of the 130 stations (18 %) is exceeded by more than 25 %.

A hundred interviews with municipal officials allowed us to hear their cry from the heart: their file is tossed from one ministry to another, between the Environment and Municipal Affairs. They deplore having to multiply calls for tenders in engineering between stages. Consultants often recommend a different solution than their predecessor and municipalities must repeatedly update the data. Multiple grant applications must be developed and each grant has its specific requirements. Both levels of government are often involved, each with its own cost reimbursement arrangements. These operations are so complex that some have chosen a consultant to guide them through the government mazes.

After 40 years of water purification in Quebec, how come we still have to multiply comparative studies of different technologies for each project? Is it not possible to pool the knowledge acquired, the construction and operating costs of different technologies?

According to Alain Saladzius, engineer and president of Fondation Rivières, “ the field of water sanitation could quickly contribute to the revival of the economy with several projects which would fall under municipal initiatives, while the 202 projects announced in the bill fall under ministries and will only be finalized in the medium term. or long term. In the municipal sector, to accelerate, it would first be necessary to eliminate obstacles to the efficient progress of projects, with streamlined procedures and sufficient human and financial resources. Good support from municipalities is essential on technical and administrative levels ".

The Fondation Rivières therefore requires the development of projects aimed at reducing water pollution, with better implementation conditions making it possible to obtain an accelerated investment dynamic.

- 30 -

For informations :

Geneviève Tardy
Communications Manager
514 424-3556
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

PL 61 : Le programme de relance devrait aider les municipalités à assainir leurs eaux

systeme-assinisement-municipaux-eau-pollution-virus

Projet de loi 61 :

Le programme de relance devrait aider les municipalités à assainir leurs eaux

Montréal, le 4 juin 2020 – La Fondation Rivières interpelle le gouvernement du Québec afin d’inclure les investissements en assainissement de l’eau dans les projets prioritaires prévus au projet de loi 61 sur la relance économique. L’actuel projet de loi ne prévoit pas de mesure qui permettrait aux municipalités de prendre rapidement action pour réduire la pollution des eaux.

Plus tôt cette semaine, la Fondation révélait notamment que 7 municipalités sur 10 devaient prendre action pour réduire la pollution émise dans les rivières. L’étude de 130 stations d’épuration évaluées au cours des trois dernières années indique aussi que la capacité de traitement de 24 des 130 stations (18 %) est dépassée de plus de 25 %.

Une centaine d’entrevues auprès des responsables municipaux ont permis d’entendre leur cri du cœur : leur dossier est ballotté d’un ministère à l’autre, entre l’Environnement et les Affaires municipales. Ils déplorent devoir multiplier les appels d’offres en ingénierie entre les étapes. Les consultants préconisent souvent une solution différente de leur prédécesseur et les municipalités doivent réaliser des mises à jour des données à répétition. Plusieurs demandes de subventions doivent être élaborées et  chaque subvention a ses exigences particulières. Les deux paliers de gouvernement sont souvent impliqués, chacun avec ses modalités de remboursement des coûts. Ces opérations sont tellement complexes que certains ont choisi un consultant pour les guider dans les dédales gouvernementaux.

Après 40 ans d’assainissement des eaux au Québec, comment se fait-il que l’on doive encore multiplier les études comparatives de différentes technologies pour chaque projet ? N’est-il pas possible de mettre en commun les connaissances acquises, les coûts de construction et d’exploitation des différentes technologies ?

Selon Alain Saladzius, ingénieur et président de la Fondation Rivières, « le domaine de l’assainissement des eaux pourrait contribuer rapidement à la relance de l’économie avec plusieurs chantiers qui relèveraient d’initiatives municipales, alors que les 202 projets annoncés dans le projet de loi relèvent de ministères et ne seront finalisés qu’à moyen ou long terme. Dans le secteur municipal, pour accélérer, il faudrait d’abord éliminer les obstacles au déroulement efficient des projets, avec des procédures allégées et des ressources humaines et financières suffisantes. Un bon accompagnement des municipalités s’impose sur les plans techniques et administratifs ».

La Fondation Rivières demande conséquemment le développement de chantiers visant la réduction de la pollution des eaux, avec de meilleures conditions de réalisation permettant d’obtenir une dynamique d’investissement accélérée.

Pour télécharger le communiqué

-30-

Source :

Geneviève Tardy
Responsable des communications
c. 514 424-3556
[email protected]

 

 

 

X