La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Memory – Construction of a hydroelectric power station on the 11th fall of the Mistassini River

11e chute de la rivière Mistassini
Fondation Rivières submitted a brief to the Office of Public Hearings on the Environment (BAPE) concerning the construction of a hydroelectric power station on the 11th fall of the Mistassini River.

A project of impoverishment and sustainable environmental destruction

The Fondation Rivières requested the holding of public hearings on this project so that the population can express their concerns, their values, for themselves and for future generations on this project which originates from an outdated energy policy from the 2000s and which was scrapped by the government in 2013. The project resurfaced following an electoral commitment which once again renewed what the previous government had stopped, with no other explanation than wanting to support regional development.

Citizen participation in the study of this file required marked determination in order to understand and complete the missing information in the file, and to highlight those which contradict certain proven facts. We salute all the individuals and groups who valiantly contributed to the debate, using their own resources and in a short period of time. However, we must emphasize that some stakeholders do not dare to comment on this project for fear of reprisals from the community.

For its part, the promoter spent 2.6 M$ from public funds over the last four years to construct a voluminous impact study which, however, does not provide certain information. In return, Fondation Rivières, with very limited financial resources, wishes to contribute by providing an original analysis. Despite the absence of answers to several questions and the production of late and incomplete answers to others, the memorandum brings together, we believe, the essential orientations which should allow the Commission to produce a report which must respond to all the questions challenges.

The report contains in particular an economic analysis of recreational tourism issues as an appendix. Our entire contribution is the result of knowledge acquired over recent years in the study of different similar projects. We want the Commission to produce a report based essentially on the guidelines for sustainable development. The final decision, of a political nature, may be based on other criteria.

Photo : 11th fall of the Mistassini River, Le Quotidien

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Mémoire – Construction d’une centrale hydroélectrique sur la 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini

11e chute de la rivière Mistassini
La Fondation Rivières a déposé un mémoire au Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) concernant la construction d’une centrale hydroélectrique sur la 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini.

Un projet appauvrissant et de destruction environnementale durable

La Fondation Rivières a demandé la tenue d’audiences publiques sur ce projet afin que la population puisse y exprimer ses préoccupations, ses valeurs, pour elle-même et pour les générations futures sur ce projet qui origine d’une politique énergétique désuète des années 2000 et qui fut mise au rancart par le gouvernement en 2013. Le projet a refait surface suite à un engagement électoral qui venait à nouveau reconduire ce que le gouvernement précédent avait arrêté, sans autre explication que de vouloir soutenir le développement régional.

Une participation citoyenne à l’étude de ce dossier exigeait une détermination marquée afin de comprendre et compléter l’information manquante au dossier, et de mettre en évidence celles qui contredisent certains faits avérés. Nous saluons toutes les personnes et groupes qui ont vaillamment contribué au débat, à même leurs propres ressources et dans un bref laps de temps. Il nous faut cependant souligner que des intervenants n’osent pas se prononcer sur ce projet par crainte de représailles du milieu.

Pour sa part, le promoteur a dépensé à même les fonds publics 2,6 M$ au cours des quatre dernières années à bâtir une volumineuse étude d’impacts qui ne fournit cependant pas certaines informations. En contrepartie, la Fondation Rivières, avec des ressources financières très limitées, souhaite contribuer en y apportant une analyse inédite. Malgré l’absence de réponses à plusieurs questions et la production de réponses tardives et incomplètes à d’autres, le mémoire rassemble, croyons-nous, l’essentiel des orientations qui devraient permettre à la Commission de produire un rapport devant répondre à tous les enjeux.

Le mémoire contient notamment en annexe une analyse économique des enjeux récréotouristiques. L’ensemble de notre contribution est le fruit de connaissances acquises au cours des dernières années dans l’étude de différents projets similaires. Nous souhaitons que la Commission produise un rapport reposant essentiellement sur les lignes directrices du développement durable. La décision finale, d’ordre politique, pourra reposer quant à elle, sur d’autres critères.

Photo : 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini, Le Quotidien

Étiquettes

Nos récentes actualités

Contribuez à la protection des rivières du Québec

En plus de soutenir notre équipe à protéger les rivières, votre don vous donne droit à un reçu de charité pour vos impôts.

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec