La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Let's march for the climate and for our rivers!

Groupe de personne qui se mobilise pour une cause Thomas De Luze Unsplash

September 24 is a global meeting to express the urgency of climate action. The last UN report is clear: we are heading towards a climate disaster if we stick to the timid commitments already made by countries. We are close to a point of no return in the rise in average global temperature and considerable resulting damage is already being felt. At Fondation Rivières, we are already observing them in the field.

Between low water and floods

Climate change constitutes disturbances of balance and Canada, especially in the North, is warming faster than the rest of the planet. However, these disruptions are such that it will be increasingly difficult to respond to their scale.

Our rivers suffer from this by crossing two hydrological extremes, sometimes during the same year.

Spectacular overflows
Overflow of the Rivière des Prairies in Cartierville in 2017. Source: Indrid Cold

The change in precipitation regime as well as the acceleration of snowmelt has brought its share of spring floods in recent years. Let us remember the Saguenay in 1996, the Richelieu River in 2011, or even the Rivière des Prairies in 2017. We can no longer be content with simply avoiding construction in flood zones, but we must act vigorously to combat coastal erosion. Quebec is clearly not adapted to a new climatic regime which may include extreme flooding. This year around the world, we were also able to observe them in Germany, India, China and the United States. What are we risking next year?

In addition, current developments with soil sealing and excessive drainage affect the resilience of our rivers in the face of these changes. Without adequate vegetation or soil to filter and contain water, sewer networks and the rivers are more worn to overflowing. We must therefore rethink our relationship with land use planning and riparian areas in order to minimize flooding.

Low water, climate and falling river levels

The opposite phenomenon occurs in summer: the lowest points of water levels, i.e. low water, will become more important following increased water evaporation and summer droughts. The rivers and the Saint-Laurent have experienced a worrying decline this year and aquatic ecosystems are affected.

Indeed, during extreme low water, the drop in water level reaches records, the flow becomes minimal, and fish and other living beings in the riparian and river ecosystem become exposed to water that is too low and too hot. , too sunny, with higher concentrations of contaminants. And it goes without saying that sources of drinking water and our activities which depend on the river are thus undermined.

Walk with us!

It is time to intervene quickly for climate justice, but also for our waterways so that the natural regimes of rivers take over. Join us to make your voice heard.

The march in Montreal as part of the global climate strike will begin at 1 p.m., in front of the Monument to Sir George-Étienne Cartier. We'll see each other there?

To learn more about Laura and Yasmine’s expedition on the Moisie River

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Sècheresse de rivières

Marchons pour le climat et pour nos rivières!

Le 24 septembre, c’est un rendez-vous mondial pour exprimer l’urgence d’agir pour le climat. Le dernier rapport de l’ONU est clair: nous nous dirigeons vers un naufrage climatique si on s’en tient aux timides engagements déjà pris par les pays. Nous sommes proches d’un point de non-retour dans la montée de la température moyenne du globe et des dommages considérables qui en découlent se font déjà sentir. À la Fondation Rivières, nous les observons déjà sur le terrain.

Entre étiages et inondations

Les changements climatiques constituent des perturbations d’équilibre et le Canada, surtout au Nord, se réchauffe plus vite que le reste de la planète. Or, ces perturbations sont telles qu’il sera de plus en plus difficile de répondre à leur ampleur.

Nos rivières en souffrent en traversant deux extrêmes hydrologiques, parfois durant une même année.

De spectaculaires débordements
Débordement de la Rivière des Prairies à Cartierville en 2017. Source: Indrid Cold

Le changement de régime de précipitation ainsi que l’accélération de la fonte des neiges a amené son lot d’inondations printanières ces dernières années. Rappelons-nous le Saguenay en 1996, la rivière Richelieu en 2011, ou encore la rivière des Prairies en 2017. On ne peut plus se contenter de simplement éviter les constructions en zones inondables, mais il faut agir vigoureusement pour combattre l’érosion des côtes. Le Québec n’est clairement pas adapté à un nouveau régime climatique qui peut comporter des crues extrêmes. Cette année à travers le monde, nous avons aussi pu les observer en Allemagne, en Inde, en Chine ou aux États-Unis. Que risquons-nous l’année prochaine?

De plus, les aménagements actuels avec l’imperméabilisation des sols et le drainage excessif affectent la résilience de nos rivières face à ces changements. Sans végétation ou sol adéquat pour filtrer et contenir l’eau, les réseaux d’égouts et les rivières sont davantage portées à déborder. Il faut donc repenser notre rapport avec l’aménagement du territoire et les bandes riveraines afin de minimiser les crues.

Étiage, climat et niveau des rivières à la baisse
Étiage de rivières - exemple Rivière aux Brochets de 20
Étiage de rivières – Rivière aux Brochets, été 2021.

Le phénomène inverse se produit en été: les points les plus bas des niveaux d’eau, soit les étiages, prendront de l’importance suite à l’augmentation de l’évaporation de l’eau et des sécheresses estivales. Les rivières et le Saint-Laurent ont connu une baisse inquiétante cette année et les écosystèmes aquatiques sont affectés.

En effet, lors d’un étiage extrême, la baisse du niveau d’eau atteint des records, le débit devient minime, et les poissons et autres êtres vivants de l’écosystème riverain et fluvial deviennent exposés à une eau trop basse, trop chaude, trop ensoleillée, avec des concentrations de contaminants plus élevées. Et il va de soi que les sources d’eau potable et nos activités qui dépendent de la rivière sont ainsi mises à mal.

Marchez avec nous!

Il est temps d’intervenir rapidement pour la justice climatique, mais aussi pour nos cours d’eau afin que les régimes naturels des rivières reprennent le dessus. Rejoignez-nous afin de vous faire entendre.

La marche à Montréal dans le cadre de la grève mondiale pour le climat débutera à 13 h, devant le Monument à Sir George-Étienne Cartier. On se voit là-bas?

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *