La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Speed limit on the Richelieu River to 10 km/h: the new elected officials must stand up to the nautical lobby

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, November 16, 2021 – The Federal Ministry of Transport (Treasury Board) is preparing to adopt at second reading a regulation which will reduce the speed of motorboats to 10 km/h on a 20 kilometer stretch of the Richelieu River, which runs along the villages of Saint-Antoine, Saint-Denis, Saint-Charles and Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu. This is a first in Canada, the result of collaborative work and public consultations carried out since 2017 by MP Xavier Barsalou-Duval and the four previous municipal councils which unanimously supported the project.

However, certain boaters and private interest groups are opposed to this approach and are asking the newly elected mayors of the four municipalities not to confirm their support for the project before November 19, as required by the Treasury Board, which would put jeopardize the project. 

“The boats are getting bigger and bigger, more and more powerful, and they are making deafening noise and bigger and bigger waves. The recent fashion for wakeboats has made the problem worse. Added to the spring floods, these waves are sometimes disastrous,” specifies Michel Leduc of the Association of Residents and Friends of Richelieu.

The new regulation will limit the speed of mechanically and electrically powered boats to a maximum of 10 km/h. It will also be prohibited to pull a person on any sports or recreational equipment, and prohibited “surfing in the wake of a building in the targeted part of the river”. Currently, police services do not have any regulations allowing them to intervene against the excessive speed of boats. 

Fisheries and Oceans Canada issued a favorable opinion on the project, emphasizing that the excessive speed of boats and boating are identified as significant causes of the degradation of the essential habitat of the copper redhorse, a species found only in Quebec and whose population is endangered. 

This solution will significantly reduce bank erosion, improve water clarity, contribute to the peace and quiet of local residents and ensure better nautical safety on the river.

We invite the four new elected mayors, Jean-Marc Bousquet of Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu, François Berthiaume of Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu, Julie Lussier of Saint-Charles-sur-Richelieu and Jonathan Chalifoux of Saint-Antoine- sur-Richelieu not to give in to private interests and to pursue objectives of protection and safe use of the river for all users.

And we sign:

 

- 30 -

For informations :

Christian Généreux
Responsible for communications, development and mobilization
514 272-2666, ext. 302

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Richelieu1

Limitation de la vitesse sur la rivière Richelieu à 10 km/h : les nouveaux élus doivent tenir tête au lobby nautique

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Limitation de la vitesse sur la rivière Richelieu à 10 km/h : les nouveaux élus doivent tenir tête au lobby nautique

Montréal, le 16 novembre 2021 – Le ministère fédéral des Transports (Conseil du Trésor) s’apprête à adopter en deuxième lecture un règlement qui réduira la vitesse des bateaux à moteur à 10 km/h sur un tronçon de 20 kilomètres de la rivière Richelieu, qui longe les villages de Saint-Antoine, Saint-Denis, Saint-Charles et Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu. C’est une première au Canada, fruit d’un travail de collaboration et de consultations publiques menées depuis 2017 par le député Xavier Barsalou-Duval et les quatre conseils municipaux précédents qui avaient appuyé unanimement le projet.

Or certains plaisanciers et groupes d’intérêts privés s’opposent à cette démarche et demandent aux maires nouvellement élus des quatre municipalités de ne pas confirmer leur appui au projet avant le 19 novembre, tel qu’exigé par le Conseil du Trésor, ce qui mettrait en péril le projet. 

« Les bateaux sont de plus en plus gros, de plus en plus puissants, et ils font un bruit assourdissant et des vagues de plus en plus imposantes. La récente mode des wakeboats est venue empirer le problème. Ajoutées aux crues du printemps, ces vagues sont parfois désastreuses », précise Michel Leduc de l’Association des riverains et amis du Richelieu.

Le nouveau règlement limitera la vitesse des bateaux à propulsion mécanique et électrique à un maximum de 10 km/h. Il sera aussi interdit de tirer une personne sur tout équipement sportif ou récréatif, et interdit « de surfer sur le sillage d’un bâtiment dans la partie visée de la rivière ». Actuellement, les services policiers ne disposent d’aucune réglementation leur permettant d’intervenir contre la vitesse excessive des embarcations. 

Pêches et Océans Canada a émis un avis favorable au projet en soulignant que la vitesse excessive des embarcations et le batillage sont identifiés comme des causes importantes de la dégradation de l’habitat essentiel du chevalier cuivré, une espèce qu’on retrouve uniquement au Québec et dont la population est en voie de disparition. 

Cette solution permettra de réduire considérablement l’érosion des berges, d’améliorer la clarté de l’eau, de contribuer à la tranquillité des riverains et d’assurer une meilleure sécurité nautique sur la rivière.

Nous invitons les quatre nouveaux maires élus, Jean-Marc Bousquet de Saint-Denis-sur-Richelieu, François Berthiaume de Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu, Julie Lussier de Saint-Charles-sur-Richelieu et Jonathan Chalifoux de Saint-Antoine-sur-Richelieu à ne pas céder aux intérêts privés et à poursuivre des objectifs de protection et d’utilisation sécuritaire de la rivière pour l’ensemble des usagers.

Et nous signons:

  • Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger, directeur général
  • Association des riverains et amis du Richelieu, Michel Leduc, président
  • Conseil régional de l’environnement de la Montérégie, Andréanne Paris, directrice générale
  • Comité de concertation et de valorisation du bassin de la rivière Richelieu (COVABAR), Sylvain Lapointe, directeur général

 

-30-

Source :

Christian Généreux, Responsable des communications
Fondation Rivières

514 272-2666, poste 302
communications@fondationrivieres.org