La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Prime Minister of Quebec: Mitis River – Urgency to intervene with the MFFP and Hydro-Québec

Montreal, September 27, 2019
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


Mr. François Legault, Prime Minister of Quebec
Ministry of Executive Council
Honoré-Mercier Building835, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
3rd floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1A 1B4

Subject: Mitis River – Urgency to intervene with the MFFP and Hydro-Québec

Prime Minister,

Hydro-Québec is preparing to build, starting next week, a salmon rearing system at its abandoned Mitis-2 hydroelectric power station at a cost of 5.5 M$. The system would replace the temporary system built in 2018 when this plant broke down and was shut down in 2017. This plant, the smallest in Hydro's fleet, has only 4 MW of power. However, a new development on the file is that Hydro is no longer considering restarting the power station, which would allow a better solution: a free return of salmon into the river.

The system put in place since the breakup is working well: There were 892 salmon catches this summer. This is a system that aims to transport salmon by truck, in a reservoir, approximately 15 kilometers, to the ZEC Mitis located upstream. However, this activity costs Hydro-Québec 400,000 $ annually. Hydro wants to get rid of it and would pay 5.5 M$ for the construction of another, similar system, but would transfer its operating costs to the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks (MFFP). 

In the current context of a permanent closure of the power station and the opinion of local stakeholders, the best solution would now be to remove the dam and let the salmon go up the river freely for nearly three kilometers, as is the case. was the case in the past.

This solution also has the advantage of integrating well with the Jules A. Brillant Nature Reserve project submitted to the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) and the Regional Park project being prepared by the stakeholders. regional. See website: parcregionalrivieremitis.org

It is easy to imagine the development potential associated with this prestigious river having regained its natural characteristics. The stakeholders are already at work, including the Brillant family, descendants of Jules A. Brillant who built the two power stations on the river, subsequently nationalized. They also engage in a process of protecting their private territory, more than a kilometer long.

In addition, the construction work which is due to begin shortly threatens the viability of salmon because the hydrological effects resulting from the work will create erosion, siltation and release suspended matter affecting the pools and valuable spawning areas. Such erosion has already been observed, particularly during floods. Hydraulic and property rights are also the subject of disputes which appear to us to be well-founded, and which will lead to additional costs linked to damages.

In summary, the ongoing 5.5 M$ project to replace the 2018 rise system, which works well even if it is described as "temporary", was decided by the previous government while the status of the hydroelectric plant was n was not confirmed. Now that the elimination of the existing dam has been proven, a much more promising project can be carried out with a Regional Park which would become a major attraction with the presence of salmon which freely swim up the river for almost three kilometers. A migratory pass at the Mitis-1 power station would allow salmon to reach the sector operated by the ZEC, to their great satisfaction, without the salmon suffering injuries or risks of mortality inherent to handling as is currently the case. case. And what an excellent initiative to eliminate this 15-kilometer trucking for future decades in a climate emergency!

We therefore ask you to intervene urgently with the ministers concerned to postpone the imminent work and to maintain the operation of the current system until the free movement of salmon is established up to the ZEC Mitis. 

Please accept, Mr Prime Minister, the expression of our distinguished greetings.

Alain Saladzius, P.Eng., FIC
President, Fondation Rivières

A similar missive was sent to the director of the Quebec Environmental Control Center, Nathalie Chouinard, on October 7, 2019

Photo: Atlantic salmon. Matt Hintsa/Flickr

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre au Premier Ministre du Québec : Rivière Mitis – Urgence d’intervenir auprès du MFFP et d’Hydro-Québec

Montréal, le 27 septembre 2019
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Monsieur François Legault, Premier Ministre du Québec
Ministère du Conseil exécutif
Édifice Honoré-Mercier835, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
3e étage
Québec (Québec)  G1A 1B4


Objet : Rivière Mitis – Urgence d’intervenir auprès du MFFP et d’Hydro-Québec

Monsieur le Premier Ministre,

Hydro-Québec s’apprête à construire, à compter de la semaine prochaine, un système de montaison des saumons à sa centrale hydroélectrique abandonnée Mitis-2 au coût de 5,5 M$. Le système remplacerait le système temporaire construit en 2018 lors du bris et de l’arrêt de cette centrale en 2017. Celle-ci, la plus petite du parc d’Hydro, n’a que 4 MW de puissance. Or, fait nouveau au dossier, Hydro n’envisage plus la remise en fonction de la centrale, ce qui permettrait une meilleure solution: une remontée libre des saumons dans la rivière.

Le système mis en place depuis le bris fonctionne bien : Il y eut 892 captures de saumons cet été. Il s’agit d’un système qui vise à transporter les saumons par camion, dans un réservoir, sur environ 15 kilomètres, jusqu’à  la ZEC Mitis située en amont. Cette activité coûte cependant  400 000 $ annuellement à Hydro-Québec. Hydro veut s’en départir et paierait 5,5 M$ pour la construction d’un autre système, similaire, mais transférerait son coût d’exploitation au ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs (MFFP). 

Dans le contexte actuel d’une fermeture définitive de la centrale et de l’avis des intervenants du milieu, la meilleure solution serait maintenant d’enlever le barrage et de laisser les saumons remonter librement la rivière sur près de trois kilomètres, comme c’était le cas autrefois.

Cette solution comporte aussi l’avantage de bien s’intégrer  au projet de Réserve naturelle Jules A. Brillant déposé au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) et du projet de Parc régional en préparation par les intervenants régionaux. Voir site web : parcregionalrivieremitis.org

Il est facile d’imaginer le potentiel de développement associé à cette prestigieuse rivière ayant retrouvé ses caractéristiques naturelles. Les intervenants sont déjà à l’œuvre, y compris la famille Brillant, descendants de Jules A. Brillant qui a bâti les deux centrales sur la rivière, par la suite nationalisées. Ceux-ci s’engagent aussi dans un processus de protection de leur territoire privé, d’une longueur de plus d’un kilomètre.

De plus, les travaux de construction qui doivent débuter sous peu menacent la viabilité du saumon car les effets hydrologiques conséquents aux travaux créeront de l’érosion, de l’envasement et libéreront des matières en suspension affectant les fosses et précieuses aires de fraie. Une telle érosion est déjà constatée, notamment lors de crues. Les droits hydrauliques et de propriété font de plus l’objet de litiges qui nous apparaissent fondés, et qui conduiront à des coûts supplémentaires liés aux dommages.

En résumé, le projet en cours de 5,5 M$ pour remplacer le système de montaison de 2018, qui fonctionne bien même s’il est qualifié de « temporaire », fut décidé par le gouvernement précédent alors que le statut de la centrale hydroélectrique n’était pas confirmé. Maintenant que l’élimination du barrage existant s’avère, un projet beaucoup plus porteur peut être réalisé avec un Parc régional qui deviendrait un attrait majeur avec la présence de saumons qui remontent librement la rivière sur près de trois kilomètres. Une passe migratoire à la centrale Mitis-1 permettrait aux saumons d’atteindre le secteur exploité par la ZEC, à leur grande satisfaction, et ce, sans que les saumons subissent de blessures ou risques de mortalités inhérentes aux manipulations comme c’est actuellement le cas. Et quelle excellente initiative d’éliminer ce camionnage sur 15 kilomètres pour les décennies futures en situation d’urgence climatique !

Nous vous demandons conséquemment d’intervenir d’urgence auprès des ministres concernés pour sursoir aux travaux imminents et que soit maintenue l’exploitation du système actuel jusqu’à ce que la libre circulation du saumon soit étalbie jusqu’à la ZEC Mitis. 

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Premier ministre, l’expression de nos salutations distinguées.

Alain Saladzius, ing., FIC
Président, Fondation Rivières

Une missive similaire à été envoyée à la directrice du Centre de contrôle environnemental du Québec, Nathalie Chouinard, le 7 octobre 2019

Photo : Saumon d’Atlantique. Matt Hintsa/Flickr

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser